$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
189 reviews
ad a great stay

Great stay great staff good food clean place on the beach good view See full review

  • big jean
  • Dec 1, 2014
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exotic Latina
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jan 4, 2014

Nice family and couples getaway

cleaning staff needs to do a better job. They only clean the room every other day and some days did not replace the towels, soap, shampoo, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the pier and shopping center and dinning are only few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dharley
Business
palm bay fl
Jan 3, 2014

Great view

Went with 8 people, promised rooms close together. We ended with rooms on second, fourth, sixth and tenth floor. Asked front desk to help with this matter, because reservation was made 6wks in advance. They credited back the tourist dollars $39.89, so we were told. Only to find out they tried to charge us a second. Called hotel and asked about the charge, front desk person, Mike, was very rude and played dumb. Also was told on phone it was a 10 min walk to main st, turned out to be 6 blocks. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mdubya
Business
Daytona Beach
Jan 1, 2014

New year getaway

Staff was friendly, price was right, location excellent, beach front accessible, overall a very nice place to stay. I will visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the attraction folders in the lobby to find the best places to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chief baby
Business
daytona beach
Dec 20, 2013

birthday

I loved the view. It was a great site. The rooms was big and i had alot of fun wit my mate. Thank you for the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C E Allen
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 19, 2013

We will return

I was a little leery of this hotel given some of the poor ratings that I had read. We decided to try it anyway because of its location and reasonable price. Keeping in mind we where there in mid December and the hotel was not crowded. All of the issues that worried us (poor parking, dirty rooms, slow elevators) were not an issue at all. The staff was very friendly, A drop dead gorgeous view from the balcony and over all it was a very nice experinance. We will defiantly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandysunshine
Business
clearwater, fl
Dec 8, 2013

great get out of town from the sunshine coast of florida. in town for turkey rod run.

we were in town for the turkey rod run and stayed here for the second year in a row. the rates are fantastic and had a great view of the beach as well as Atlantic blvd. though it was a bit chilly, we enjoyed watching the hot rods cruising up and down the street and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

free - bring a lawn chair on the weekend after thanksgiving and enjoy some muscle car eye candy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAP Realtor
Business
Gary. IN
Dec 7, 2013

Great view, great location, excellent staff!

Tabitha was outstanding! Mike was also very welcoming. I'm sorry I can't remember the woman who worked in the restaurant but she was from Indiana and made us feel very at home. Great breakfast sandwich and coffee. Tabitha made some suggestions for shopping in the area which proved very helpful. Thank you! We would recommend the hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great shops with all things Florida/beach related right across the street. Also a short drive or walk to the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChristyF
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 2, 2013

Needs major improvements

I will start with the pro's before I go in to the list of cons. For the price and a non ocean front room we had a GREAT ocean view. Now the cons. Parking: Next to no parking on site, you have to park across the street. The bed and pillows: may as well have been concrete, extremely uncomfortable. The air conditioner: so noisy it was impossible to sleep with it going The bathroom: not very clean, you could see black marks where a mat used to be. One of those showers you want to shower with flip flops on. The worst: Went to brush my teeth before going to bed to find a cockroach crawling on my toothbrush! If I wasn't grossed out enough I go to grab a water bottle from the refrigerator to find another cockroach in there. Absolutely appalling and disgusting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chobridge
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 17, 2013

Booked at the last minute!!!

Nothing like finding a gem of a spot 15 minutes before arriving! We were driving down I-95 on the way to Miami and by 10PM, figured it was time to stop. This is a lovely beachfront hotel, and the staff was most helpful! Couldn't find a parking spot due to a party nearby, so the receptionist moved her car to allow us to park! The only hiccup is that there was a slight difference in the rate specified on the booking site and the rate the hotel charged and the local tax was a shocker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ggc14
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Nov 11, 2013

LProof Live

The room was nice, nothing fancy. The view of the water was great. Room had frig and microwave. I like the counter and sink separate from the tub and toilet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top