$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT88
Friends
Saint Petersburg FL
Jan 28, 2013

Rolex 24 race

The room was clean, a little dated though, shower head needed replacing, paint peeling in shower area. The sink in the bathroom didn't work right and was constantly draining. Beds were very clean, had a great view of the ocean, nice balcony, A/C worked great, staff was very nice. Spilled water on the bed and they changed the sheets and took care of it immediately and were very helpful. The TV is a bit old and should be replaced. Very nice stay though, only about a 5 minute drive from the speedway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clean Niecy
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Oct 18, 2012

My experience the week before bike week

The hotel as located in a nice location, It truly has only a partial view of the beach. There is an additional 10.00 per day resort fee when u arrive. Also housekeeping did not change out sheets the entire 3 nights we stayed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

it is a short drive to several dining facilities. Fast food and nice restaurants.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Offended KELLY
Family
Wisconsin
Sep 5, 2012

RUDE HOTEL STAFF

WORST HOTEL STAFF EVER!!! I WILL NEVER RETURN! RUDE DESK LADY.! Valery was rude! after getting a flat tire from this hotel parking lot, i asked for a flash light & she said " We aint got one for you." i asked if security has one? she said "Not for You" Then as we were trying to change the tire security came to us we were thrilled.. maybee they can help us but NO! he said We have to move our vehicle with a flat tire & leave the premises before they call the daytona police & have it towed away.. I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO RUDE IN MY ENTIRE LIVELY HOOD OF TRAVELING!! .. USUALLY THE STAFF IS SUPPOSED 2 HELP GUEST. ..... Best Part is this... We went to make a Complaint to upper management the next day, & The main staff member didnt believe us && did not care that there staff was so rude!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
This part is silly
Single
Illinois
Mar 21, 2012

Daytona Beach Bike Week 2012

Satisfactory overall, great location, rooms overpriced, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet adequate, hotel miserly with beverages at breakfast, only allowed one coffee or orange juice, not both. Room door jam broken, obviously door kicked in at some point previously, repair quality poor, college spring break kids rowdy, suppose that is to be expected ... no, not at this level inside the hotel. In general a second rate hotel, ok if you can't find something better or are budget limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beamer1
Family
CT
Mar 15, 2012

Average but good location

This hotel seems to be very old and not kept up very well. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there was an awful smell in the hallway. They said there was a pipe that broke and the rugs got wet. They had huge fans going to try and dry the rugs. Not a good experience. This place can definately use some fixing up. Would probably not stay here again upon my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Got robbed

My room got robbed. No key was used, so either the lock did not latch or they forced there way in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doolie1
Couples
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 17, 2012

Needs a refurb

Room size was large, bed ok. with fridge. Ocean view with a good view...not too much different than ocean front. Restaraunt and bar are ok... problems: bathroom had bugs(not from the staffs lack of cleaning, but from age). Tiles in shower painted and peeling, bathtub had patches, and was adequate for a shower, but certainly not for a bath(not near clean for that); So, all in all, for a short stay(wasnt in the room much) and location(3-4 minutes walk from boardwalk and all the restaurants/bars) its ok. If you want even the level fairfield inn, this is FAR from it(though almost all hotels in Daytona fall into this catagory).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a new restaraunt called "The Spot". Looks very simple inside but staff are super friendly and the boils(crab, shrimp, sausage, corm etc) are prepared New Orleans style and are fantastic. Price fo a "VIP" HUGE boil of shrimp(big ones) and pounds of snow crab, blue crab and everything else you could want(would feed 4)...Try this stuff and you are in heaven!

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WarrenW
Couples
Guelph, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

Mess up on New Years Eve

Hotel looks like it needs some updating overall. Waited in a hour long line for check in. Hotel did not have our reservation and there were no more rooms available. Thankfully their sister property, which was much nicer, had rooms. I'm not sure if this is the hotel's fault or this website - either way, if you are booking with this property, call ahead to confirm before arriving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMinVA
Single
VA
Dec 26, 2011

Worth the money

I've stayed here twice and both times were good. The mattress was a little softer than I like but the room was clean and had an ocean view. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morjo
Couples
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great View

An average hotel located on the beach with a great view. Serves breakfast and lunch only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butterflyily
Family
Los angeles
Oct 24, 2011

Good enough

Great location. service was also good. The room was clean but very old. Paint chipped, drain clogged after every shower, screen door did not lock and the hallways smelled like a bad drain. The room did not smell though and the bed was clean and smelled fresh. fine for our short 2 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top