$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

3 stars
2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
198 reviews
Great Stay!!

Only got to stay one night and wished for MORE!! Resort Front Desk staff WONDERFUL - Friendly and... See full review

  • MiniVacationer
  • Aug 6, 2014
Family get away

I loved the hotel and the way I was helped the free breakfast and the rooms I had were amazing See full review

  • Paulette family
  • Sep 16, 2013
Family friendly beachfront resort brings flavor of Caribbean to Daytona

With its plush lawn, palm trees and soft green paint scheme, guests feel the vibe of the Caribbean the moment they arrive at the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center. The magnificent beach and warmly decorated rooms only enhance the vibe. Beach lovers and water sports enthusiasts will find the beach perfect for swimming, surfing, bike riding and lounging. Just as refreshing are two oceanfront pools. Numerous shops and restaurants are within walking distance, and parking on-site is free.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Walking distance to shops and dining
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Two oceanfront pools
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Most of the 107 eye-catching rooms, efficiencies and suites at the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center feature private balconies with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are decorated in bright, warm colors that stick with the Caribbean palette. All feature refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary wireless Internet access.

Features

The beach in front of the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center is wide and stretches for miles in either direction. Guests spend days engaging in refreshing water sports (motorized sports are available for rent nearby), bike riding the 23-mile long beach, cooling off in the ocean, or relaxing beside one of the two oceanfront pools.

The resort is centrally located within walking distance to numerous dining establishments, shops, clubs and a water park. Ponce Inlet, a scenic beach town a few miles south, has numerous waterfront restaurants and two marinas with fishing guides. Pack up for a worthwhile daytrip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • I-95 (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (75.8 mi/122 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Marine Science Center (9.7 mi/15.6)
  • Florida Tennis Center (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (61.4 mi/98.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (66 mi/106.2 Km)
  • Disney World (79.2 mi/127.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

29.1977 -80.9932
Area served
Daytona Beach.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport, DAB. Sanford International Airport, SFB. Orlando International Airport, MCO.
Area description
From Daytona Airport: When leaving the airport, follow the signs that direct you to International Speedway Blvd. Turn right on International Speedway Blvd. Go approximately 4 miles to Atlantic Avenue. Turn right on Atlantic Avenue and go approximately 3 miles. El Caribe's is on your left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Caribe Resort and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Caribe Resort and Conference Center Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers 2 Queen Beds, mini refrig with microwave and coffee maker, a private balcony facing the beach and the beautiful Atlantic ocean. Each room is equipped with data port phones for internet connections.(phone sur-charge applies)Each room has Free WI-FI service for wireless internet connection.
Oceanfront Motel
Ocean Front Room featuring two queen size beds, balcony, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting ability to an efficiency room. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed guest rooms. Free Parking
Oceanfront Efficiency
Ocean Front Efficiency featuring two queen size beds or one king size bed, refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, Temperature control, Connecting ability to a room. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed efficiencies. Free Parking
Oceanview Studio Apartment
Oceanview Suite featuring two double Murphy beds and two double sofa beds. Private balcony and a floor to ceiling bay window. Kitchen equipped with a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining area with table and chairs. Individual temperature control. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board. Ability to connect with an efficiency. 580 sq ft. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed Seven Seas Suite. Free Parking
One Bedroom Apartment
Oceanfront One Bedroom Suite featuring two-queen size beds in the bedroom and a double sofa bed in the living room. Kitchen offers a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board. individual temperature control. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed one bedroom suite. Free Parking
One Bedroom Apartment with Jacuzzi Tub
Oceanfront One Bedroom Suite featuring two queen size beds and a double sofa bed in the living room. Jacuzzi tub in a spacious bathroom. Kitchen offers a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Individual temperature control. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed one bedroom penthouse Jacuzzi Suites. Free Parking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Dining

Stavros (Off-Site)
Serving Greek/Italian/pizza. Open 11 am to 10pm. Located across the street. Dress Code: Casual.
Inlet Harbour: (Off-Site)
Serving steaks/seafood/pasta. Open 11 am to 11:30 pm. Located on the water in Ponce Inlet, 5 miles N. Dress Code: Casual.
Deck Down Under (Off-Site)
Serving Seafood. Open 11 am to 11 pm. Located on the water, 2 miles NE. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia, MI
Nov 3, 2008

booh..avoid this hole!

horrible beds..staff with attitudes..bad neighborhood..small pools..construction noise ongoing...AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Pier is nearby.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, CA
Jul 4, 2011

do not stay at this "resort"

DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF STAYING HERE. This is a MOTEL (the fleabag type), NOT a resort. Absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. The lock on our door did not work. Maintenance installed a new one which still did not work. The hotel was willing to switch out my room for one of LESSER value -- after seeing mine I couldn't believe they HAD anything of lesser value. Next day, the lock situation got worse and we couldn't get out of our room. that night you could no longer get into the room without the maintenance man, who did not want to fix the lock because it was late and his shift was ending (now we can no longer leave the room without one person staying behind). Next day, the front desk was making fun of us because at this point we demanded the lock be fixed. Terrible. Rooms stunk of old cigarettes and bug spray (not the kind you wear), bugs were coverering one of the walls outside our room, the room next to ours had a sign on it stating "chemicals in use" which I'm guessing were for fumigating. So disgusted that we left the hotel and the beach and opted to spend the rest of our vacation in orlando instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Warbucks
Dalton,GA
Sep 10, 2013

What Happened???

We stayed at El Caribe last Summer and thought it was the most charming, older hotel on Daytona Beach. What happened? This year the staff was not friendly, the room was dirty, especially the bathroom floor. I rolled over in the middle of the night and there, crawling up my arm, was a roach bug. DISCUSTING!!! Noisy customers...People fighting in the halls...Dirty pool...I could go on and on, but why? DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elaine1940
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 1, 2013

Needs some real maintenance

The door into the room was very dirty, mold was on the door frame inside the room, the carpet in the sink/closet area was soggy, wet and sticky. The hotel, inside and out, was dingy - we will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hasan
msp,mn
May 15, 2012

very bad experience.

Very bad smle, unfrindy staff(front desk).Dirty room, you have to call for bathroom supply-----!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eli t
miami, fl
Aug 10, 2010

not worth it

we checked in and immediately checked out after going to check the room. This hotel is vey old and the balcony is divided but your neighbor is right next to you. no privacy. spend a little more and stick to what you know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maffster
Chicago, IL
Nov 11, 2010

Disappointing

This hotel was extremely disappointing. After reading other reviews we were really excited about staying here but after actually staying here we would never stay here again. You had to slam the doors to make sure they locked and stayed shut. The internet cut out every 2-5 minutes. The toilet ran every 15 minutes. One night there was one room being way too noisy at 1 o clock in the morning. I called once, nothing was done, the person I was staying with went up to the front desk and complained, nothing was done. Finally, after a second call the room was quieted down. This noise was going on for two and a half hours. Doors slamming, banging on the walls, and LOUD voices. Also, the breakfast they served was non-existent, or what was there was expired. It was completely ridiculous. The only positives about this hotel is it is located right near the beach, and the maid staff was extremely friendly. Good luck if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
Aug 13, 2010

Just OK

Decided to spend the night in Daytona while we were on our way to Palm Beach. Staff at the desk were friendly and we were told we were getting an upgrade from our standard room. I thought "Great" and thanked them. We then saw the room. It was in an inside corner of the resort and was not very large. I would have liked to see the standard room. Overall not large needs updating Comfort Inn is nicer. Would not recomend for anything more than a cheap spot for Spring Break, Bike Week or the races at the speedway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

G's Fish Camp in Ponce Inlet. Great Food.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cheviac
New Haven, CT, USA
Mar 29, 2014

the Green Monster

Place was a dump! Black mold on the shower ceiling, frayed carpet on the floor. Everytime someone in the hotel closed their door, the whole place shook like it was going to fall down. Should have listened to a man who was checking out as we were coming in; he simply looked at our room key and said, "good luck"! When we said was it that bad?, he shook his head yes! AND, listed room prices were less than Oritz charged!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Honky tonk, ghetto like neighborhood. Wouldn't feel safe to walk around the area at night.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GQ
Business
Chicago
Jan 31, 2011

Low marks

This hotel like most directly on Daytona Beach was built in the late 60's or 70's and is far past its prime. Renovations include paint and carpet - but nothing else since 1965. If the Wynn or Bellagio is a 5 star this is less than one star. Bathroom tile grout was originally grey or white now gooey black. I laid room towels over the tile floor so as not to walk on it barefoot. Honestly, price should have been $50 /night max! Advice- stick with a name brand hotel unless someone you know and trust has stayed at one of these Daytona Beach hotels and recommends it. There may be one or 2 completely redone/rebuilt hotels on the beach but those are rare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search