$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
198 reviews
good trip

nice. hotel......! I would'd go there again went for the Daytona 500 only a ten minute drive from... See full review

  • Robert F.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristina
Business
Daytona beach, fl la Playa hotel
Aug 20, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

this hotel was absolutely disgusting. I wish I could get a refund. The beach was beautiful though. Oceanview from the side hardly. Only received room service when we checked in. Employees are very rude and unwelcoming. I suggest never staying at la Playa in daytona beach. Pool was small and salty. Hot tub can onlyfit three people. Since we never got room service in the week we were there we had to use the same towels everyday. Oh blood stain on the floor. Absolutely no lock on the door, talk about safety. Overall all I want my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRoW
Business
Jackson, TN
Sep 5, 2011

Worst Experience Ever

The LaPlaya Resort & Suites was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First upon trying to enter the room the key card didn't work, had to go back down to the front desk to get another card which didn't work either. Had to go back down to the front desk and maintenance was called to come repair door. Finally upon entering the room I thought I was being punked. It was utterly terrible. The carpet was soiled and filthy, the bath towels were dingy and overused, the comforters on the beds were from the 60's. Later in the night I had a guest to visit, the roaches, I couldn't believe it, no excuse for a hotel to have roaches to that magnitude it was ridiculous. The next day maintenance came back to spray for the roaches but later that night they were worst. I thank LaPlaya for making my first stay in Flordia the worst experience ever for me. The staff was not friendly and not really willing to help when called upon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lou90
Business
New Jersey
Mar 20, 2012

Bike Week

Hotel is in a good location, it has many stores and a supermarket across the street from it. The view from either side of the room is great. However, the door to the room was horrendous. It looked like it had been recycled from some other building and it did not close properly. The door to the balcony was worse and you would have to pull really hard on it to get it to close. The rug looks like it was the original one when the hotel oppened. In other words the room is very depressing, luckily we did not spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hookster
Business
saint pete fl.
Jul 9, 2012

just a bed

The hotel in general was pretty sad, one elevator had been broken for 6 weeks, parking spaces blocked off for cement railings on upper floors breaking off, hot tubs not working, rooms not very clean, just needs lots of work and upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papaw 1
Business
Daytona Florida
Jul 13, 2012

Not a very good stay

The first morning there my Daughter dropped her camera from the five story level. Busted the lens. This was our fault. The next day we went shopping I left my camera in the room. Came back the camera was gone. The maids cleaned the room and the staff said the cable repair people were allowed in our room. When we came back the door was ajar. The door was in terrible shape. You had to slam the door to ensure it was locked. I felt the hotel was at fault for the loss of my camera because the door was faulty. They allowed unannounced people to enter the room, and they left our door open. They said I should have used the safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Temper
Business
MO
Dec 30, 2012

La Dump

The carpet is so dirty its repulsive. Its black and has holes. They twist all the towels, which are old and stained. Overall a dive. Pretty cheap but I recommended you spring for a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
monie ree
Business
ocala,fl.
Jan 3, 2013

worst hotel ive ever stayed in.

the service took long. i asked for a cart they told me it was outside but there was not any cart so they told me it was coming right up ive waiting 45 mintues and asked again the staff went to see if they had returned the cart. it had been standing there for quite a while and didnt bring it to me, it was broken u couldnt even push it. the hotel have roaches,the linens was dirty had spots on it and the lampshade had blood stains. alot of cracks and damages outside the buliding. the only thing good about it was the ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pocwatjim
Business
Decatur, TN
Feb 16, 2013

La Playa ,Avoid this place!

Roaches in room. Carpet 15 years old ,had stains and was in shreads in several places. TV picture fuzzy on all channels. Tub and sink faucets would not cut off. toilet would work unless you held the handle for 2 minutes sheets would't fit the bed and you were sleeping on the mattress in the morning. were .It was a very unplesent 5 day stay. We have stayed there for the last 4 years in Feb. while attending a Watch & Clock show at the Ocean center and it has finally gotten so low we will not even consider it unless they do a complete remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not A Fan of this place
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Feb 18, 2013

Waste of Money

Stayed here and had a really good experience back in the early 90's - figured they may be up with the times and changes, but boy was I wrong, place is old and falling apart. On top of that, the indoor pool is no longer working, however they still list in on their website), and then if you book online, they charge you a 10.00 a night resort fee, this place is far from a resort, oh but they do have 2 new hot tubs - woo hoo. JOKE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwelton
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Feb 18, 2013

Gross

I stayed at this hotel and I travel quite a bit. I stayed her with a cheer team. This is the most disgusting hotel I have everrrrrrr stayed in. Filth, gross, nasty doesn't even describe this hotel. I would not even walk across carpet without my shoes on. I didn't want my kids touching anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill - Yummmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top