$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
187 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Apr 22, 2011

Good Stay

Just got back from Daytona with my boyfriend.. Stayed at Plaza Ocean Club for 6 nights. Don't have any complaints.. Easy access to the beach, nice pool, great location. What more can you ask for? The room was good.. what I would expect for a hotel on the beach... sandy in some areas, but room was clean. Staff seemed nice... probably only complaint is that the walls seem paper thin.. could hear people on both sides of us, although didn't realize it til the last day we were there.. no big deal. Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

3 miles up the road... Congo River Mini-Golf.. very very nice and a fun time! You should go!...Also Bubba Gump Shrimp at the Ocean Walk.. Yummmmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 21, 2011

Pretty good

Stayed at the hotel during Spring Break. The hotel was very nice for the price! It was a great location within walking distance of a lot, it was also decently close to the airport. Balcony was not accessible which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneola, FL
Feb 1, 2011

Great Family Place to Stay

We played games, went swimming - the pool is great at all times, never to busy or crowded. Had a DJ and this made is just great, because we were celebrating 2 Birthdays. We stayed late at the pool and had dinner, and purchased drinks from the Bar which I have to say the service was just wonderful for all the people that were being waited on. I have to say that our stay was super - we have done it several years now and we hope to continue each year from now on. I have stayed at several other hotels in Daytona Beach and the service was a lot to be desired, at the Plaza Ocean the service, help and all were just great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Jan 14, 2011

location location location

the only thing missing was warm weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jan 1, 2011

couples gteaway

celebrated new years eve

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 1, 2011

do you like the smell of cat urine?

The hotel was good untill we got to our floor, we had two rooms booked, one of which had a fan in room that had been flooded and it smelled HORRIBLE, JUST LIKE CAT URINE, the second room smelled the same way, the entire hallway smelled and the stairway going down 6 flights smelled so bad that I almost vomited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Acres, FL
Dec 20, 2010

Decent, Clean Relaxed

The only real complaint I have is that the restaurant is only open in the morning, so no lunch or dinner. The check in and out could have been more efficient, but was not too terrible. The room was clean & comfortable. The view from the balcony was lovely. The poolside bar had excellent service & was comfortable & reasonably priced as well. I would gladly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeaude
Business
florida
Oct 19, 2010

biktoberfest2

We stayed here on Wednesday before this Sunday stay and there was a lot of difference between rooms... This room had had the bathroom tile painted and the paint was flaking off. The beds seemed to be past their prime because when you sat on them, you sank down to the box springs. This room had a kitchenette and when we turned the hot water on, the handle fell off... Other than that, the service was as good as we have come to expect and the rest of the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeaude
Business
Florida
Oct 14, 2010

Plaza trip

Made the reservation just a day before coming to Daytona, and I thought that since it was Biketoberfest there might not be a room available. To my surprise, the room was an ocean view, which I didn't expect and had two queen beds. It was laid out very well and the bed was so comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel when you are in Daytona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DeBary, Florida
Sep 12, 2010

A/c and plumbing problems

We went to Ocean Walk, sat down by the ocean and swam in the pool. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good at the restaurant.In the room the sink would not drain and it took 4 flushes for the toilet to empty. we ended up using the sink in the kitchen for our tooth brushing etc. I had a hard time sleeping because the ac cycled off and on loudly and there was a loud rattle that kept me awake. The swimming pool was wonderful, we really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

We did walk and enjoyed it, but if you have problems walking , better drive there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top