$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Mayan Resort

2 stars
103 S Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
75 reviews
can you say ugh!!!

The staff and location was great But I found a....used CONDOM in the tiolet...wrapper and all :( See full review

  • sevenvixen88
  • Mar 2, 2014
Mayan Hotel under constrution

when we arrived, Joann the hotel clerk toward us the hotel was remodeling, doing all the balconies... See full review

  • Sexylady1
  • Nov 26, 2013
Oceanfront Daytona Beach resort just steps from beach, water park
Few Daytona area hotels are more centrally located than the Mayan Resort. The oceanfront location puts guests within steps of the beach and numerous area attractions, shops and restaurants. Casual guest rooms feature private balconies, and on-site recreation with an outdoor pool and sun deck. There’s a water park across the street and a popular oceanfront restaurant next door. Also nearby are golf courses, fishing charters and the Daytona speedway.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast bar
  • Ocean Deck restaurant features live Reggae shows
  • Across the street from Daytona Lagoon water park
  • Seasonal Tiki bar
  • Guest rooms with full kitchens available
Rooms
The 110 brightly decorated guest rooms at the Mayan Resort come with private balconies, many with spectacular ocean views. Rooms were recently renovated in warm, tropical décor reflecting the dramatic beachfront location. All rooms include 25-inch TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply) and complimentary Internet access.
Features
The hub of activity at the Mayan Resort is the breathtaking 23-mile long Daytona Beach, just steps from the guest rooms. Guests spend days sunning in cozy lounge chairs, splash in the shallow surf or enjoy the oceanfront pool. The hard-packed is perfect for bike riding, jogging, or walking. Motorized water sports rentals are nearby.

The Mayan Resort is located on the Daytona strip, close to Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier. The Ocean Deck, a popular beachfront restaurant featuring live Reggae at night, is next door to the resort. Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes are within walking distance. On-site parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • I-95 (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (27.5 mi/44.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Peabody Auditorium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (65.1 mi/104.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (65.6 mi/105.6 Km)
  • Disney World (79.5 mi/128 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Meeting facilities for groups up to 40
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check in is 18.
  • During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order
  • Rollaway beds are available on first come basis for a fee of $10 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2249 -81.0073
Area served
Daytona Beach.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport 5 miles, Orlando International 65 miles.
Area description
From: US 92 East. Take exit Interstate 95 or Interstate 4 to A1A North. Continue one block to Ocean Avenue and the Mayan Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Mayan Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Room with a king or 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)
Oceanview Standard
Room with 2 double beds include Microwave/small refrigerator with private balconies, Cable television with remote control and HBO.In-room safe.($1.50 per day)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Mayan Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OhhwowHi
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

I stayed at the Mayan Inn about 2 weeks after they had a fire in a storage unit next to the hotel. I did NOT smell any smoke or see damage to the hotel. However, a portion of the parking lot was blocked off. I personnel never had an issue parking, but there were times when I saw only one or two open spots left. If you have a Big SUV you will find the parking tight. At the time I was staying, the hotel was reimbursing for off site parking. The only thinking i have to knock the Hotel for is the small bath room. It's a toilet and tube with barley enough room to close the door. The sink is out side the room. The factious for the tube were old and the water never turned off completely. The best bar in Daytona is right next store. This is the reason why I wanted to stay at the Mayan. At night i could hear the live music from the bar. This was not a problem for me since I loved the music. If your room is pool side you might not have a problem with the music. Being an older hotel, the wall are very thick. I had a problem with the AC the first night. The power breaker was flipped. I notified the front desk and maintenance fixed the problem with in 15 minutes. The Staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street. I visit Daytona twice a year, and I plan on staying at the Mayan again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location Location Location. The Mayan is located with in easy walking distance to Board walk and Main Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul De.
Florida
Aug 28, 2014

Charged for free services

I was told that the $9 a day "resort fee" was for parking in the hotel lot, the free continental breakfast that was severely lacking in food items and the room safe which used to be $1.50 a day charge. the location is very good for beach access but the establishment has obviously been cutting corners for a long, long time. one last thing...there was no orange juice offered with their juice service at the breakfast and this is Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seashell
Dover,Pennsylvania
Aug 22, 2014

Very Interesting Stay!!!

