Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
187 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, GA
Sep 11, 2010

Satisfied customer

We love Daytona! We swam in the ocean and enjoyed wonderful dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waynesboro,VA
Aug 26, 2010

Awesome couple retreat vacation

It was a very nice hotel. We really enjoyed it. Be careful when booking with [...]because oceanview is not oceanfront. They have both. Posted on [...] is oceanview it's a corner of the hotel you only get a partial view. We had to upgrade to an oceanfront room which cost an extra $100 for 6 days. That room was huge and it had a kitchen with it (without stove) didn't matter didn't cook anyway :)The breakfast buffet was not a real buffet. We ate there one day then had IHOP and cereal the rest of days. Very disappointed with the breakfast. Anyhow,it was awesome location and we had a blast. We definately would stay again. Staff very nice!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milledgeville GA
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only problem was we had dogs next door that barked very early in the morning. Good stay would do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 22, 2010

All we could imagine

When we arrived, we ask to be upgraded and were given a fantastic ocean view with balcony for just a little extra money. It was a gorgeous room on the corner, which added extra space inside and out. We loved the view from the balcony overlooking the huge pool and the ocean. Couldn't be beat!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Attending a concert at the Ocean Center!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Daytona
Business
Central Florida
Aug 17, 2010

08/13/2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Ocean Beach Club. The staff was very friendly, pool very nice, location great. We also visited the Daytona Beach Lagoon Amusement Park, had a great time. Would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 11, 2010

good location for the price

The hotel has a good location, you can walk to dining close by and the boardwalk. But the floor which we stayed on was so noisy that I was not able to sleep most nights until about 4:00 am. The people next to and across from our room needs to be schooled in etiquette and decency. I will not like to have them for my neighbours. people like those are responsible for the low rating for an otherwise average hotel. one other comment..the pillows needs to be replaced. They are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma of two
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 2, 2010

Fun Summer Vaca

Hotel staff was extremely nice. All week we didn't come across one staff member that didn't go out of their way for us. Hotel was clean, great pool, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Terrible Experience

Very bad and unclean hotel. Slippery hallway, smelly elevators, broken room furniture, removed closet doors, rusty tracks, bad smell carpet, and noisy. When I went't downstairs to the reception desk (minutes after we checked in) to ask for another room, they told me wait five minutes. 5 turned to 2 hours, and still as is. Tired and exhauseted with no help from the staff, I cancelled my stay, turned the keys back to the reception desk lady (who was answerring the phone, giving directions, discussing hotel rates, and checking customers at the same time), and left to another hotel. Lady told me that "[...] got your money,,,,talk to them for a refund). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

na

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jul 19, 2010

never again

not clean, not matter what, there sould not be roaches in a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schochoh, KY
Jul 14, 2010

NICE STAY

The hotel provided nice comfortable beds and quiet and clean rooms. Did not like the waiting time of over an hour to check-in. This was because of July 4th race and people staying over for race. Seems they could have done better with atleast 4 customer service reps attending to the check-in. Our housekeeper ([...]) on third floor was really nice and she took good care of us. Like I said we loved the stay just hating not having a luggage cart to help with all our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top