$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1350 SOUTH DIXIE HIGHWAY, CORAL GABLES, FL 33146
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Very pleasant stay

My past stays were not always pleasant due to the university kids who were also staying there and... See full review

  • Dr. Ertu Sevsay
  • Oct 6, 2013
University of Miami Hotel

We took our daughter to U. Miami and found this hotel in a perfect location, right across from... See full review

  • Canedad
  • Jan 12, 2014
Coral Gables Miami Area Hotel's Location is Near University Coral Gables and nearby Miami offer an exhilarating array of Florida highlights for the guests of the Holiday Inn® Hotel Coral Gables - University of Miami. The hotel's location, only five miles from downtown Miami and seven miles from Miami International Airport (MIA), makes it easy to enjoy the best of the area. The campus of the University of Miami is a favorite of the hotel's guests. Catch a ride to nearby attractions on the Miami Metrorail at University Station just across the street. Discover a shopper's paradise at Dadeland Mall, the Shops at Sunset Place and CocoWalk in breathtaking Coconut Grove. The hotel's location, just 25 minutes from the Port of Miami, is ideal for cruise-goers. Corporate guests can work efficiently with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Getting to meetings is a breeze since we're close to downtown Coral Gables and the Dadeland - Daytran business area. Our Coral Gables hotel is also near medical centers, including Baptist Health South Florida headquarters, Doctors Hospital and South Miami Hospital. Guests appreciate the beautiful, landscaped courtyard and patio and a well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy perks like free scheduled area shuttle. There's an on-site barber shop for your convenience. Book now and enjoy a sensational stay in the Miami - Coral Gables area as our special hotel's guest.

Hotel Map

25.7128 -80.2781
Nearby airports
Ft. Lauderdale, (FLL), 31.29, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 7.00, MI; Tamiami Airport, (TMB), 12.50, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Toucans Restaurant
Toucan's Restaurant, specializing in local and international cuisine. Kids 12 yrs and under eat free with a paying adult. Room Service is not available from 11:00am to 5:00pm. Lounge Area available from 5:30pm to 10:30pm.
Toucans Lounge
Full service bar area with Plasma TV’s surrounded by sofas and chairs for ample setting. While having your favorite beverage you can unwind watching our flat screen TV. Restaurant and room service hours are: 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Breakfast and 5:00 p.m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scarsdale
Feb 21, 2010

Visiting UMiami

Very old hotel, horrible looking hallway, in great need of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scarsdale
Feb 21, 2010

Visiting UMiami

Very old hotel, horrible looking hallway, in great need of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barbaras32
Plantation fl
Jan 24, 2014

terrible

Paid for room in advance and upon arrival informed no rooms because of plumbing priblem...Sent us to Hampton Inn which was $40 cheaper....we got no refund. Never ever go to holiday Inn again. Informed by Hampton this happen s frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wise traveler
Business
California
Feb 16, 2012

Do not stay in that hotel no matter what!

The location is good but it is not worthy to stay in a dirty hotel like this. We have bed bugs in our room. The carpet at the entire hotel smells bad. No hot water on the lavatory. On the shower, yes. The staff was nice. My daughter and I stayed for two nights and we couldn't stand the smell of the carpet. We frick-out with the bed bugs. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Calle 8 and you can find affordable Cuban meals.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hoosier Traveller
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 21, 2010

Seen better, seen worse

Seems like it might have been nice about 15 years ago. Too many corners cut and and too many old or outdated furnishings. Location is good - right on US1 and within walking distance to University of Miami campus - but nothing impressive about the rooms or the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks from the University of Miami campus.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
don429
Hopkins, MN, USA
Mar 27, 2012

difficult three nights in coral gables, fl

We were put in a handicapped room, so our clothes were dragging on the floor in the "closet", and the bathroom floor was always wet from the handicapped shower. Had to call security the first night because of noise. The carpet was so dirty, our white socks were black within five minutes. Shower water was only warm. The lights in the bathroom shorted out on the second morning, so we had to get ready in the dark. Called the front desk right away, but when we returned at the end of the day, they still weren't fixed and we had to call again. Phone in room didn't work throughout the three days. The accounting department said they would send us an e-mail itemizing our restaurant charges because their computers were down when we checked out. They never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hoosier Traveller
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 21, 2010

Seen better, seen worse

Seems like it might have been nice about 15 years ago. Too many corners cut and and too many old or outdated furnishings. Location is good - right on US1 and within walking distance to University of Miami campus - but nothing impressive about the rooms or the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks from the University of Miami campus.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Jean
Waynesville, OH
Jan 8, 2014

Family visit

Hotel staff was helpful, we arrived late and tired. We asked for recommendations for food(fast and cheap) and extra blankets. They were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quietmonkey
Philadelphia
Jun 1, 2009

Holiday inn-relax

The hotel offers a lot of amenities which I considered very good for the price. The Breakfast was not that great. I woke up at 9:30 and started buffet breakfast at 10:AM. The food was cold, but the restaurant staffs were very polite and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

from Miami University. Do not order food from vendors other than the Hotel. I stayed in and ordered food from one of the fliers left behind the room door and it was a bad experience. Expensive and low quality.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MPT Soccer Mom
New Jersey
Nov 2, 2013

Fantastic if Visiting Univ. Miami

This hotel is perfect if you are visiting Univ. Miami and traveling back and forth to the Campus. We were in town for an overnight stay for soccer and the hotel is less than 1/2 mile from stadium and in a very safe location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top