$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
191 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 191
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddy Bauer
Business
Daytona Beach
Sep 26, 2014

very nice for my first time.

Very nice for my first time. Maybe flat screens would do some good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SOCKY
Business
ORLANDO FL
Sep 23, 2014

THE WORST DREAM OF MY LIFE

I COULDNT STAY .AS A WOMEN I DIDNT FEEL SAFE .I HAVE HARD TIME TO OPEN THE DOOR.THE DOOR LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE BROKE IN BEFORE.NOT WHAT I SAW IN THE INTERNET PICTURES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whiskeydawn
Business
St. Louis
May 31, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

There is a grocery store, liquor store, wall greens, laundromat, and a Denny's right across the street. The pool is large and goes to 10 feet deep. I liked this hotel and would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racedoc
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2014

Dangerously Dilapidated

When I first walked in it took 5 minutes to get either of the staff hiding in the back room to come out and assist me with check in. First things upon checking in they informed me there was an additional resort fee ($10/day) that I would owe above what was already paid to 0rbit* for the amenities which meant closed pool, constant construction, and absolutely no amenities--just an additional hand in your walet. Upon going to my room with a sliding glass door that wouldn't lock so that the neighboring room could walk right in, the tv did not work for most of the channels. I was told this would be fixed within a few days and finally required a new tv. At this point the non-smoking room began to stink of cigarettes from next door. a phone call revealed that this was an all smoking floor with just a non-smoking sign placed in my rom to make me feel better since they didn't have a room reserved for me as requested. Add to this no towels and you ge te idea. If it was cheaper it might have been acceptable. Finally, the last day I walked around the dingy resort to note that most of the building and balconies are literally falling off the building and one has to wonder about ther safety in this place. It is certainly far, far from a resort and I am not sure how they can legally call it that. A value of maybe $40 if they don't charge the resort fee. Many many are better for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Krispy Kreme with always hot donuts. Just be very careful of the traffic camera which will ticket you even when stopped for the red light if your bumper happens to cross the line or if you don't wait several minutes to turn right on red.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray May
Business
Oviedo florida
May 6, 2013

La playa hotel

Very good fun experience I had a wonderful time. I would recommend people to stay there due to the cost and due to the friendliness of the staff members aboard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza place $1 a piece

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Talitravels
Business
New York City, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Didn't meet expectations

The room's carpet was filthy and the quality of everything from the walls to the sheets was old and needs work. The lights went out in several rooms during my stay, for about an hour on one of the days. The staff didn't have a clear response, or time frame, and had no idea what was going on. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the location was semi-convenient with access to a strip mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kooter48
Business
OHIO
Feb 20, 2013

Great

The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant and it was reasonably priced. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
homestager
Business
Orange Park, FL
Jan 1, 2013

would return!

Staff was very nice, older hotel, but great return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Temper
Business
MO
Dec 30, 2012

La Dump

The carpet is so dirty its repulsive. Its black and has holes. They twist all the towels, which are old and stained. Overall a dive. Pretty cheap but I recommended you spring for a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loving Life 21
Business
Ocala, Florida
Sep 5, 2012

Clean and worth the money

Experience was great, people at desk were very courteous and helpful, pool area clean, tiki bar was nice. The hotel was a little old, and needs some upgrades, but I was at this hotel to sleep, enjoy the beach, and have a relaxing getaway, and this is what I got at this hotel. It's in no way luxurious, but it served it's purpose, and I thought the place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top