$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
275 reviews
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Daytona Bike Week

Great place to stay. Close to Main Street, so didn't have to worry about driving to where all the... See full review

  • Bike Week 2014
  • Mar 10, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLo21
Mount Dora, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Great for the price!

We just happened to be there when one of their elevators broke but they quickly changed my room to a second floor room-great customer service! There is very little parking so I had to park in their lot across the street and one block over. Other than those 2 minor problems the price was great for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant and bar in the hotel are priced right and great! On sunday they had a great breakfast buffet for only $7.99 and we didn't have to walk anywhere.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GAGEEDAWG
Dalton GA
Jul 25, 2014

family getaway

Not enough room to park car and check in to start with. Easy checking in but hotel lot full so had to park a block away and had my gas cap stolen. Only 2 elevators for guests and staffing so it takes a long time to used and we were on 3rd floor so we did the stairs. Got to room and look out to see a roof not a ocean front. Hotel was booked. A/C was nasty inside and bathroom need work done on it. Sliding door would not latch so I fixes it myself since you could go out onto 2nd floor roof and go to many rooms. On Monday I talk to front desk and said I had a river view room and I showed her what I had booked and she moved me right away to the Oceanview room. Bathroom need some remodeling done and sliding door was hard to open and close so we used the single door to go outside. Couch was a sink hole for me so I used chair or bed while in room. Not worth the price we paid and after talking to others there is no good hotels in the area and pictures are of best rooms. Elevator broke down so we only had 1 for the last 2 days there and we were on the 7th floor so you had to wait and we started getting on the up ride to be able to have it going down or it would be full by the time it got back to us. Restaurant was great. Staff was nice. Pool was small and had people coming off the beach to used it. Hobo drunk walking beach and going to everyone came up and started talking to guest and sit down with them. Saw him later sleeping on bench across the street. Had a few panhandle asking for money as we walk by. Burger King down the road stay away from. Starlite Diner best place to eat and great prices. Ask for the Asian lady Jodi , she was so nice to us each time we stopped and only place my girls wanted to go. Back to hotel they need to put up a fence with guard at other parking lot. Control parking lot at hotel for guests not workers with gate and fence or having locals walking thru and using everything for free. Parking lot next door half empty cause they could not get to beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starlite Diner great food and prices and service

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married Man 414
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 21, 2014

weekend getaway

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didnt have any cable service the first day so they refunded our resort fees. The parking was awful and so were the extremely slow elevators! Because of those two huge problems i probably would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmariee
Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2014

Averagee

When I first arrived I was not pleased. I was promised an 11th floor room 7 months prior to vacation, however when I arrived I found that I was placed on the 8th & the balcony door did not lock. Atlantic Jacks had excellent food, and Cynthia the bartender and her brother (didnt catch his name) were THE BEST. Excellent location, & other than a water pipe bursting and the whole 8th floor smelling like mildew, it was a pretty enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa from WV
West Virginia
Jul 15, 2014

Family beach vacation

Friendly staff, great location, nice rooms, elevator slow at times but overall great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HB815
Terre Haute, IN
Jul 12, 2014

An OK hotel

This hotel definitely needs to do major upgrading. When we booked the room, it said oceanfront king...but when we got inside the room, the balcony is no where near ocean front. It was angled more towards the hotel next to us (motel 8 or whatever) and was not much of an oceanfront view which was disappointing. Didn't make a big deal because it is what it is. The bathroom was very small and there was only 1 mirror in the entire room, which was the bathroom...very inconvenient. I wouldn't recommend eating at the restaurant... just not the greatest and while on vacation, I feel like I should be eating good food! Location is awesome! It is right on the ocean and walking distance from the boardwalk and all the fun stuff. Bars are nearby for those who like to have a drink! Mall isn't too far either. However, I will say that the staff is very nice and makes up for some of the bad ends. Also, the price wasn't too bad considering I booked it on here far in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tallahassee, FL
Jul 8, 2014

Cramped room

Felt and appeared clean. Small room that should have one bed had two double beds with very little room to walk around. Cramped quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lana Marie Grandmother
Tallahassee, FL
Jul 7, 2014

Questionable

My grandson won tickets to the Friday and Saturday races. I reserved and paid for their stay. They called the first day. The tub had mold around it and the TV remote did not work. It looked straightened but did not have the clean feelings or smell. They did not receive a beach view as stated. The staff was very friendly and moved them to a different room. The cable did not work in that room and they stated it would take 2 to 3 days to be repaired. They went a few days early for the beach, which the rain complicated, but did not have TV to retreat to in the room. Location of hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo and Jess
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2014

very nice

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous right on the beach with a balcony ocean view. The bathroom could use some updating and the mattress was very firm but overall would revisit this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike01
florida
Jun 23, 2014

No parking

The parking situation at the hotel is horrible and the elevator is unbelievably slow other than that a decent place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top