$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

THW WORST EVER!

BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. FROM THE TIME ME AND MY CHILDREN PULLED UP TO THE HOTEL WE WERE FLABBERGASTED. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THE PAST REVIEW SO I CAME TO SEE IT FOR MYSELF. CHECKING IN WAS NO SWEAT. GETTING UP TO OUR ROOM WAS LIKE FINDING WALDO. WE WERE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR NEAR THE OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL. THERE WAS NO ELEVATOR CLOSE TO OUR ROOM SO WE HAD TO TOTE A TON OF OUR THINGS TO AND FROM THE ROOM TAKING US MORE TIME THAN EVER TO DO. COMING INTO THE HOTEL ROOM ITSELF WAS LIKE PLAYING MOVE THE BOULDER. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT OPENING THE HEAVY DOOR. (FRONT AND BACK DOOR) THE KITCHEN WAS OLDER THAN MY UNCLE/GRANDPA. THE BATHROOM WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BESIDES THE BROWN MOLDY SPOTS ON THE CEILING AND THE SHOWER HEAD SOUNDING LIKE AN AMTRAK TRAIN, WE COULDN'T STAND IT. THE BALCONY WAS SCARY TOO. I WAS SITTING THERE THINKING WHAT IF THE BALCONY FELL AND WE END UP ON THE CNN NEWS, MOTHER AND CHILDREN DIE ON COLLAPSED HOTEL BALCONY IN DAYTONA, FL. WE STAYED LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE BEACH AND BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, BUT AS SOON AS IT WAS TIME TO SETTLE DOWN MY KIDS WEREN'T HAVING IT. SO.....WE CHECKED OUT, THE SAME DAY WE CHECKED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve b.
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

trip

Had fun enjoyed the pool went out there for a few hours.. room was clean had great ocean view very windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

great trip

Great time.. had fun great.view the pool was fun n walked out to the beach was windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lace G.
Business
Flint
Apr 21, 2015

family get way

Hotel was really old far away from fun things it was walking distance of a few restaurants it was a ok get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rena A
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

Family trip spring break

The hotel was good for a last minute book. Beach front with nice pool and place for adults to get a drink and socialize with other adults staff nice and helpful. Parking was close and store close. I would stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brittany R.
Business
Baldwin
Apr 6, 2015

Stay somewhere else!

Super RUDE staff, ruined the entire feel of the hotel. Rooms could have been MUCH cleaner, broken door to balcony, which made enjoying our ocean view room rather difficult. Phone in room was broke, so we couldn't even call the front lobby for assistance. Stay somewhere else!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shaoling
Business
Ravenel
Apr 6, 2015

An old hotel, but good location.

We booked an ocean view room for 3 nights, upon arrival, realize that the room is not oceanfront. Our room is on the north side of the hotel, which if you stayed at 6th floor or above, you will have a good ocean view. Construction of other hotel is right on front of our room. The room we stay is very outdated. A old19in tube TV. So old that color has darkened. The cabinet is chipped and door don't close itself. However we did have a good stay. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is located at about 2 miles from all the shops and traffic. And publix is right across street. pool, hot tub and beach made the trip very pleasant:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan U.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Last minute get away

We booked at LaPlaya mostly because of lack of options because we booked quite late and the remaining options where either $40 a night with awful reviews or $300 a night and we weren't trying to go that route either. The location, being right on the beach was very nice and a Publix right across the street was very convenient. The hotel was ok, very old and nothing updated but clean for the age. The kitchenette was a good amenity as we made our own breakfast and lunch each day. The staff was pleasant. The complaints I would have include being able to hear the spring break kids running up and down the hall ways and on their balcony until 4am and the entire (and I mean entire) hotel smelling of marijuana. I know it was spring break but we were close to leaving the first night because it seemed every other room in the place was there just to smoke. I've never experienced such overwhelming use, it made it a poor choice to take our 5 year old, another time of year may have been different. Secondly you cannot purchase a parking pass for a second vehicle so if you are traveling with more than one you'll have to find parking somewhere else and walk or get picked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan P.
Business
N/A
Mar 21, 2015

arrived for bike week. was a nice ce short ride to main st. great location all around

Saw it had a kitchenette. Thought I could get some clams to steam but no pots or pans. Dishes and silverware were there.otherwise slept with the 2nd floor balcony door open. Woke to a great sun rise and loud, ocean waves. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather W
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Quick trip to Daytona

Hotel staff was very friendly. Rooms and appliances were a little outdated for normal pricing but we used a promotion code so they were just fine for the price we paid. Great location right on the beach. Though we didn't use them, they had a very large (up to 10' deep pool), two hot tubs, and a tiki bar. Hotel is also pet friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top