$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
187 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
HENDERSON KENTUCKY
Jul 9, 2009

get me out of here

tried to check in early room had been ready for hours but front desk very rude and wouldnt budge from the 4:00 p.m. check in time. bathroom ceiling tile wet and falling in. pool was dirty and other guest had ask it to be checked for the last 3 days pump not running. both hot tubs closed. not worth half of price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sequim, Washington
Jul 8, 2009

Great Getaway

We had a great time. The location was awsome. With a rental care we were able to go to various places.Like musuems, lighthouse, chocolate factory, the speedway, comedy show. We went to Orlando, went on a air boat ride, gatorland, Titanic tour,went to a Luau dinner. We found lots of great resturants. We would do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cumming, Ga
Jul 8, 2009

The good and the bad.

This hotel is in walking distance of stores and restaraunts. Beautiful view from balcanies. It was clean but missing some kitchen items that we had to request. The down side was several items in room in need of repair: closet doors, lights, remote for tv, hairdryer. For the price would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charlie Horse was very good and very close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville Florida
Jul 6, 2009

The worst hotel I have ever been in.

LaPlaya Hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I have never paid so much and received so little. This hotel is in a very bad state of repair. Upon check-in I was given two key cards that did not work. I had to walk back and forth to the office three times in 97 degree weather to get the cards recharged. When I finally got into the room, I found the balcony door sealed shut with a devise that was impossible to open. I tried to call the front desk to report the problem but the room phone did not work. Upon discovering the dead phone, I had to resort to my cell phone. I reported the locked door and dead phone to the front desk. The customer representative told me that she would send the maintenance man to my room. I waited for the maintenance man for two hours. I called the front desk. The customer service representative told me that he will be there shortly. I waited for seven hours. Finally I caught the night time maintenance supervisor ([...]) walking near my room. I asked him if he was coming to my room the fix the door. He told me that his department never received a work order for our room. The time was 11:45PM. He told me that he couldn't fix my door because he was going home. I had to beg him to fix my door. He finally did.I had to wait until the following day for someone to fix the phone. The carpet was old and smelt musty. When we finally were able to sit on the balcony we found only one chair. We had to call the front desk again to report the problem. We found very large aunts crawling all over the chairs of the balcony. We could not use our balcony so we sat at the pool. My wife was bit buy one of the aunts. This hotel should never be rated any higher than one star. It is a very old hotel that needs to be shut down until it is totally remodeled.I am worried about using orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is 200 yards from Ormond beach and miles and Miles from Daytona's shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Daytona Traveler
Pennsylvania
Jun 25, 2009

It served the purpose.

The hotel was fine for me but I could see somebody else saying it was a little shabby and it has nothing to do with the housekeeping staff. I don't think the rest of the hotel measured up to the appearance of the lobby. The staff was very friendly and polite and I will probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis IN
Jun 24, 2009

Bang for your buck!!!!!

My wife and I have had such a year we really needed to get away with the kids to have family time. We always stay in Daytona at another hotel. We decieded to shop around on Orbitz. So we found the LaPlaya Resort. They had so much to offer. The seperate kitchen, large rooms, pool just steps away from the ocean, tiki bar while relaxing at the pool, comedy club, bar-b-que everyday on the pool deck. So we booked the room at a very reasonable rate. When we arrived it was everything we had not expected really. It was better. Very friendly staff. Everything was wonderful. I cannot say it is the best hotel in Daytona but for anyone on a budget it is well worth the time to check it out. The pictures dont lie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A little place called DJ's Deck. Just a short drive down Atlantic Ave. Near Port Orange. Wonderful staff, great fresh seafood, outside dinning on deck over water. If you get a chance check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
lima,ohio
Jun 22, 2009

ok but wont go back

hotel was ok but it not a 4 star hotel the way it was when i stayed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
tallahassee
Jun 16, 2009

good

everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweetdady
Hampton, Ga.
Jun 16, 2009

Bad experience at La Playa Resort

The La Playa Resort look good outside but not good on the inside My wife and I had ants in the bathroom shower the bathroom floor tiles was dirty and the dirt would not come out. Also had ants in the kitchen and rust spots on the floor by the stove and table. The carpet looked dirty from a flood that had left spots in the carpet. Our vacation was for 7 days our sheets was not changed until the forth day we have not never experience this on any previous trips that we have taken in other hotels. We will never stay at the La Playa Resort again We would like half our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

CHART HOUSE RESTAURANT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati OH
Jun 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel is well located on the beach and shopping is in walking distance but the hotel needs updated but for the price it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's in walking distance for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top