$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dharley
Couples
palm bay fl
Jan 3, 2014

Great view

Went with 8 people, promised rooms close together. We ended with rooms on second, fourth, sixth and tenth floor. Asked front desk to help with this matter, because reservation was made 6wks in advance. They credited back the tourist dollars $39.89, so we were told. Only to find out they tried to charge us a second. Called hotel and asked about the charge, front desk person, Mike, was very rude and played dumb. Also was told on phone it was a 10 min walk to main st, turned out to be 6 blocks. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rhonda2424
Friends
Daytona Fl
Mar 10, 2014

bike week getaway

the hotel was nice and clean and near everything.. just only one thing wasnt good. not hardly any parking . we had to put our motorcycle one place the bike trailer across town and park our truck across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maryjane RN
Family
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 1, 2014

Disappointed

This is the second time I have stayed here. Both visits were polar opposites.. This time it was dirty, ants in the room, the bed was broken and the noise from the street seemed like I had the windows open. The wait for the elevator was at least 10 min. I had to carry by bags down the stairs upon checkout after a twenty minute wait. There are many other places to choose from the next time I am in Daytona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kebteach
Friends
Lantana, Florida
Oct 18, 2011

Biketoberfest

This hotel has certainly seen better days. The beds were comfortable and we didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't matter that the room was old. The pool is very nice and being so close to Main Street and the beach is certainly a plus. The staff is super nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doolie1
Couples
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 17, 2012

Needs a refurb

Room size was large, bed ok. with fridge. Ocean view with a good view...not too much different than ocean front. Restaraunt and bar are ok... problems: bathroom had bugs(not from the staffs lack of cleaning, but from age). Tiles in shower painted and peeling, bathtub had patches, and was adequate for a shower, but certainly not for a bath(not near clean for that); So, all in all, for a short stay(wasnt in the room much) and location(3-4 minutes walk from boardwalk and all the restaurants/bars) its ok. If you want even the level fairfield inn, this is FAR from it(though almost all hotels in Daytona fall into this catagory).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a new restaraunt called "The Spot". Looks very simple inside but staff are super friendly and the boils(crab, shrimp, sausage, corm etc) are prepared New Orleans style and are fantastic. Price fo a "VIP" HUGE boil of shrimp(big ones) and pounds of snow crab, blue crab and everything else you could want(would feed 4)...Try this stuff and you are in heaven!

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beamer1
Family
CT
Mar 15, 2012

Average but good location

This hotel seems to be very old and not kept up very well. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there was an awful smell in the hallway. They said there was a pipe that broke and the rugs got wet. They had huge fans going to try and dry the rugs. Not a good experience. This place can definately use some fixing up. Would probably not stay here again upon my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChristyF
Couples
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 2, 2013

Needs major improvements

I will start with the pro's before I go in to the list of cons. For the price and a non ocean front room we had a GREAT ocean view. Now the cons. Parking: Next to no parking on site, you have to park across the street. The bed and pillows: may as well have been concrete, extremely uncomfortable. The air conditioner: so noisy it was impossible to sleep with it going The bathroom: not very clean, you could see black marks where a mat used to be. One of those showers you want to shower with flip flops on. The worst: Went to brush my teeth before going to bed to find a cockroach crawling on my toothbrush! If I wasn't grossed out enough I go to grab a water bottle from the refrigerator to find another cockroach in there. Absolutely appalling and disgusting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicely tanned and relaxed Jim
Family
Hampshire, IL
Jun 9, 2014

something to be desired

The hotel is in need of updating. The rooms are dated and dingy. We had two rooms and both were alike.. The shower wall tile had been painted and was peeling. Housekeeping cleaned the best they could but room still looked dirty. Kitchenettes are not stocked with dishes or flatware. Should just advertise microwave and refrigerator instead of kitchenette. Staff did make sure there were plenty of clean towels, soap, and toilet paper. Pool was clean and plenty of towels poolside. Front desk staff is slow and appears to be put off when asked for assistance. Elevators are slow. Bug infestation on balcony second day. Most rooms had this problem. Some guests stated they had the flying Insects in their rooms without opening the balcony doors. On site restaurant's food is good but very slow service. Good price but wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
sweden
Apr 20, 2010

dreadful place!!,thieves!!

unfriendly staff,my cell disapeared from locked room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lost and alone
Single
Quebec, Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Delayed flight, slept in Airport!

Was not able to make it, my first flight was delayed which missed the connection, and had to sleep in the airport. So non-existant, but costly! Because I couldn't cancel, too late by the time I could call...cell battery dead, recharger in luggage somewhere in airspace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top