$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beamer1
Business
CT
Mar 15, 2012

Average but good location

This hotel seems to be very old and not kept up very well. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there was an awful smell in the hallway. They said there was a pipe that broke and the rugs got wet. They had huge fans going to try and dry the rugs. Not a good experience. This place can definately use some fixing up. Would probably not stay here again upon my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChristyF
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 2, 2013

Needs major improvements

I will start with the pro's before I go in to the list of cons. For the price and a non ocean front room we had a GREAT ocean view. Now the cons. Parking: Next to no parking on site, you have to park across the street. The bed and pillows: may as well have been concrete, extremely uncomfortable. The air conditioner: so noisy it was impossible to sleep with it going The bathroom: not very clean, you could see black marks where a mat used to be. One of those showers you want to shower with flip flops on. The worst: Went to brush my teeth before going to bed to find a cockroach crawling on my toothbrush! If I wasn't grossed out enough I go to grab a water bottle from the refrigerator to find another cockroach in there. Absolutely appalling and disgusting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicely tanned and relaxed Jim
Business
Hampshire, IL
Jun 9, 2014

something to be desired

The hotel is in need of updating. The rooms are dated and dingy. We had two rooms and both were alike.. The shower wall tile had been painted and was peeling. Housekeeping cleaned the best they could but room still looked dirty. Kitchenettes are not stocked with dishes or flatware. Should just advertise microwave and refrigerator instead of kitchenette. Staff did make sure there were plenty of clean towels, soap, and toilet paper. Pool was clean and plenty of towels poolside. Front desk staff is slow and appears to be put off when asked for assistance. Elevators are slow. Bug infestation on balcony second day. Most rooms had this problem. Some guests stated they had the flying Insects in their rooms without opening the balcony doors. On site restaurant's food is good but very slow service. Good price but wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sweden
Apr 20, 2010

dreadful place!!,thieves!!

unfriendly staff,my cell disapeared from locked room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lost and alone
Business
Quebec, Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Delayed flight, slept in Airport!

Was not able to make it, my first flight was delayed which missed the connection, and had to sleep in the airport. So non-existant, but costly! Because I couldn't cancel, too late by the time I could call...cell battery dead, recharger in luggage somewhere in airspace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DeBary, Florida
Sep 12, 2010

A/c and plumbing problems

We went to Ocean Walk, sat down by the ocean and swam in the pool. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good at the restaurant.In the room the sink would not drain and it took 4 flushes for the toilet to empty. we ended up using the sink in the kitchen for our tooth brushing etc. I had a hard time sleeping because the ac cycled off and on loudly and there was a loud rattle that kept me awake. The swimming pool was wonderful, we really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

We did walk and enjoyed it, but if you have problems walking , better drive there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 2, 2011

bad

no hot tube, wireless dosnt work hotel was rundown, 2 elevators broken most of the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cheap food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, GA
May 30, 2010

Not so friendly

The cleaning staff was great, but the rest of the staff was grumpy and rude. The guy who checked us in rolled his eyes as soon as we walked up to the counter and acted like he hated guests. We are not high maintenance by any means, but rude staff really turns me off. The room was clean, but tiny and we had to change rooms because the door would not lock on our first room. There are better hotels for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blessed Duo
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 29, 2011

Decent

The pool was pretty nice....great access to the beach...convenient to places around. Now for the room - not so great at all. The hotel is really run down. We were there for our anniversary and asked for a king bed and they could not accomodate - they said all they could do was 2 queens. The beds were FULL size at best, probably smaller than that. The bathroom was falling apart - shower head sprayed very little water...more like a stream than a spray. Overall, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charlie Horse Restaurant is about 1.8 miles from the hotel (north) and it is AMAZING! We had all u can eat crab legs and they were the best I have had in years! It was our second time going there! And will go back next visit as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rfogalx
Business
Altoona, PA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Needs Updated

For starters, the light flickered when it was first turned on upon entering the room, throughout our stay. The shower was disgusting. The shower floor mat that was glued to cover stains, was peeling up leaving glue everywhere. The toilet stopped working twice during our 7 day stay. Also the elevator stopped working, leaving us waiting for a very long time before getting on the elevator. Everything in general seemed old and needed to be renewed, including the beds, pillows, and sheets. To top it all off, the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the hallway and the rooms beside us. The only positive aspects are the pool and that it is 5 blocks from the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center that is maybe 5 blocks toward the boardwalk. Good food, movie theatre, and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top