We checked into 3 different rooms which did not make us happy campers! :( The 1st room the main door was broke, 2nd room the TV didn't work lock to main door didn't work, 3rd room door to balcony was broke(got it fixed# & air conditioner wasn't cooling#Got that fixed). Other than that the hotel staff were very friendly & accommodating. Unfortunately I would not stay there again. My quote is one & done. I'm really not picky but there was more than me that had worse comments about this hotel... I could say more but I'll let you all decide on your thoughts if you ever stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a lot to see in Daytona. It was a very short walk to the boardwalk & to restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. JCW
Sanford Fl.
Jul 29, 2014

Great Getaway

My hotel stay was great I wish I had an oceanview room but the room I had I could still see some of the ocean. When making a reservation online their should be an area were you could request an oceanview room and then go through discount companies to see if there is any discounts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Popluar restaraunt right next door. Shopping is alsoin short walking distance.Joan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Bob
Miami, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Welcoming feiendly efficient staff

It was like being welcomed by family. Maybe your favorite aunt or Uncle. Check in was delayed. Becuz Imbooked 5 min before we showed up. Desk Mgr was great - he worked around it and even got me a better room. Ditto,formdayndesk Mgr, breakfast lady and others. Staff Alone is reason to book this hotel. While thenbuilding " has seen better days", they make it work, and the Location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Deck immediately Next Door. Food and entertainment until 3am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JO bracy
ATL, GA
Jul 29, 2014

SUMMER TIME FUN

THE KIDS LOVE THE POOL. It was alot of food spots to eat AT and the beach was wright there. im glad I use . see next year.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

U will like it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachin at heart
TN
Jul 20, 2014

Great location

The location was great. The parking was terrible with way too few soaces and most were so tight you couldn't turn into them. There was also a problem with people from the bar next door parking there. They only have 2 elevators and only 1 was working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5 in family
Kentucky
Jul 11, 2014

family vaca

We stayed here for a week in July. It was right on the beach, had continental breakfast and wasa short walk from the pier. Overall a great place for our family to stay for an affordable trip. No issues during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Enforce the use of sun screen with your older kids! Lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madman2b
new york
Jul 2, 2014

Needs work

This place is ok if u just need some where to rest and go other then that they don't have much but the pool and the beach as for the room it was clean but everything was falling apart the rack for the fan feel off while we where there the lock for the door stop working they had to change it the towel rack was on the floor when we walk. But the view of the ocean was great You get what u pay for so do I recommend any one to stay here yes and no it's all up to u

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They have the board walk right next door and Joe's Crab Shack on the pier u have to try food is delicious but make sure u make reservation cause the wait is long. Daytona laggon is walking distance also good location but hotel is not that great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Fuhrmann
Buffalo, NY
May 23, 2014

I would go back!

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 5/14/14 -5/20/14. She was on vacation, I was taking my Part IV Chiropractic National Board exam at Palmer Chiropractic in Port Orange. When we got there, we were greeted by a friendly front desk. Our room was clean, and the view was awesome! The hotel needs some updating, it is not overly fancy, but, if you want a place right on the beach you can't beat the price. The only issues I had was sleeping. There is a Beach club directly adjacent to the hotel called the Ocean Deck. They have live music every night. This sucked when I had to get up and write an exam in the morning. Good thing the AC in our room as obnoxiously loud, I could drown out the reggae music. The staff at the hotel was great, we had a problem with our toilet and they fixed it right away. Nobody at the hotel said anything about us walking around with open beers. overall, great experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Deck is kind of overpriced, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mayan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bgreene
Wyandotte, Michigan
Apr 1, 2014

Don't stay here

Hotel isn't clean and looks nothing like the photos. It was almost impossible to get clean towels and there was black mold on the shower curtain. I killed about 30 moths and room service never came up to vacuum them. We were there for 6 days and our room got patislly cleaned once! We were spring breakers so we really weren't looking for anything special, but this place was horrible! The location is awesome so that's the only thing going for them. If you're going with a family don't stay here because you'll hate the location. There's a nightclub right next door so you'll be hearing loud music and drunk people until 2 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search