$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
158 reviews
Daytona Bike Week

Great place to stay. Close to Main Street, so didn't have to worry about driving to where all the... See full review

  • Bike Week 2014
  • Mar 10, 2014
Mr Rolling Stone

When I come to Daytona this is the only place I stay. See full review

  • Mr Rolling Stone
  • Mar 3, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
new york
May 2, 2011

bad

no hot tube, wireless dosnt work hotel was rundown, 2 elevators broken most of the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cheap food

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Plaza ocean
Middleburg, Florida
Sep 1, 2009

Plaza Ocean Club

For the price I paid I was just dissatisfied. My Kitchen door going outside would not close at all. The sliding glass door going from the bedrrom to the outside was very hard to open and shut. It was Dirty. No one or no where on orbitz told me there would be a daily parking fee to actually park at the hotel I was staying. It was a very good location though. I do have to admit that. When I researched a hotel. I was trying to use my points and I picked a selected company to reddem points. When I went to check in they told me they had no affliation with that chain and could not acquire points for the stay. Was not happy about this either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
DeBary, Florida
Sep 12, 2010

A/c and plumbing problems

We went to Ocean Walk, sat down by the ocean and swam in the pool. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good at the restaurant.In the room the sink would not drain and it took 4 flushes for the toilet to empty. we ended up using the sink in the kitchen for our tooth brushing etc. I had a hard time sleeping because the ac cycled off and on loudly and there was a loud rattle that kept me awake. The swimming pool was wonderful, we really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

We did walk and enjoyed it, but if you have problems walking , better drive there.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
indypeeps
Indiana
Jun 15, 2009

Never Again

This hotel was clean thanks to the great housekeepers! The staff at the front desk on the other hand really need a training in people skills! I have NEVER been treated that awful. You pay $37.50 the minute you walk in the door for parking (which is not told to you up front.) NO having fun at this place you can not have a noise violation or after the first one you lose ALL your money and your told to leave! The bar downstairs only offers breakfast no lunch or dinner. the elevators are AWFUL 15 mins just to get up or down the elevator. people checked out early just so they wouldnt have to deal with the staff or elevators! after a 15 hour drive to be treated so badly was not at all a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
rfogalx
Altoona, PA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Needs Updated

For starters, the light flickered when it was first turned on upon entering the room, throughout our stay. The shower was disgusting. The shower floor mat that was glued to cover stains, was peeling up leaving glue everywhere. The toilet stopped working twice during our 7 day stay. Also the elevator stopped working, leaving us waiting for a very long time before getting on the elevator. Everything in general seemed old and needed to be renewed, including the beds, pillows, and sheets. To top it all off, the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the hallway and the rooms beside us. The only positive aspects are the pool and that it is 5 blocks from the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center that is maybe 5 blocks toward the boardwalk. Good food, movie theatre, and shopping.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Clearwater, FL
Jan 8, 2010

OK and outdated

Its ok. It really needs updating. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Doolie1
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 17, 2012

Needs a refurb

Room size was large, bed ok. with fridge. Ocean view with a good view...not too much different than ocean front. Restaraunt and bar are ok... problems: bathroom had bugs(not from the staffs lack of cleaning, but from age). Tiles in shower painted and peeling, bathtub had patches, and was adequate for a shower, but certainly not for a bath(not near clean for that); So, all in all, for a short stay(wasnt in the room much) and location(3-4 minutes walk from boardwalk and all the restaurants/bars) its ok. If you want even the level fairfield inn, this is FAR from it(though almost all hotels in Daytona fall into this catagory).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a new restaraunt called "The Spot". Looks very simple inside but staff are super friendly and the boils(crab, shrimp, sausage, corm etc) are prepared New Orleans style and are fantastic. Price fo a "VIP" HUGE boil of shrimp(big ones) and pounds of snow crab, blue crab and everything else you could want(would feed 4)...Try this stuff and you are in heaven!

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Rhonda2424
Daytona Fl
Mar 10, 2014

bike week getaway

the hotel was nice and clean and near everything.. just only one thing wasnt good. not hardly any parking . we had to put our motorcycle one place the bike trailer across town and park our truck across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
Palm Bay Star
Palm Bay
Jan 5, 2014

Good for the price.

It was on the beach. That was the good part. When we checked in the receptionist told me about the fight he had with his wife the night before. There is not enough parking at the hotel either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to bubba gumps. It was the worst service I have ever had.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
dharley
palm bay fl
Jan 3, 2014

Great view

Went with 8 people, promised rooms close together. We ended with rooms on second, fourth, sixth and tenth floor. Asked front desk to help with this matter, because reservation was made 6wks in advance. They credited back the tourist dollars $39.89, so we were told. Only to find out they tried to charge us a second. Called hotel and asked about the charge, front desk person, Mike, was very rude and played dumb. Also was told on phone it was a 10 min walk to main st, turned out to be 6 blocks. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top