$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
DeBary, Florida
Sep 12, 2010

A/c and plumbing problems

We went to Ocean Walk, sat down by the ocean and swam in the pool. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good at the restaurant.In the room the sink would not drain and it took 4 flushes for the toilet to empty. we ended up using the sink in the kitchen for our tooth brushing etc. I had a hard time sleeping because the ac cycled off and on loudly and there was a loud rattle that kept me awake. The swimming pool was wonderful, we really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

We did walk and enjoyed it, but if you have problems walking , better drive there.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new york
May 2, 2011

bad

no hot tube, wireless dosnt work hotel was rundown, 2 elevators broken most of the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cheap food

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Athens, GA
May 30, 2010

Not so friendly

The cleaning staff was great, but the rest of the staff was grumpy and rude. The guy who checked us in rolled his eyes as soon as we walked up to the counter and acted like he hated guests. We are not high maintenance by any means, but rude staff really turns me off. The room was clean, but tiny and we had to change rooms because the door would not lock on our first room. There are better hotels for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blessed Duo
Couples
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 29, 2011

Decent

The pool was pretty nice....great access to the beach...convenient to places around. Now for the room - not so great at all. The hotel is really run down. We were there for our anniversary and asked for a king bed and they could not accomodate - they said all they could do was 2 queens. The beds were FULL size at best, probably smaller than that. The bathroom was falling apart - shower head sprayed very little water...more like a stream than a spray. Overall, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charlie Horse Restaurant is about 1.8 miles from the hotel (north) and it is AMAZING! We had all u can eat crab legs and they were the best I have had in years! It was our second time going there! And will go back next visit as well!

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rfogalx
Couples
Altoona, PA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Needs Updated

For starters, the light flickered when it was first turned on upon entering the room, throughout our stay. The shower was disgusting. The shower floor mat that was glued to cover stains, was peeling up leaving glue everywhere. The toilet stopped working twice during our 7 day stay. Also the elevator stopped working, leaving us waiting for a very long time before getting on the elevator. Everything in general seemed old and needed to be renewed, including the beds, pillows, and sheets. To top it all off, the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the hallway and the rooms beside us. The only positive aspects are the pool and that it is 5 blocks from the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center that is maybe 5 blocks toward the boardwalk. Good food, movie theatre, and shopping.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cerasarr
Family
NY
Aug 1, 2011

Not bad

The room was good but restaurant in the lobby so-so,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Daytona Beach, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Last stay

1) Shocking experience was the LONG 2 hour check in. 2) Wrong room given, so we had to change rooms. 3) Terrible buffet for the price. 4) Small room for the price. 5) Only 2 elevators for a 11 floor building, wait,wait, wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boardwalk had great intertainment, shopping and dining

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
May 22, 2011

Don't stay here....

This was my first time in Daytona Beach, but my fiancee grew up there and loved the Plaza. The Plaza Ocean Club is a sister property next door and we thought it would be a nice stay. Unfortunately, our first room had a mildew odor and the room they moved us to next had an inoperable air conditioning unit. They then upgraded our room and while this was satisfactory, the television did not work. Unbelievable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Titusville, FL
Nov 10, 2009

Plaza Ocean Club

Not 3 star as advertised. Moldy ceilings and moldy bathrooms. No closet doors. Rack on refrigerator door removed - no place for tall drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oviedo, FL
Jun 9, 2011

Letdown

the hotel was overpriced and although our room was advertised as having a sofa it did not. several other guests had the same issue. The staff at check-in were not very friendly and were rude when my daughter arrived later in the day and requested a parking tag for another $5 per day. there was a $5 fee to park in the lot each day and if you wanted to spend a few hours at the pool after the 11 am checkout you had to pay another $20 til 1pm and $40 to 4 pm. the rooms have not been renovated and it was not worth the stay. spend the extra money and stay at Oceanwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top