$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Mayan Resort

2 stars
103 S Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
112 reviews
can you say ugh!!!

The staff and location was great But I found a....used CONDOM in the tiolet...wrapper and all :( See full review

  • sevenvixen88
  • Mar 2, 2014
Mayan Hotel under constrution

when we arrived, Joann the hotel clerk toward us the hotel was remodeling, doing all the balconies... See full review

  • Sexylady1
  • Nov 26, 2013
Oceanfront Daytona Beach resort just steps from beach, water park
Few Daytona area hotels are more centrally located than the Mayan Resort. The oceanfront location puts guests within steps of the beach and numerous area attractions, shops and restaurants. Casual guest rooms feature private balconies, and on-site recreation with an outdoor pool and sun deck. There’s a water park across the street and a popular oceanfront restaurant next door. Also nearby are golf courses, fishing charters and the Daytona speedway.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast bar
  • Ocean Deck restaurant features live Reggae shows
  • Across the street from Daytona Lagoon water park
  • Seasonal Tiki bar
  • Guest rooms with full kitchens available
Rooms
The 110 brightly decorated guest rooms at the Mayan Resort come with private balconies, many with spectacular ocean views. Rooms were recently renovated in warm, tropical décor reflecting the dramatic beachfront location. All rooms include 25-inch TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply) and complimentary Internet access.
Features
The hub of activity at the Mayan Resort is the breathtaking 23-mile long Daytona Beach, just steps from the guest rooms. Guests spend days sunning in cozy lounge chairs, splash in the shallow surf or enjoy the oceanfront pool. The hard-packed is perfect for bike riding, jogging, or walking. Motorized water sports rentals are nearby.

The Mayan Resort is located on the Daytona strip, close to Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier. The Ocean Deck, a popular beachfront restaurant featuring live Reggae at night, is next door to the resort. Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes are within walking distance. On-site parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • I-95 (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (27.5 mi/44.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Peabody Auditorium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (65.1 mi/104.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (65.6 mi/105.6 Km)
  • Disney World (79.5 mi/128 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Meeting facilities for groups up to 40
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check in is 18.
  • During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order
  • Rollaway beds are available on first come basis for a fee of $10 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mayan Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Room with a king or 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)
Oceanview Standard
Room with 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2249 -81.0073
Area served
Daytona Beach.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport 5 miles, Orlando International 65 miles.
Area description
From: US 92 East. Take exit Interstate 95 or Interstate 4 to A1A North. Continue one block to Ocean Avenue and the Mayan Resort.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Mayan Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nicole the truth
daytona beach Florida
Jun 14, 2013

spring break vacation

For three young girls that just want to get away from home and want a cheap place to stay this is the one! We couldnt of had a better location and even though the room's carpet smelled a little moldy it was totally worth what we paid. Breakfast was fair but atleast there was oatmeal. It was such a great vacation we didntcare about the hotel. As long as we got to shower and get ready that's all that mattered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bubba Gumps!!

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Good location poor hotel
Boston, MA
Jun 9, 2013

Good location, poor hotel

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a not so friendly women at the front desk. Once getting our room keys we get up to our room only to find it is not the correct room. We payed extra money for an ocean front room with a balcony and a king sized bed. The room we walked into had two double beds no balcony and a great view of the parking lot. Needless to say I was not happy. When we went back to the front desk to tell them this was not the right room the same unfriendly women rolled her eyes at me and called the manager over who I must say was very nice. It turns out someone else had the same last name, don't you think that should have been checked? Once that was settled we got our regular room which was made only by the balcony the rest of the room was average. There is no hot tube. The bar was open twice in 7 days. Staff was rude. Elevator slow. Oh and my boyfriend got stuck on the balcony due to the door breaking so a guy from the staff had to come in and bash the door out. Besides from its location this is not a hotel I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K. Boyd
Birmingham, Al
May 29, 2013

Maintenence needed

Hotel seems to need some maintenence, elevator very slow and rocky. Balcony door falling apart with wide opening at the bottom...not good because it's an entrance for critters and bugs. Toilet runs a long time after flushing, and major leaky fauceproblem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shellbells
Gladwin, Michigan
May 1, 2013

If I were you I'd turn back

It took the afternoon front desk receptionist about an half hour to check us in. Wasn't friendly at all and said he was upgrading our room when I had purchased the ocean view on line and there wasn't any room for upgrade only down. The shower water went from hot to cold to hot to cold during my entire shower. The outside balcony looked as though is was ready to collapse. The pool outside looked nasty and you never saw anyone swimming, not to mention dirty wet towels laying on the ground. Oh did I mention food all over the floor inside the elevator. For the Price it sucked!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack willis
Savannah ga
Apr 27, 2013

good for a couple nights

for a two night stay the place was great, rather old but if you are not picky it is great for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OhhwowHi
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

I stayed at the Mayan Inn about 2 weeks after they had a fire in a storage unit next to the hotel. I did NOT smell any smoke or see damage to the hotel. However, a portion of the parking lot was blocked off. I personnel never had an issue parking, but there were times when I saw only one or two open spots left. If you have a Big SUV you will find the parking tight. At the time I was staying, the hotel was reimbursing for off site parking. The only thinking i have to knock the Hotel for is the small bath room. It's a toilet and tube with barley enough room to close the door. The sink is out side the room. The factious for the tube were old and the water never turned off completely. The best bar in Daytona is right next store. This is the reason why I wanted to stay at the Mayan. At night i could hear the live music from the bar. This was not a problem for me since I loved the music. If your room is pool side you might not have a problem with the music. Being an older hotel, the wall are very thick. I had a problem with the AC the first night. The power breaker was flipped. I notified the front desk and maintenance fixed the problem with in 15 minutes. The Staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street. I visit Daytona twice a year, and I plan on staying at the Mayan again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liv Mercury
New York
Mar 31, 2013

Spring break weekend

It was alright, mostly because we were outside of the hotel room practically the whole time. Just used the room to sleep and shower, so for that is was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the bars/clubs are in walking distance.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveTheCarGuy
Savannah, GA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Weekend In the Middle of It All

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The other reviews are all over the map and I was a little hesitant. I'm glad I stayed! We'll be back. It's right next to the Ocean Deck, the best restaurant and bar on the beach. The rooms either face the ocean, south or the parking lot. I stayed in an ocean front room on the 6th floor and it was great! The beds were soft and comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom is older and the paint is peeling in places but I thought it was well within reasonable. It's not the Hilton and I didn't pay a Hilton price either. The desk staff is very friendly. Since they had a room available, they let me check in early and for a fee they'll even let you stay 'til 6pm on checkout day. They have a deck to the side of the pool that allows you to sunbathe right until sundown. Some people don't like that people coming into the Ocean Deck are essentially looking at you, but I didn't see a problem ... even chatted with a few people. The pool isn't heated, but I'm not a swimmer. All-in-all a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ocean Deck is the best resturant and bar on the beach. The Mahi sandwich is huge and very tasty ... the 10oz burger is also excellent. They have a great view of the ocean, the servers are super friendly and fast, and the clientele is always interesting. Upstairs is for dining-with-a drink and downstairs is for drinking-with-your-meal!

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The CEO
Orlando, FL
Nov 7, 2012

Mayan Inn

Great value for the money. Next to boardwalk, pier, shopping, and numerous beach stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Oceanside Bar & Grill as well as Joe's Crab Shack are great options.

Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmas and Daughter
Daytona Beach, FL
Oct 22, 2012

Very nice!

The hotel staff was really helpful and nice! The location as excellent! The room view was amazing! I would go back there in a heartbeat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top