$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Hotel St Michel

3 stars
162 Alcazar Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
27 reviews
A modern Hotel with a traditional touch

I went to Miami to visit my son in UM, and stayed in this hotel for three nights. It is a modern... See full review

  • AGRAS
  • Aug 10, 2014
I LOVE this hotel!!!

You couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel is quaint and charming with antiques throughout.... See full review

  • PaulaSharon
  • Apr 27, 2014
A small and charming European style Inn, unexpectedly nestled in a tropical setting. Situated in the midst of beautiful Coral Gables, the building is remembered by some as the historic Sevilla Hotel, built in 1926, and host to the discriminating travelers of that era. Awareness of this architectural heritage has guided the ownership in restoring the hotel to its original character- a task accomplished with both a loving hand and a continental touch. The result is a return to charm and service of a small hotel, that each each guest is sure to appreciate.

Hotel Map

25.7529 -80.2585
Area served
Hotel's property is located in Coral Gables, FL, situated in southern part of the Greater Miami Area.
Nearby airports
The Hotel St. Michel is located just 7 minutes from Miami International Airport.
Area description
Hotel's historic gem can be found in the heart of Coral Gables, loacated in the southern part of the Greater Miami Area. Within the vicinity of hotel lie major attractions such as Miracle Mile, the Venetian Pool's of Coral Gables, the University of Miami, as well as a myriad of local shops and eateries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St Michel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel St Michel Rooms

One King Bed
One king bed with memory foam bedding. European-style decor with antique furnishings and wood floors. Flat-screen TV, complimentary premium channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access.
One Queen Bed
One queen bed with memory foam bedding. European-style decor with antique furnishings and wood floors. Flat-screen TV, complimentary premium channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access.
Two Double Beds
Two double beds with memory foam bedding. European-style decor with antique furnishings and wood floors. Flat-screen TV, complimentary premium channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 2.9 mi

Dining

Morton's The Steakhouse
This famous steakhouse is located just a few blocks away from hotel!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St Michel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Armando Saguesera Viejo
Roanoke,Virginia
Aug 18, 2014

Family Visit

We grew up in Miami. Stayed here out of nostalgia. We went to a second date more than 30 years a go in this hotel. Old French style charming hotel. Floors very old looking. Location great. Staff friendly and helpful. Great area and everything needed close by. We liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drive to sw 8st plenty of good Cuban restaurants.

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGRAS
Cheshire, CT
Aug 10, 2014

A modern Hotel with a traditional touch

I went to Miami to visit my son in UM, and stayed in this hotel for three nights. It is a modern luxury hotel with good value. To get an A grade from my son, it truly must be of great quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miisyi
Business
Coral Gables
Jul 10, 2014

An trip back into time

The one complaint I have is their shower head, which is not that good and really rains the experience, but good stuff and nice decor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackmamba1669
Tampa FL
Jul 8, 2014

Nice surprise

Last minute booking and had no expectations. Hotel and room were clean with all necessary ammenities. The vintage artwork and furniture were a nice touch and gave the place character. Would not hesitate to stay here again....nice hotel with good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PapaRouz
Amherst MA
May 25, 2014

Son's law school graduation

Stayed here when my son graduated from law school. Great location in Coral Gables near Miracle Mile. Staff great, very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlwaysPositive
Business
Lansdale, PA
May 5, 2014

Depends what you are looking for

I really like the location and chose the hotel based on its location and price. There is no gym, no breakfast, and no carpet in the rooms. There is however charm and uniqueness of each room and its furnishings. There also is that old carpet smell upon entering the building, but since the room has wood tile floors (not condusive to doing situps) the smell doesn't come into your room. They use real keys, and the doors are a little tricky. The elevator is original, so ~90 years old - I took it once. If you are looking for boutique style or Eurpoean, this is your place. If you are seeking a gym and breakfast, keep looking. It is walking distance from all sorts of shops, bars, and restaurants and on the trolley stop. It does offer free Wifi, and the Westin doesn't. I would recommend this but give them these warnings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I like the Seasons 52 restaurant- easy walk. Miller's Ale House offers ehhh food, but good drinks and dessert. Tarpon Bend is a good bar on Thursdays. there were no kids in this part of town.

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulaSharon
NJ
Apr 27, 2014

I LOVE this hotel!!!

You couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel is quaint and charming with antiques throughout. The staff is warm and friendly and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. I've been there twice and will return again. The parking lot is right across the street....convenient and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Miracle Mile with dining and shopping is within walking distance.

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Getaway Seekers
Boca Raton
Apr 13, 2014

Perfect Romantic Destination

This hotel has such a 20th century feel it's perfect for those who enjoy more classical/vintage things. The rooms and surroundings were very clean and everything about the hotel was described by my girlfriend as cute and adorable. Bottom line is we had such a pleasant stay and it made for a nice romantic outing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Absolutely great restaurants nearby but all close 10:30ish so plan all events early, also I highly Recomend green street cafe which is the perfect place for brunch and is a very short distance from the hotel!

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elvis
Business
New Orleans
Apr 11, 2014

I'd say 4 stars, wife says 2

Obviously my wife and I disagree on how to rate this hotel. I thought it a charming (if a bit "worn" in places) old world hotel that had been significantly modernized. My wife is quite picky about certain things and didn't appreciate the TV stand (and old sewing machine stand) and the worn rug (for examples). If you want a Hampton Inn experience (her preference if we can't afford a 4 star hotel) then this is not the place for you. If you''re looking for an updated European style room full of antiques and don't mind a worn carpet, scratched floor, etc. then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Coral Gables Trolley. It's nothing but a bus with no descriptions of what you're seeing. Have lunch or dinner at the Biltmore Hotel for a 5 Star treat. Take a swim at the Venetian Pool if you want to swim. It's truly unique.

Review of Hotel St Michel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kohlie
mpls,mn
Mar 17, 2014

old-world charm

First impression was that we could be staying somewhere in Europe. Four blocks from the "Miracle Mile" in Coral Gables. Easy walking distance to dozens of restaurants. But the room was perfect. So much better than so many big city hotels. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search