$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
215 reviews
Bike week

we had a great front staff they were very helpful and got us into our room very quick. the room was... See full review

  • qui
  • Apr 10, 2015
family trip

We always use this hotel when we visit Daytona Beach. The staff are fast and friendly. I would love... See full review

  • robin m.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking  for  one  vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet  access and local  and 800 number phone calls.
  • Rollaway beds are available on first come basis for a fee of $10 plus tax


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 215
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ohio
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Would not recommend.

The hotel is extremely worn and in need of renovation. The location was good if you like Daytona Beach. The resort fees that were charged were a total ripoff. The wifi did not work. The electrical outlets did not work. Most of the pool chairs were broken. The elevators were very slow. The rooms were large and if this hotel were maintained it would be a very nice resort. The only pleasant thing about this hotel was Cora the front desk clerk, the others were very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robin m.
Business
WEST PALM BEACH
Apr 8, 2015

family trip

We always use this hotel when we visit Daytona Beach. The staff are fast and friendly. I would love to see their amenities include a Continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcy M.
Business
Moline
Mar 2, 2015

Well worth the money!

After reading reviews for the different hotels, I chose this one and glad I did. The front desk clerk remembered exactly who I was from calling two weeks before we arrived. She even changed out room so we could have a better ocean view. The hotel was not extravagant, but had everything we needed and was very clean. Without a doubt, we would (and likely will) be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heather w.
Business
helena
Mar 1, 2015

Family Trip

The staff was very friendly. The hotel is bad need of a renovation. I know the spring breakers and others run these hotels down, but our room lamps didn't work, the safe didn't work the bathroom had bits of black mold in the corners of the ceiling, other than that I felt safe and on the surface it worked for the little time we were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevinjax
Business
Jax, fl
Jul 31, 2014

Needs remodel in rooms and ac in hallways

Great location, pool was very nice, beach was perfect, but the hotel is older and could use a remodel. The elevator was sooo slow! Only one of two were working but even two doesn't seem enough, we spent literally hours waiting on elevator to 11th floor over the few days. Just as in other reviews , old hotel, there was mold in bathroom as well as rusted towel rod and shelves, peeling paint on bathtub, but generally clean other than the bathroom, definitely needs updating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLo21
Business
Mount Dora, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Great for the price!

We just happened to be there when one of their elevators broke but they quickly changed my room to a second floor room-great customer service! There is very little parking so I had to park in their lot across the street and one block over. Other than those 2 minor problems the price was great for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant and bar in the hotel are priced right and great! On sunday they had a great breakfast buffet for only $7.99 and we didn't have to walk anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GAGEEDAWG
Business
Dalton GA
Jul 25, 2014

family getaway

Not enough room to park car and check in to start with. Easy checking in but hotel lot full so had to park a block away and had my gas cap stolen. Only 2 elevators for guests and staffing so it takes a long time to used and we were on 3rd floor so we did the stairs. Got to room and look out to see a roof not a ocean front. Hotel was booked. A/C was nasty inside and bathroom need work done on it. Sliding door would not latch so I fixes it myself since you could go out onto 2nd floor roof and go to many rooms. On Monday I talk to front desk and said I had a river view room and I showed her what I had booked and she moved me right away to the Oceanview room. Bathroom need some remodeling done and sliding door was hard to open and close so we used the single door to go outside. Couch was a sink hole for me so I used chair or bed while in room. Not worth the price we paid and after talking to others there is no good hotels in the area and pictures are of best rooms. Elevator broke down so we only had 1 for the last 2 days there and we were on the 7th floor so you had to wait and we started getting on the up ride to be able to have it going down or it would be full by the time it got back to us. Restaurant was great. Staff was nice. Pool was small and had people coming off the beach to used it. Hobo drunk walking beach and going to everyone came up and started talking to guest and sit down with them. Saw him later sleeping on bench across the street. Had a few panhandle asking for money as we walk by. Burger King down the road stay away from. Starlite Diner best place to eat and great prices. Ask for the Asian lady Jodi , she was so nice to us each time we stopped and only place my girls wanted to go. Back to hotel they need to put up a fence with guard at other parking lot. Control parking lot at hotel for guests not workers with gate and fence or having locals walking thru and using everything for free. Parking lot next door half empty cause they could not get to beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starlite Diner great food and prices and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married Man 414
Business
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 21, 2014

weekend getaway

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didnt have any cable service the first day so they refunded our resort fees. The parking was awful and so were the extremely slow elevators! Because of those two huge problems i probably would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa from WV
Business
West Virginia
Jul 15, 2014

Family beach vacation

Friendly staff, great location, nice rooms, elevator slow at times but overall great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jul 8, 2014

Cramped room

Felt and appeared clean. Small room that should have one bed had two double beds with very little room to walk around. Cramped quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top