$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Mayan Resort

2 stars
103 S Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
75 reviews
can you say ugh!!!

The staff and location was great But I found a....used CONDOM in the tiolet...wrapper and all :( See full review

  • sevenvixen88
  • Mar 2, 2014
Mayan Hotel under constrution

when we arrived, Joann the hotel clerk toward us the hotel was remodeling, doing all the balconies... See full review

  • Sexylady1
  • Nov 26, 2013
Oceanfront Daytona Beach resort just steps from beach, water park
Few Daytona area hotels are more centrally located than the Mayan Resort. The oceanfront location puts guests within steps of the beach and numerous area attractions, shops and restaurants. Casual guest rooms feature private balconies, and on-site recreation with an outdoor pool and sun deck. There’s a water park across the street and a popular oceanfront restaurant next door. Also nearby are golf courses, fishing charters and the Daytona speedway.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast bar
  • Ocean Deck restaurant features live Reggae shows
  • Across the street from Daytona Lagoon water park
  • Seasonal Tiki bar
  • Guest rooms with full kitchens available
Rooms
The 110 brightly decorated guest rooms at the Mayan Resort come with private balconies, many with spectacular ocean views. Rooms were recently renovated in warm, tropical décor reflecting the dramatic beachfront location. All rooms include 25-inch TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply) and complimentary Internet access.
Features
The hub of activity at the Mayan Resort is the breathtaking 23-mile long Daytona Beach, just steps from the guest rooms. Guests spend days sunning in cozy lounge chairs, splash in the shallow surf or enjoy the oceanfront pool. The hard-packed is perfect for bike riding, jogging, or walking. Motorized water sports rentals are nearby.

The Mayan Resort is located on the Daytona strip, close to Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier. The Ocean Deck, a popular beachfront restaurant featuring live Reggae at night, is next door to the resort. Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes are within walking distance. On-site parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • I-95 (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (27.5 mi/44.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Peabody Auditorium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (65.1 mi/104.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (65.6 mi/105.6 Km)
  • Disney World (79.5 mi/128 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Meeting facilities for groups up to 40
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check in is 18.
  • During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order
  • Rollaway beds are available on first come basis for a fee of $10 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2249 -81.0073
Area served
Daytona Beach.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport 5 miles, Orlando International 65 miles.
Area description
From: US 92 East. Take exit Interstate 95 or Interstate 4 to A1A North. Continue one block to Ocean Avenue and the Mayan Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Mayan Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Room with a king or 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)
Oceanview Standard
Room with 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Mayan Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 75
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Bob
Miami, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Welcoming feiendly efficient staff

It was like being welcomed by family. Maybe your favorite aunt or Uncle. Check in was delayed. Becuz Imbooked 5 min before we showed up. Desk Mgr was great - he worked around it and even got me a better room. Ditto,formdayndesk Mgr, breakfast lady and others. Staff Alone is reason to book this hotel. While thenbuilding " has seen better days", they make it work, and the Location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Deck immediately Next Door. Food and entertainment until 3am

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Fuhrmann
Buffalo, NY
May 23, 2014

I would go back!

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 5/14/14 -5/20/14. She was on vacation, I was taking my Part IV Chiropractic National Board exam at Palmer Chiropractic in Port Orange. When we got there, we were greeted by a friendly front desk. Our room was clean, and the view was awesome! The hotel needs some updating, it is not overly fancy, but, if you want a place right on the beach you can't beat the price. The only issues I had was sleeping. There is a Beach club directly adjacent to the hotel called the Ocean Deck. They have live music every night. This sucked when I had to get up and write an exam in the morning. Good thing the AC in our room as obnoxiously loud, I could drown out the reggae music. The staff at the hotel was great, we had a problem with our toilet and they fixed it right away. Nobody at the hotel said anything about us walking around with open beers. overall, great experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Deck is kind of overpriced, but well worth it.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sexylady1
Tavares, Florida
Nov 26, 2013

Mayan Hotel under constrution

when we arrived, Joann the hotel clerk toward us the hotel was remodeling, doing all the balconies and the pool areas,she knew us from staying at this hotel and told us about there sister hotel about a mile down the road our reservations would be honored, we went down to the Daytona Ocean Front HOTEL IT was very nice we were on the 9th floor room was large and the view was great, everyone was so nice. We would stay at the Mayan or this HOTEL again!! we stayed 3 nights enjoyed the beach and then went to the Clint Black concert at the Peabody it was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Really everything that you need is within walking distance, to the Boardwalk and entertainment..

