$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
220 reviews
great trip

Great time.. had fun great.view the pool was fun n walked out to the beach was windy See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
arrived for bike week. was a nice ce short ride to main st. great location all around

Saw it had a kitchenette. Thought I could get some clams to steam but no pots or pans. Dishes and... See full review

  • Alan P.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheer mom 2000
Live oak, Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Great family getaway

We were on the ground floor which was great with having a 5 year old. We were right at the pool and had a great view on the ocean. We have stayed here 4 years in a row and this was the best year yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve b.
Business
N/A
May 22, 2015

Great time

Great location right across the street from plaza so it's see for Me to shop..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

THW WORST EVER!

BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. FROM THE TIME ME AND MY CHILDREN PULLED UP TO THE HOTEL WE WERE FLABBERGASTED. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THE PAST REVIEW SO I CAME TO SEE IT FOR MYSELF. CHECKING IN WAS NO SWEAT. GETTING UP TO OUR ROOM WAS LIKE FINDING WALDO. WE WERE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR NEAR THE OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL. THERE WAS NO ELEVATOR CLOSE TO OUR ROOM SO WE HAD TO TOTE A TON OF OUR THINGS TO AND FROM THE ROOM TAKING US MORE TIME THAN EVER TO DO. COMING INTO THE HOTEL ROOM ITSELF WAS LIKE PLAYING MOVE THE BOULDER. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT OPENING THE HEAVY DOOR. (FRONT AND BACK DOOR) THE KITCHEN WAS OLDER THAN MY UNCLE/GRANDPA. THE BATHROOM WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BESIDES THE BROWN MOLDY SPOTS ON THE CEILING AND THE SHOWER HEAD SOUNDING LIKE AN AMTRAK TRAIN, WE COULDN'T STAND IT. THE BALCONY WAS SCARY TOO. I WAS SITTING THERE THINKING WHAT IF THE BALCONY FELL AND WE END UP ON THE CNN NEWS, MOTHER AND CHILDREN DIE ON COLLAPSED HOTEL BALCONY IN DAYTONA, FL. WE STAYED LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE BEACH AND BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, BUT AS SOON AS IT WAS TIME TO SETTLE DOWN MY KIDS WEREN'T HAVING IT. SO.....WE CHECKED OUT, THE SAME DAY WE CHECKED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

THW WORST EVER!

BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. FROM THE TIME ME AND MY CHILDREN PULLED UP TO THE HOTEL WE WERE FLABBERGASTED. I DID NOT WANT TO BELIEVE THE PAST REVIEW SO I CAME TO SEE IT FOR MYSELF. CHECKING IN WAS NO SWEAT. GETTING UP TO OUR ROOM WAS LIKE FINDING WALDO. WE WERE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR NEAR THE OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL. THERE WAS NO ELEVATOR CLOSE TO OUR ROOM SO WE HAD TO TOTE A TON OF OUR THINGS TO AND FROM THE ROOM TAKING US MORE TIME THAN EVER TO DO. COMING INTO THE HOTEL ROOM ITSELF WAS LIKE PLAYING MOVE THE BOULDER. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT OPENING THE HEAVY DOOR. (FRONT AND BACK DOOR) THE KITCHEN WAS OLDER THAN MY UNCLE/GRANDPA. THE BATHROOM WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BESIDES THE BROWN MOLDY SPOTS ON THE CEILING AND THE SHOWER HEAD SOUNDING LIKE AN AMTRAK TRAIN, WE COULDN'T STAND IT. THE BALCONY WAS SCARY TOO. I WAS SITTING THERE THINKING WHAT IF THE BALCONY FELL AND WE END UP ON THE CNN NEWS, MOTHER AND CHILDREN DIE ON COLLAPSED HOTEL BALCONY IN DAYTONA, FL. WE STAYED LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE BEACH AND BEAUTIFUL WEATHER, BUT AS SOON AS IT WAS TIME TO SETTLE DOWN MY KIDS WEREN'T HAVING IT. SO.....WE CHECKED OUT, THE SAME DAY WE CHECKED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve b.
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

trip

Had fun enjoyed the pool went out there for a few hours.. room was clean had great ocean view very windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

great trip

Great time.. had fun great.view the pool was fun n walked out to the beach was windy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calvin W.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

great time for my family and friends

We had a wonderful time during our stay, can't wait to go back!! The ladies at the front desk were awesome....they really made it easy to check in, and were very professional!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lace G.
Business
Flint
Apr 21, 2015

family get way

Hotel was really old far away from fun things it was walking distance of a few restaurants it was a ok get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rena A
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

Family trip spring break

The hotel was good for a last minute book. Beach front with nice pool and place for adults to get a drink and socialize with other adults staff nice and helpful. Parking was close and store close. I would stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brittany R.
Business
Baldwin
Apr 6, 2015

Stay somewhere else!

Super RUDE staff, ruined the entire feel of the hotel. Rooms could have been MUCH cleaner, broken door to balcony, which made enjoying our ocean view room rather difficult. Phone in room was broke, so we couldn't even call the front lobby for assistance. Stay somewhere else!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shaoling
Business
Ravenel
Apr 6, 2015

An old hotel, but good location.

We booked an ocean view room for 3 nights, upon arrival, realize that the room is not oceanfront. Our room is on the north side of the hotel, which if you stayed at 6th floor or above, you will have a good ocean view. Construction of other hotel is right on front of our room. The room we stay is very outdated. A old19in tube TV. So old that color has darkened. The cabinet is chipped and door don't close itself. However we did have a good stay. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is located at about 2 miles from all the shops and traffic. And publix is right across street. pool, hot tub and beach made the trip very pleasant:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top