$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
189 reviews
ad a great stay

Great stay great staff good food clean place on the beach good view See full review

  • big jean
  • Dec 1, 2014
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jan 3, 2010

Not a pleasent stay!

Although the hotel staff that checked us in was very friendly, we were not @ all happy with our room. We found roaches crawling in the room & the bathroom shower was not very clean & one of the beds smelled like body odar. The only thing that was done for us was an extension of checkout time. We will never return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was good loacation right on beach close to clubs, bars & boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, NC
Dec 31, 2009

Great place to stay!

This is a great place to stay. Beautiful accommodations and very helpful, friendly staff. We were in Daytona for a college basketball tournament at the Ocean Center. Because of the location, we were able to walk everywhere we went. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Ocean Club and highly recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping and dining within walking distance. Never moved our car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2009

A nice place for the money

If you are looking for a modern, luxurious hotel, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a clean, inexpensive room right on the beach and walking distance to the nightlife and restaurants - it's perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noodlesmama
Business
E. Palatka, FL
Nov 19, 2009

Great price,service and spectacular view

We came to this motel to have a relaxing night sans kids and it happened. The staff was super friendly and everything was really clean in the room. The view from our 7th floor private balcony was heavenly, and I actually woke to the sound of crashing waves and the sunrise peeking through our curtains. We did have to call down for some shampoo and soap, but it was brought to us promptly. The buffet breakfast was good, but a little pricey. We are talking about bringing the kids back with us in a few weeks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Vacation Man
Business
Lansing, MI
Nov 18, 2009

A+ View...A+ Staff...Elevators = Fail

The only thing I would complain about were the lack of elevators. It was just such a large hotel and there were only 2 elevators for the entire complex. Other than that, the place was awesome. Great view!!! Great staff!!! Great bar (we had to enjoy the bar for a day, because there was a tropical storm while we were there) Overall I would give it a 9/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance or a short taxi drive away. Daytona Cubs minor league baseball team was an enjoyable experience!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bluffton, SC
Nov 17, 2009

Comfortable For Now, But...

Not happy about the nightly parking fee which is not customary in the Daytona area. In addition, not only did we have to pay the fee, but we had to park in an off-site lot. The room is in need of repairs. The faucetts leaked and the sliding glass door was difficult to open and would not lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
Nov 16, 2009

Wonderful Time at the Plaza Ocean Club

WE walk along the shopping areas, beach, parks. Travel to different area in and out of town. There were nothing missing everyone were friendly and we even left our housekeeper a tip. On our next trip we will take at this hotel again. And enjoy the sites.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel, Entertainment, Dining, a lovely walk in the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Europe
Nov 11, 2009

Good Location

This was a good hotel for the money. For the price I paid I was satisfied. Our room was beside the elevator and we listened to the elevator all night. They charge you 5.00 per day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laide
Business
Florida
Nov 10, 2009

plaza ocean club

Didn't like having to pay for parking, but the hotel was not bad, not outstanding but the beds were very comfortable and it was clean and quiet. I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristyn disgusted
Business
new jersey
Nov 10, 2009

thumbs down

My boyfriend and I went to plaza ocean club to stay in the same hotel as his brother. He proposed to her on the beach and we spent the majority of the first day at main street for bike week. Upon our return to my boyfriend's brother's room...... not one, not two, not three, not four....not 10 but 20+ coackroaches were infesting the section under the sink of their kitchenette (where our food was). Imagine the discovery of that: "Sean a cockroach just crawled out of my suitcase, oh my God another is on the wall, here's the forth one, i'm taking it in a tissue to management." While he was going down to confront management the 2 women find 20+ under the sink. EVEN Though I was in a different room, my food kept in there kitchenette was ruined, I knew where there are 20 cockroaches, a lot more follow. These WERE NOT palm meadow bugs but "cockroaches". I could kick myself for not taking pictures to show how graphically disgusting it was. Due to the big volumes of people in hotels for bike week, moving was not an option for us. The rest of my stay at plaza ocean club was spent being scared that cockroaches would be falling on me as I slept. I made my boyfriend put a towel under the door as to make sure none would enter our room. I couldn't wait to get the hell out of there. The hotel manager, I believe is [...], She treated us horribly, when really it was her hotel that was infested. I have stayed in lots of hotels and never once did I see A bug, nonetheless over 20 cockroaches, we lost about 150 dollars in food and i'm still scarred from the experience. You should NOT be affiliated with this hotel. PEOPLE stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top