$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
57 reviews
Fabulous mattress!

Not only was the staff incredibly helpful, but the mattress was hands-down the best I have slept... See full review

  • Scenicgrrl
  • Sep 13, 2014
Great value and location

Comfortable and friendly. Good location University of Miami right across the street. See full review

  • docwatson6
  • Aug 7, 2014
Coral Gables Miami Area Hotel's Location is Near University Coral Gables and nearby Miami offer an exhilarating array of Florida highlights for the guests of the Holiday Inn® Hotel Coral Gables - University of Miami. The hotel's location, only five miles from downtown Miami and seven miles from Miami International Airport (MIA), makes it easy to enjoy the best of the area. The campus of the University of Miami is a favorite of the hotel's guests. Catch a ride to nearby attractions on the Miami Metrorail at University Station just across the street. Discover a shopper's paradise at Dadeland Mall, the Shops at Sunset Place and CocoWalk in breathtaking Coconut Grove. The hotel's location, just 25 minutes from the Port of Miami, is ideal for cruise-goers. Corporate guests can work efficiently with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Getting to meetings is a breeze since we're close to downtown Coral Gables and the Dadeland - Daytran business area. Our Coral Gables hotel is also near medical centers, including Baptist Health South Florida headquarters, Doctors Hospital and South Miami Hospital. Guests appreciate the beautiful, landscaped courtyard and patio and a well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy perks like free scheduled area shuttle. There's an on-site barber shop for your convenience. Book now and enjoy a sensational stay in the Miami - Coral Gables area as our special hotel's guest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Toucans Restaurant
Toucan's Restaurant, specializing in local and international cuisine. Kids 12 yrs and under eat free with a paying adult. Room Service is not available from 11:00am to 5:00pm. Lounge Area available from 5:30pm to 10:30pm.
Toucans Lounge
Full service bar area with Plasma TV’s surrounded by sofas and chairs for ample setting. While having your favorite beverage you can unwind watching our flat screen TV. Restaurant and room service hours are: 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Breakfast and 5:00 p.m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 57
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canedad
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 12, 2014

University of Miami Hotel

We took our daughter to U. Miami and found this hotel in a perfect location, right across from campus. Clean, friendly staff. Good value, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Jean
Business
Waynesville, OH
Jan 8, 2014

Family visit

Hotel staff was helpful, we arrived late and tired. We asked for recommendations for food(fast and cheap) and extra blankets. They were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MPT Soccer Mom
Business
New Jersey
Nov 2, 2013

Fantastic if Visiting Univ. Miami

This hotel is perfect if you are visiting Univ. Miami and traveling back and forth to the Campus. We were in town for an overnight stay for soccer and the hotel is less than 1/2 mile from stadium and in a very safe location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Damon
Business
Marysville,Ohio
Nov 13, 2012

Very pleased!

Was in Miami for work and found this hotel to be very convenient to everything we needed at a reasonable price. Very good location, clean and inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moon Restaurant was fabulous. Serves Thai and Japanese foods and was very tasty! Can't wait to return to eat there again,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drlorimom
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Nice place

I was pleased with the accommodations & the staff was very helpful & pleasant. I've stayed at nicer places, but this was more than adequate for the location near UM & the price. I liked that there was a refrigerator & microwave in the room. Nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train stop within easy walking distance (one block).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbury, NY
Feb 25, 2011

Across University of Miami

Clean, suited our needs while visiting the University of Miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Visiting UMiami"
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Feb 23, 2011

Our Trip to University of Miami

We traveled to Miami so my daughter could visit the University of Miami. The [...]ratings for the Holiday Inn UM were all of the map so we made reservations with some concern. We arrived late Sunday evening. The hotel's renovation was apparently completed or at least the floor we stayed at was and it was a very pleasant stay. The front desk was very helpful and the hotel restaurant which we ate breakfast at was good. The pool is decent size and nice too. At $135/night, probably a decent value compared to other hotels within walking distant from the University. Only negative I can think of is that the heating/cooling units are the window mounted version so it can be a bit noisy. If we go back, I would still look around [...]for other hotels, but this hotel would be a very strong contender.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street(s) (Dixie & Ponce de Leon which are parallel to each other) from the University and close to many restaurants within walking distance as well as a nice shopping mall. It is also close to the Metro Rail and for $5.00, you can get an all day pass. We took the rail 2 stops north to Coconut Grove and had a nice time. CG is full of nice restaurants and stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scarsdale
Feb 21, 2010

Visiting UMiami

Very old hotel, horrible looking hallway, in great need of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doctor J.
Business
Bradenton,FL
Sep 14, 2009

Great location, great price

The hotel room and entire floor we stayed on seemed a little run-down. Room felt damp. I've stayed there before and did not notice this (was on a different floor). Staff was courteous and no complaints with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbuck's within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goshen, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Good location, comfortable stay

Comfortable stay, friendly staff, convenient location excellent hotel restaurant, good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top