$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
homestager
Business
Orange Park, FL
Jan 1, 2013

would return!

Staff was very nice, older hotel, but great return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Temper
Business
MO
Dec 30, 2012

La Dump

The carpet is so dirty its repulsive. Its black and has holes. They twist all the towels, which are old and stained. Overall a dive. Pretty cheap but I recommended you spring for a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelzz
Business
Miami, Florida
Dec 4, 2012

Happy birthday to me!!

It was great overall! The location was perfect, it's by the beachside and close to stores for convenience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cadillac16
Business
Florida
Oct 16, 2012

It is what it is...a great value

I was expecting a clean room with a view and that's exactly what i got. I paid $60 a night. You will not find that anywhere for a ocean front room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juicyfruit
Business
Orlando Fl
Oct 1, 2012

My Anniversary

I love this place it is always clean welcomes couples and families the same. The front desk are always striving to make your stay great..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RipTides Raw Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yucky
Business
Daytona beach, fl
Sep 24, 2012

Out dated

The staff is great. The indoor pool is closed and the hot tubs are boarded up with plywood. The doors are horrible they don't want to shut or open. The towels are more like hand towels and they are so ruff. The furniture is nasty and from the 1980 s it dark colored wood and not the light they say. The place is over run with roaches it is really quite gross and nasty. I think for what the place is they should not be charging you to park and the $5.00 parking advertised is not true they charge $7.00 a day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast. The lounge is not really a lounge it is nothing more than a bartender outside by the pool. The place overall is misrepresented and I think this is a real shame. It would be well worth your money to stay some where else and pay a little more to be some where clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loving Life 21
Business
Ocala, Florida
Sep 5, 2012

Clean and worth the money

Experience was great, people at desk were very courteous and helpful, pool area clean, tiki bar was nice. The hotel was a little old, and needs some upgrades, but I was at this hotel to sleep, enjoy the beach, and have a relaxing getaway, and this is what I got at this hotel. It's in no way luxurious, but it served it's purpose, and I thought the place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Maria
Business
Orlando, Fl
Aug 16, 2012

Good value for the money.

We're not the "pickiest" bunch and if you can live with a slightly outdated room/furniture, etc, this hotel has good value for the money (we paid just under $70 a night, including tax) It is located right on the beach, just a couple of miles north of the Daytona Beach hot spots, so it is a little quieter and the beach isn't as packed with people. The beds were too firm, even for me...and I prefer firm mattresses over soft. Other than that, like I said, it would be tough to find a better value for what we paid....I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy mom 1
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2012

Going down hll

I have been coming to Daytona for 20 years. For years I stayed at the same place until it sold out and the rates went up and was not worth the price. I stayed several diffrent places until I came across La Playa and this was our 3rd year staying there. The hotel had a good price it was clean and we had plenty of room with the murphy bed. This year though may me the end of La Playa for us. The room was in really rough shape. The door knob between rooms was barely on, we had no TV service in the living area due to a cable problem and was restored until 2 days before check out (they did us 2 complmentary breakfast for that), I saw 2 roaches in bathroom, the carpet was nasty looking and the tiki bar was open at random times and you never knew when you went down to get a drink if it would be open or not. They do have security now though, which is a good thing, but did not see what help they were considering they had people at all hours of the night being extremly loud ( 1am to 3 am). They said they are under new management and that they are redoing it. They should not have chraged what they did this year for the room and it definitly will not be worth no more even if they do take care of all the problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrMike55
Business
Jacksonville, f
Aug 6, 2012

older place,,,

having grown up in panama city, i've seen my share of older cinder block hotel buildings. This was one of those. There was a very large crowd there and one of the elevators was out of service, and being on the 9th floor it was a bit of a hassel. The front desk staff was very friendly as was the tiki bar personnel. However, it rained some and they closed early and never did reopen after the typical Florida summer afternoon rain shower past. Overall, probably good for a family with small kids but would avoid for any kind of romantic weekend unless your on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a strip mall across the street with some grocery shopping which works out well when you get an efficency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top