$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
225 reviews
you get what you pay for

My trip was fantastic. Escpecially for the price of the hotel I was a little iffy it being so cheap... See full review

  • Christina
  • Jun 2, 2015
family trip

The hotel was great. Clean and very close to beach. I loved the hospitality. See full review

  • JASMINE H.
  • May 25, 2015

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

General

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Property features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Nearby attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Policies
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray May
Oviedo florida
May 6, 2013

La playa hotel

Very good fun experience I had a wonderful time. I would recommend people to stay there due to the cost and due to the friendliness of the staff members aboard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza place $1 a piece

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Renee L.
Business
N/A
Jun 16, 2015

Not sure if I will stay again.

My mom and I both reserved rooms, her reservation was lost and she could not stay here and was told that she could not leave her car parked here at all because the parking it setup for one parking place per room. After going to dinner my family and I came back to the hotel and was shocked to find absolutely no parking. Went into the lobby and asked where I should park and was told that they had a comedy show earlier this evening but it was now over and people are starting to leave so I could just drive around the parking lot and wait. So after about 10 mins of this and still no where to park, went back into the lobby and was told the manager would be back tomorrow at 9 am but other than that she didn't know what to tell me. So my husband went into the lobby and demanded to speak to a manager and was told no one was available until tomorrow 9 am. Requested our money back so we could go to a different hotel where we could actually park our car and go inside our room. But nope she couldn't do that either. Finally security was called and told us to just park in the front in the driveway to the hotel. However the following morning I did go and speak to the manager and she was very nice and helpful and refunded our parking fees and extended our check out time to allow us more time to go to the beach and pool etc...I am not sure that I will return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina
Business
lake mary
Jun 2, 2015

you get what you pay for

My trip was fantastic. Escpecially for the price of the hotel I was a little iffy it being so cheap but for a last minute spontaneous trip to the beach it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babeygirl93
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Family get-away!

For the price, the nightly fee is great. Rooms need to be upgraded, but overall, we had a great time. Front desk staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie M.
Business
Ocala
May 25, 2015

great trip

Great place for the money love the pool. Tiki bar and dj. Always entertaining on the weekends. Will sray here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JASMINE H.
Business
N/A
May 25, 2015

family trip

The hotel was great. Clean and very close to beach. I loved the hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve b.
Business
N/A
May 22, 2015

Great time

Great location right across the street from plaza so it's see for Me to shop..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

THW WORST EVER!

BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. FROM THE TIME ME AND MY CHILDREN PULLED UP TO THE HOTEL WE WERE FLABBERGASTED. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THE PAST REVIEW SO I CAME TO SEE IT FOR MYSELF. CHECKING IN WAS NO SWEAT. GETTING UP TO OUR ROOM WAS LIKE FINDING WALDO. WE WERE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR NEAR THE OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL. THERE WAS NO ELEVATOR CLOSE TO OUR ROOM SO WE HAD TO TOTE A TON OF OUR THINGS TO AND FROM THE ROOM TAKING US MORE TIME THAN EVER TO DO. COMING INTO THE HOTEL ROOM ITSELF WAS LIKE PLAYING MOVE THE BOULDER. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT OPENING THE HEAVY DOOR. (FRONT AND BACK DOOR) THE KITCHEN WAS OLDER THAN MY UNCLE/GRANDPA. THE BATHROOM WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BESIDES THE BROWN MOLDY SPOTS ON THE CEILING AND THE SHOWER HEAD SOUNDING LIKE AN AMTRAK TRAIN, WE COULDN'T STAND IT. THE BALCONY WAS SCARY TOO. I WAS SITTING THERE THINKING WHAT IF THE BALCONY FELL AND WE END UP ON THE CNN NEWS, MOTHER AND CHILDREN DIE ON COLLAPSED HOTEL BALCONY IN DAYTONA, FL. WE STAYED LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE BEACH AND BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, BUT AS SOON AS IT WAS TIME TO SETTLE DOWN MY KIDS WEREN'T HAVING IT. SO.....WE CHECKED OUT, THE SAME DAY WE CHECKED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

THW WORST EVER!

BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. FROM THE TIME ME AND MY CHILDREN PULLED UP TO THE HOTEL WE WERE FLABBERGASTED. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THE PAST REVIEW SO I CAME TO SEE IT FOR MYSELF. CHECKING IN WAS NO SWEAT. GETTING UP TO OUR ROOM WAS LIKE FINDING WALDO. WE WERE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR NEAR THE OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL. THERE WAS NO ELEVATOR CLOSE TO OUR ROOM SO WE HAD TO TOTE A TON OF OUR THINGS TO AND FROM THE ROOM TAKING US MORE TIME THAN EVER TO DO. COMING INTO THE HOTEL ROOM ITSELF WAS LIKE PLAYING MOVE THE BOULDER. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT OPENING THE HEAVY DOOR. (FRONT AND BACK DOOR) THE KITCHEN WAS OLDER THAN MY UNCLE/GRANDPA. THE BATHROOM WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BESIDES THE BROWN MOLDY SPOTS ON THE CEILING AND THE SHOWER HEAD SOUNDING LIKE AN AMTRAK TRAIN, WE COULDN'T STAND IT. THE BALCONY WAS SCARY TOO. I WAS SITTING THERE THINKING WHAT IF THE BALCONY FELL AND WE END UP ON THE CNN NEWS, MOTHER AND CHILDREN DIE ON COLLAPSED HOTEL BALCONY IN DAYTONA, FL. WE STAYED LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE BEACH AND BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, BUT AS SOON AS IT WAS TIME TO SETTLE DOWN MY KIDS WEREN'T HAVING IT. SO.....WE CHECKED OUT, THE SAME DAY WE CHECKED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve b.
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

trip

Had fun enjoyed the pool went out there for a few hours.. room was clean had great ocean view very windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

great trip

Great time.. had fun great.view the pool was fun n walked out to the beach was windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top