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tim1058
Louisville
Jul 13, 2013

Avoid at all costs

Just checked out after 5 nights. Let's just say I should of booked the Hilton. The breakfast is a joke. Muffins, cereal, toast. If you don't get any by 7:30 your out of luck. I bring this up and the hotel employee just shrugged. The WiFi is very spotty. Never a constant connection. The parking is a joke. They had two monster tour buses taking about a 1/4 of the side lot. The elevators are slow. We were on the 8th floor. Get a room 5 or below. There are only 2 so just be prepared to wait. The rooms need a complete update. The bed hard as a rock. Pillows so weak its pointless to use. Carpet old, dingy, and ugly. Bathroom as small as a college dorm. Shower never warm and the weakest shower head I've ever had in a hotel. Balconies dirty with dirty furniture. Bed sheets only changed on request. The pool deck is small and never gets a full cleaning. Leaving socks, toys, cigarette buds everywhere. Plus one chair was broken and I about fell over. No shower on the beach. Just a hose with no pressure at all. If you want to swim, get in the pool before 11 or all the kids will take it over. They have a restaurant called Ocean Deck next door. If you get a view room you will hear live music until 2 am. Be warned. Good food though. If your on a budget and want to be close to the boardwalk which sucks now, here is your place. Oh and you pay a resort fee. Not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is the Ocean Deck. Live music until 2 AM. Good if you like it, bad if you have an ocean view room with kids. Good drinks and specials. Rip Tides all you can eat crab legs well worth it. Get there by 5 because it stops at 7.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Good location poor hotel
Boston, MA
Jun 9, 2013

Good location, poor hotel

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a not so friendly women at the front desk. Once getting our room keys we get up to our room only to find it is not the correct room. We payed extra money for an ocean front room with a balcony and a king sized bed. The room we walked into had two double beds no balcony and a great view of the parking lot. Needless to say I was not happy. When we went back to the front desk to tell them this was not the right room the same unfriendly women rolled her eyes at me and called the manager over who I must say was very nice. It turns out someone else had the same last name, don't you think that should have been checked? Once that was settled we got our regular room which was made only by the balcony the rest of the room was average. There is no hot tube. The bar was open twice in 7 days. Staff was rude. Elevator slow. Oh and my boyfriend got stuck on the balcony due to the door breaking so a guy from the staff had to come in and bash the door out. Besides from its location this is not a hotel I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack willis
Savannah ga
Apr 27, 2013

good for a couple nights

for a two night stay the place was great, rather old but if you are not picky it is great for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveTheCarGuy
Savannah, GA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Weekend In the Middle of It All

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The other reviews are all over the map and I was a little hesitant. I'm glad I stayed! We'll be back. It's right next to the Ocean Deck, the best restaurant and bar on the beach. The rooms either face the ocean, south or the parking lot. I stayed in an ocean front room on the 6th floor and it was great! The beds were soft and comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom is older and the paint is peeling in places but I thought it was well within reasonable. It's not the Hilton and I didn't pay a Hilton price either. The desk staff is very friendly. Since they had a room available, they let me check in early and for a fee they'll even let you stay 'til 6pm on checkout day. They have a deck to the side of the pool that allows you to sunbathe right until sundown. Some people don't like that people coming into the Ocean Deck are essentially looking at you, but I didn't see a problem ... even chatted with a few people. The pool isn't heated, but I'm not a swimmer. All-in-all a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ocean Deck is the best resturant and bar on the beach. The Mahi sandwich is huge and very tasty ... the 10oz burger is also excellent. They have a great view of the ocean, the servers are super friendly and fast, and the clientele is always interesting. Upstairs is for dining-with-a drink and downstairs is for drinking-with-your-meal!

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lynne W
Grafton, WV
May 3, 2012

got what we paid for

We had a great time while in Daytona Beach, the Mayan Inn was a good place to stay, although the place is old it was usually kept clean, We had decent room service. The ocean front room was great, The breakfast was cereral, muffins or toast, I am a breakfast eater and this breakfast was minimal, The place needs some work and tender loving care, but like I said we got what we paid for .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat close by! close to the Boardwalk.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teal
Lowell, Michigan
Feb 29, 2012

Bugs

This was the second year staying here. Last year was good. This year not so much. One of our rooms had a hole punched in the bathroom door. The other room that i was staying in was fine the fist two nights the third was not so good. When we can back in the room that night i found 6 yes 6 cockroaches crawling around in our room. I was discusted. The only good thing out of the stay was the staf did move us to an oceanfront room, but you know when you see thses bugs in one room they are in all of them. Yup later I saw one in our other room and dead ones in the room we were moved too. I would never stay there againg, even thought the location and the pricce is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
name not taken yet
Cape Coral, FL, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Just what we expected for the price.

The staff was very friendly . The room was comfortable but could have been cleaner. we had a problem with the shower the first nite and when we reported it, maintainence was there to fix it within an hour. The motel is old and in need of some repair and paint but not filthy. the pool was a bit green but it was too cold to swim and the pool area was clean. the motel is nextdoor to the ocean deck restraunt and they have great food and entertainment every day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The restraunt and bar next door is the happening place. good food, great entertainment every night.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search