$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
57 reviews
Fabulous mattress!

Not only was the staff incredibly helpful, but the mattress was hands-down the best I have slept... See full review

  • Scenicgrrl
  • Sep 13, 2014
Great value and location

Comfortable and friendly. Good location University of Miami right across the street. See full review

  • docwatson6
  • Aug 7, 2014
Coral Gables Miami Area Hotel's Location is Near University Coral Gables and nearby Miami offer an exhilarating array of Florida highlights for the guests of the Holiday Inn® Hotel Coral Gables - University of Miami. The hotel's location, only five miles from downtown Miami and seven miles from Miami International Airport (MIA), makes it easy to enjoy the best of the area. The campus of the University of Miami is a favorite of the hotel's guests. Catch a ride to nearby attractions on the Miami Metrorail at University Station just across the street. Discover a shopper's paradise at Dadeland Mall, the Shops at Sunset Place and CocoWalk in breathtaking Coconut Grove. The hotel's location, just 25 minutes from the Port of Miami, is ideal for cruise-goers. Corporate guests can work efficiently with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Getting to meetings is a breeze since we're close to downtown Coral Gables and the Dadeland - Daytran business area. Our Coral Gables hotel is also near medical centers, including Baptist Health South Florida headquarters, Doctors Hospital and South Miami Hospital. Guests appreciate the beautiful, landscaped courtyard and patio and a well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy perks like free scheduled area shuttle. There's an on-site barber shop for your convenience. Book now and enjoy a sensational stay in the Miami - Coral Gables area as our special hotel's guest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Toucans Restaurant
Toucan's Restaurant, specializing in local and international cuisine. Kids 12 yrs and under eat free with a paying adult. Room Service is not available from 11:00am to 5:00pm. Lounge Area available from 5:30pm to 10:30pm.
Toucans Lounge
Full service bar area with Plasma TV’s surrounded by sofas and chairs for ample setting. While having your favorite beverage you can unwind watching our flat screen TV. Restaurant and room service hours are: 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Breakfast and 5:00 p.m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snowbird Rose
Business
Clearwater, FL
Nov 15, 2014

midweek getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel seems to be used as dormitory rooms for the University of Miami as there were a lot of students with bikes in the hallways and elevators. The ice makers were disconnected. The breakfast was great but if you are not staying for an extended amount of time it is NOT included in the room price and is about $10.00 per person for the buffet. We were attending a play at the University of Miami so it was a good location for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barbaras32
Business
Plantation fl
Jan 24, 2014

terrible

Paid for room in advance and upon arrival informed no rooms because of plumbing priblem...Sent us to Hampton Inn which was $40 cheaper....we got no refund. Never ever go to holiday Inn again. Informed by Hampton this happen s frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slady64
Business
Roselle, New Jersey
Oct 21, 2012

Mini Vacation

Very friendly hotel staff. Got in around midnight and the front desk receptionist was very friendly and energetic. Room was very clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
don429
Business
Hopkins, MN, USA
Mar 27, 2012

difficult three nights in coral gables, fl

We were put in a handicapped room, so our clothes were dragging on the floor in the "closet", and the bathroom floor was always wet from the handicapped shower. Had to call security the first night because of noise. The carpet was so dirty, our white socks were black within five minutes. Shower water was only warm. The lights in the bathroom shorted out on the second morning, so we had to get ready in the dark. Called the front desk right away, but when we returned at the end of the day, they still weren't fixed and we had to call again. Phone in room didn't work throughout the three days. The accounting department said they would send us an e-mail itemizing our restaurant charges because their computers were down when we checked out. They never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WilsonS440
Business
Lancaster, PA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

lovely hotel

My husband and I love holiday inn, but this one was even nicer than other ones. The lobby and Pool area were beautiful! The room was clean and the bed so comfy! Our only complaints are that the fitness area and the tiny tv in the room were outdated, and no free breakfast :( other than that we were very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento ca
Mar 24, 2011

suprisingly good

I found it be a suprisingly nice hotel. The staff were friendly; nice lobby and resturant; and very nice pool. I chose the hotel for it's location close to the airport;Key Biscayne; beaches;university,etc. I read a lot of bad reviews, but did find them justified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 27, 2011

Great Hotel - Friendly People

We have stayed at this hotel before, and we love it. the physical appearance is somewhat old and dated, but it is always clean. the food in the restaurant is great. The real selling point is the friendliness of the staff - they are always helpful, and seem genuinely happy to help whenever you need them. It's our favorite hotel in Miami, especially with a child studying at the U. of Miami (located directly across the street)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hoosier Traveller
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 21, 2010

Seen better, seen worse

Seems like it might have been nice about 15 years ago. Too many corners cut and and too many old or outdated furnishings. Location is good - right on US1 and within walking distance to University of Miami campus - but nothing impressive about the rooms or the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks from the University of Miami campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
col. forbin
Business
gamehendge
Jan 4, 2010

easy access to the metrorail

we went to concerts at american airlines arena and it was very easy to get back and forth taking the metrorail instead of paying a fortune for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West fargo, N.D.
Oct 8, 2009

Very nice hotel.Clean and very helpfull.

Very good and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top