$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
187 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C E Allen
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 19, 2013

We will return

I was a little leery of this hotel given some of the poor ratings that I had read. We decided to try it anyway because of its location and reasonable price. Keeping in mind we where there in mid December and the hotel was not crowded. All of the issues that worried us (poor parking, dirty rooms, slow elevators) were not an issue at all. The staff was very friendly, A drop dead gorgeous view from the balcony and over all it was a very nice experinance. We will defiantly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jamtravler
Business
spring hill, Fl
May 27, 2014

decent place

this was a decent place that was a little over priced for a holiday weekend, beautiful views but slow elevator,. pool could use more chairs and tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 22, 2008

ok at the rate I got

This hotel was little dated. Staff was nice. Location was good. Restaurant closed after breakfast and was only open evenings Fri/Sat. Place was pretty clean, but the bathroom needed to be redone. Looked like they tried to put off a refurb by painting the bathroom tile. Kinda tacky to me, but at least it wasn't the mold and mildew fest I've encountered elsewhere. One thing that really bothered me about the place was they allowed timeshare sales people in the restaurant harassing people while they ate breakfast. Not cool. I believe they worked for the same company that owns the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceanwalk and Daytona peir are a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milledgeville GA
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only problem was we had dogs next door that barked very early in the morning. Good stay would do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haines City, FL
May 9, 2011

Weekend Getaway

We stayed one night for a little weekend getaway. The hotel was good for the money. It was quiet while we were there. The lobby was fairly nice which make for a pleasant arrival. The room was okay. It was clean and had a little balcony with a view of the ocean, which was great. Location was fantastic and the pool was nice. I was pleased with everything. Nothing spectacular, but for the money, it would be very hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right on the beach. As soon as you walk onto the beach, there are ATV rentals and food vendors which was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Apr 22, 2011

Good Stay

Just got back from Daytona with my boyfriend.. Stayed at Plaza Ocean Club for 6 nights. Don't have any complaints.. Easy access to the beach, nice pool, great location. What more can you ask for? The room was good.. what I would expect for a hotel on the beach... sandy in some areas, but room was clean. Staff seemed nice... probably only complaint is that the walls seem paper thin.. could hear people on both sides of us, although didn't realize it til the last day we were there.. no big deal. Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

3 miles up the road... Congo River Mini-Golf.. very very nice and a fun time! You should go!...Also Bubba Gump Shrimp at the Ocean Walk.. Yummmmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dunnellon fl
Jun 29, 2011

Good place to stay

It was a good stay but honestly how can you go to a hotel with no hot tub plus the pool was small but the hotel is right on the beach. I also thought I'd get top floor and I wanted to stay another day but they don't reserve those rooms for your decision. The travel website didn't let them know I had a 25 dollar credit for food or drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks to the boardwalk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 3, 2008

Great Location

Very nice hotel but we had no air and after a few tries gave up on them fixing it. The walls are thin you can here people talking in the next room. Other wise pretty nice. I have stayed next door at the sister hotel and had a much better visit. They charge for parking and it is tight if your in a big car. So with that in mind take a fan and drive a small car and you'll be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's in the hart of the Beach so every thing is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Port, FL
Jun 27, 2010

Hidden fees

Additional charges to your credit card for Parking ($5 a day), and saftey deposit box ($1.60 a day). The computer in the lobby was $3 to use the internet and .30 a minute. Free wifi but you have to sit in the hallway near the elevators. They advertise a continental breakfast....$8.95! Long, long waits at the elevators - we were on the 9th floor. The view was fantastic!!! We stayed in a hotel in Naples last weekend. The parking was free and more conveniant. No wait at the elevator. The continental breakfast was free. No charge for a saftey deposit box. Good view. Uncrowded pool...and less than half the price of this hotel....Best Western and very clean too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cape coral fl
Oct 19, 2009

good location

just wanted to catch the last day of biketober fest...the price was right and location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top