$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
187 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lana Marie Grandmother
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jul 7, 2014

Questionable

My grandson won tickets to the Friday and Saturday races. I reserved and paid for their stay. They called the first day. The tub had mold around it and the TV remote did not work. It looked straightened but did not have the clean feelings or smell. They did not receive a beach view as stated. The staff was very friendly and moved them to a different room. The cable did not work in that room and they stated it would take 2 to 3 days to be repaired. They went a few days early for the beach, which the rain complicated, but did not have TV to retreat to in the room. Location of hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beach life
Business
NC
Aug 3, 2014

The location is perfect. Everything else fell short.

The location is perfect. Everything else fell short. The PROS: - plenty of space in room - I could see the ocean from my balcony - nice HDTV with plenty of cable channels - FREE wi-fi in room CONS: - NO HOT water in the sink of the kitchenette (not good if you want to wash dishes or hands) - One of the 2 elevators was out of service the entire 7 night stay. - One of the 2 sets of stairs is locked from the outside. (took us a few days to figure out an alternative way to get to our room with the elevator delays) - exposed electrical wiring in our room - unfinished construction by pool - limited parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exotic Latina
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jan 4, 2014

Nice family and couples getaway

cleaning staff needs to do a better job. They only clean the room every other day and some days did not replace the towels, soap, shampoo, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the pier and shopping center and dinning are only few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viki249
Business
Florida
Jan 5, 2014

Great Hotel!

Clean room, good location, but could use some upgrade, especially in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The ever going parkers
Business
deland, florida
Jan 7, 2014

Nice place to stay.

The staff were excellant. It was nice that the hotel had a restaurant and lounge. We paid a little extra for a kitchenette and we're disappointed about that. It was a mini fridge, a sink and a microwave and coffee maker. There were no dishes or silverware. But we'll know better the next time. Not a lot of parking. We come to the beach a lot and will probably come back k here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The real Uncle Paul
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 13, 2014

Great spring beak!

Went here with some friends for spring break. lots of fun stuff going on by the pool. Other college kids drinking everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own drinks to the pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachgoer52
Business
WI
Apr 30, 2014

You get what you pay for

Great location - within walking distance to several restaurants and shops. Nice pool and good food at the attached restaurant. Rooms are not the cleanliest though...and you can hear everything the neighbors are saying (or singing in our case!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jun 9, 2009

Not bad, but needs some work

First off, the customer service personnel were awesome. I had a minor emergency and had to go to the ER and they were able to direct me there. Also, our toilet flooded and was fixed immediately. The only thing I never got to work was our phone, but I just used my cell. The main drawback of this hotel was the elevators. there were only two extremely slow elevators. There was a blind convention in the hotel and between the blind and their seeing eyedogs it made it extremely impossible to get an elevator. When you did, you ran the risk of being in it with several people and their dogs. Most of the time, the elevators were overfilled with over 10 people and sometimes up to three or four dogs. I didn't realize until the last day that only 8 were allowed on board, and I started yelling elevators full. I am disabled myself and walking up and down 7 flights of stairs was out of the question. I think people should be forewarned when a convention is going to be held at a hotel. The conventioneers should have been been put on the first or second floors so the elevators didn't have to go up to every single floor. All in all, for the two days we were there, we were able to deal with these things effectively. If I had to spend a week though, I may have been a little frustrated by the end of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down to the waterslide area by the Hilton - make sure to eat at Bubba Gumps. It was pretty awesome and not too badly priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schochoh, KY
Jul 14, 2010

NICE STAY

The hotel provided nice comfortable beds and quiet and clean rooms. Did not like the waiting time of over an hour to check-in. This was because of July 4th race and people staying over for race. Seems they could have done better with atleast 4 customer service reps attending to the check-in. Our housekeeper ([...]) on third floor was really nice and she took good care of us. Like I said we loved the stay just hating not having a luggage cart to help with all our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butterflyily
Business
Los angeles
Oct 24, 2011

Good enough

Great location. service was also good. The room was clean but very old. Paint chipped, drain clogged after every shower, screen door did not lock and the hallways smelled like a bad drain. The room did not smell though and the bed was clean and smelled fresh. fine for our short 2 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top