Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
184 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Terrible Experience

Very bad and unclean hotel. Slippery hallway, smelly elevators, broken room furniture, removed closet doors, rusty tracks, bad smell carpet, and noisy. When I went't downstairs to the reception desk (minutes after we checked in) to ask for another room, they told me wait five minutes. 5 turned to 2 hours, and still as is. Tired and exhauseted with no help from the staff, I cancelled my stay, turned the keys back to the reception desk lady (who was answerring the phone, giving directions, discussing hotel rates, and checking customers at the same time), and left to another hotel. Lady told me that "[...] got your money,,,,talk to them for a refund). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

na

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jan 3, 2010

Not a pleasent stay!

Although the hotel staff that checked us in was very friendly, we were not @ all happy with our room. We found roaches crawling in the room & the bathroom shower was not very clean & one of the beds smelled like body odar. The only thing that was done for us was an extension of checkout time. We will never return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was good loacation right on beach close to clubs, bars & boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
500 fan
Torrance CA
Mar 4, 2013

Are you kidding me ?

Got to this place about 6pm after flying in from California,went to check in and was told they had water damage in 15 rooms and they had had a room for me 4 miles away I said no.It cost me $450 more to stay at another place a block away ,nobody seemed to care

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
tampa, fl
Jan 1, 2011

do you like the smell of cat urine?

The hotel was good untill we got to our floor, we had two rooms booked, one of which had a fan in room that had been flooded and it smelled HORRIBLE, JUST LIKE CAT URINE, the second room smelled the same way, the entire hallway smelled and the stairway going down 6 flights smelled so bad that I almost vomited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oaws
daytona beach, fl
Feb 27, 2013

not a $400 a night room

I am surprised the balcony has not been condemned. Rust and rebar coming thru the concrete on the balcony. definite structural damage in my opinion. along with the room key, a flyer was handed out for free wifi. NOPE site under construction. View was good, and location I will not stay there again, for that kind of money I expected more. SORRY, but you asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I like clint bowyer
WI
Mar 2, 2013

Poor service and parking

The parking lot is not big enough, we had to park a block away in an area that did not look safe. The room looked very used and old, the tub had rust stains in it yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never stay here again
dade city fl
Aug 12, 2013

Horrible

Came here to stay one night. checked in and my room had water damage, equipment was hooked up to the toilet a blower on the carpet, the room was dirty. i went to call the front desk but the phone was even broken. i went down to ask if they could change me rooms and said they couldnt at the time and they would clean mine. i came back a few hours later and they took out the equipment to dry the room but left the patio door open so it was hot. i had no blankets on my bed. old food (fruit) on the floor and a yellow stained wash cloth in my bathroom. I then went down the elevator which sounded like the chain was going to break and has a spill of juice or something om the floor to request another room and talk to the manager. the man at the desk was very rude and said manager was out and finally gave me a new cleaner room. the spill on the elevator was their until morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, FL
Jul 4, 2010

Two Diamond...One Diamond

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It was obvious it was an older hotel in need of a lot of repair and replacement. The pool area was clean. However, the carpeting throughout was dirty and worn, the elevators were dirty, and I'm not sure the balconies were all that safe considering the deterioration of the rest of the hotel. I'd go back if I knew they were upgrading the important parts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Although we did not try it, we should have since another place was just "ok"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roel van Dijk
Atlanta
Jun 11, 2010

no good

We have cancelled the second night this to not ruin our vacation any more. Cancelling at the hotel was troublesome (financially speaken)[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristyn disgusted
new jersey
Nov 10, 2009

thumbs down

My boyfriend and I went to plaza ocean club to stay in the same hotel as his brother. He proposed to her on the beach and we spent the majority of the first day at main street for bike week. Upon our return to my boyfriend's brother's room...... not one, not two, not three, not four....not 10 but 20+ coackroaches were infesting the section under the sink of their kitchenette (where our food was). Imagine the discovery of that: "Sean a cockroach just crawled out of my suitcase, oh my God another is on the wall, here's the forth one, i'm taking it in a tissue to management." While he was going down to confront management the 2 women find 20+ under the sink. EVEN Though I was in a different room, my food kept in there kitchenette was ruined, I knew where there are 20 cockroaches, a lot more follow. These WERE NOT palm meadow bugs but "cockroaches". I could kick myself for not taking pictures to show how graphically disgusting it was. Due to the big volumes of people in hotels for bike week, moving was not an option for us. The rest of my stay at plaza ocean club was spent being scared that cockroaches would be falling on me as I slept. I made my boyfriend put a towel under the door as to make sure none would enter our room. I couldn't wait to get the hell out of there. The hotel manager, I believe is [...], She treated us horribly, when really it was her hotel that was infested. I have stayed in lots of hotels and never once did I see A bug, nonetheless over 20 cockroaches, we lost about 150 dollars in food and i'm still scarred from the experience. You should NOT be affiliated with this hotel. PEOPLE stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top