$44 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Mayan Resort

2 stars
103 S Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
75 reviews
can you say ugh!!!

The staff and location was great But I found a....used CONDOM in the tiolet...wrapper and all :( See full review

  • sevenvixen88
  • Mar 2, 2014
Mayan Hotel under constrution

when we arrived, Joann the hotel clerk toward us the hotel was remodeling, doing all the balconies... See full review

  • Sexylady1
  • Nov 26, 2013
Oceanfront Daytona Beach resort just steps from beach, water park
Few Daytona area hotels are more centrally located than the Mayan Resort. The oceanfront location puts guests within steps of the beach and numerous area attractions, shops and restaurants. Casual guest rooms feature private balconies, and on-site recreation with an outdoor pool and sun deck. There’s a water park across the street and a popular oceanfront restaurant next door. Also nearby are golf courses, fishing charters and the Daytona speedway.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast bar
  • Ocean Deck restaurant features live Reggae shows
  • Across the street from Daytona Lagoon water park
  • Seasonal Tiki bar
  • Guest rooms with full kitchens available
Rooms
The 110 brightly decorated guest rooms at the Mayan Resort come with private balconies, many with spectacular ocean views. Rooms were recently renovated in warm, tropical décor reflecting the dramatic beachfront location. All rooms include 25-inch TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply) and complimentary Internet access.
Features
The hub of activity at the Mayan Resort is the breathtaking 23-mile long Daytona Beach, just steps from the guest rooms. Guests spend days sunning in cozy lounge chairs, splash in the shallow surf or enjoy the oceanfront pool. The hard-packed is perfect for bike riding, jogging, or walking. Motorized water sports rentals are nearby.

The Mayan Resort is located on the Daytona strip, close to Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier. The Ocean Deck, a popular beachfront restaurant featuring live Reggae at night, is next door to the resort. Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes are within walking distance. On-site parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • I-95 (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (27.5 mi/44.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Peabody Auditorium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (65.1 mi/104.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (65.6 mi/105.6 Km)
  • Disney World (79.5 mi/128 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Meeting facilities for groups up to 40
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check in is 18.
  • During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order
  • Rollaway beds are available on first come basis for a fee of $10 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Mayan Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Room with a king or 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)
Oceanview Standard
Room with 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Mayan Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 75
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
2.7

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. JCW
Business
Sanford Fl.
Jul 29, 2014

Great Getaway

My hotel stay was great I wish I had an oceanview room but the room I had I could still see some of the ocean. When making a reservation online their should be an area were you could request an oceanview room and then go through discount companies to see if there is any discounts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Popluar restaraunt right next door. Shopping is alsoin short walking distance.Joan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sevenvixen88
Business
cleveland Ohio
Mar 2, 2014

can you say ugh!!!

The staff and location was great But I found a....used CONDOM in the tiolet...wrapper and all :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
whyohwhyzzzzzzzzz
Business
Lake City FL
Mar 1, 2014

Great location

I have stayed here several times and it seems to get worse every time. The doors are rusty and look like they would open with a good kick. Worst shower ever and the wifi was so slow I had to use the free wifi at the restaurant next door. The breakfast is a joke, toast or cereal. The bed was comfy though and every thing seemed pretty clean and the location is great if you want to be near Main street and the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Ocean Deck is a great place to eat and right next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OhhwowHi
Business
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

I stayed at the Mayan Inn about 2 weeks after they had a fire in a storage unit next to the hotel. I did NOT smell any smoke or see damage to the hotel. However, a portion of the parking lot was blocked off. I personnel never had an issue parking, but there were times when I saw only one or two open spots left. If you have a Big SUV you will find the parking tight. At the time I was staying, the hotel was reimbursing for off site parking. The only thinking i have to knock the Hotel for is the small bath room. It's a toilet and tube with barley enough room to close the door. The sink is out side the room. The factious for the tube were old and the water never turned off completely. The best bar in Daytona is right next store. This is the reason why I wanted to stay at the Mayan. At night i could hear the live music from the bar. This was not a problem for me since I loved the music. If your room is pool side you might not have a problem with the music. Being an older hotel, the wall are very thick. I had a problem with the AC the first night. The power breaker was flipped. I notified the front desk and maintenance fixed the problem with in 15 minutes. The Staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street. I visit Daytona twice a year, and I plan on staying at the Mayan again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joey Coco
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great place to stay for bike week

The hotel is a two star for sure but perfect location for bike week. I would stay again because the beach is great and the location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vball123
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Loud bar next door

THe location is great as far as center of everything. There is bar next door; had a band til 1-2 AM. It was louder than the A/c, and I was on the 8th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kosta Jones
Business
New England
Jul 15, 2011

Been To better....

Rooms were pretty decent, but the parking was close to none some nights, and the late check in (3pm) wasn't very friendly either. The free breakfast was very slim in options. Great location, and staff was great for the most part. The Parking staff always worked to find me a spot. The hotel other then the rooms was kinda 1-2 star quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive more inland away from the beaches of daytona, you will find better shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
May 30, 2011

Not bad for a basic hotel :-)

Last year stayed at the deplorable Islander Motel in Daytona Beach Shores. This is architecturally identical. However, room was cleaner and more enjoyable. Helpful staff, and right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant and bar directly next door - very happening place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, OH
Feb 18, 2011

DISGUSTING!!!!!

I got in late and had no time to look for another hotel. I stayed up all night till morning on the beach....That room had bugs crawling around and it stunk so bad I couldn't even go in there! I found another hotel down the road early the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Feb 5, 2011

gave room away

When I showed up at check-in, the desk clerk informed me they had given my room away even though it was prepaid back in November. After two hours of discussing it, we moved to an inferior hotel with a higher price. Terrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top