$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
57 reviews
Fabulous mattress!

Not only was the staff incredibly helpful, but the mattress was hands-down the best I have slept... See full review

  • Scenicgrrl
  • Sep 13, 2014
Great value and location

Comfortable and friendly. Good location University of Miami right across the street. See full review

  • docwatson6
  • Aug 7, 2014
Coral Gables Miami Area Hotel's Location is Near University Coral Gables and nearby Miami offer an exhilarating array of Florida highlights for the guests of the Holiday Inn® Hotel Coral Gables - University of Miami. The hotel's location, only five miles from downtown Miami and seven miles from Miami International Airport (MIA), makes it easy to enjoy the best of the area. The campus of the University of Miami is a favorite of the hotel's guests. Catch a ride to nearby attractions on the Miami Metrorail at University Station just across the street. Discover a shopper's paradise at Dadeland Mall, the Shops at Sunset Place and CocoWalk in breathtaking Coconut Grove. The hotel's location, just 25 minutes from the Port of Miami, is ideal for cruise-goers. Corporate guests can work efficiently with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Getting to meetings is a breeze since we're close to downtown Coral Gables and the Dadeland - Daytran business area. Our Coral Gables hotel is also near medical centers, including Baptist Health South Florida headquarters, Doctors Hospital and South Miami Hospital. Guests appreciate the beautiful, landscaped courtyard and patio and a well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy perks like free scheduled area shuttle. There's an on-site barber shop for your convenience. Book now and enjoy a sensational stay in the Miami - Coral Gables area as our special hotel's guest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Toucans Restaurant
Toucan's Restaurant, specializing in local and international cuisine. Kids 12 yrs and under eat free with a paying adult. Room Service is not available from 11:00am to 5:00pm. Lounge Area available from 5:30pm to 10:30pm.
Toucans Lounge
Full service bar area with Plasma TV’s surrounded by sofas and chairs for ample setting. While having your favorite beverage you can unwind watching our flat screen TV. Restaurant and room service hours are: 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Breakfast and 5:00 p.m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 27, 2008

Close to the University of Miami

The Holiday Inn at Coral Gables-University of Miami was very comfortable. The location for my son who was accepted to the university was perfect, which was within walking distance. The pool was exceptional mainly because of the location and cleanliness. The employees were all nice and the restuarant was conveinant and cozy. The dinner was good. I would stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of restaurants including fast food. The CVS a couple of blocks down the street is open 24 hours. The Fridays restaurant is suppose to be filled with alot of university students on Friday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 21, 2008

friendly,convenient, economical base when visiting Coral Gables

Holiday Inn Coral Gables is very convenient when visiting Coral Gables. Rooms while Spartan are clean, otherwise well appointed with all the amenities. Breakfast in their dining room is as good as any 4-5 star hotel, minus ther champagne. This is a great value when visiting South Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Coconut Grove with Bohemian flare has plenty of fun bistros, live entertainment. Scenic bike trails are in adjacent Pinecrest, and upscale shopping in downtown Coral Gables is only a short drive. The University of Miami is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WilsonS440
Business
Lancaster, PA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

lovely hotel

My husband and I love holiday inn, but this one was even nicer than other ones. The lobby and Pool area were beautiful! The room was clean and the bed so comfy! Our only complaints are that the fitness area and the tiny tv in the room were outdated, and no free breakfast :( other than that we were very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince from Jersey
Business
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Sep 22, 2012

Loved It

Checked in and was treated extremely well. Staff at the desk was courteous and nice. Quite literally right across from the University of Miami. Room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset Plaza has really great movie theater and love the Buffalo Wild Wings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Ertu Sevsay
Business
Vienna, Austria
Oct 6, 2013

Very pleasant stay

My past stays were not always pleasant due to the university kids who were also staying there and making too much noise. However, this time I requested the hotel management to reserve a quite room for me. I was very happy with my room where I spent 9 nights. The breakfast was very good. (I had to pay extra for the breakfast but it was very reasonable.) The sales manager Yonne Mendez and the other staff members were very kind and helpful. As a visiting professor at the Univ. of Miami I have already recommended this hotel to my colleagues coming from abroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
May 20, 2007

I feel that Holiday Inn ...

I feel that Holiday Inn at Coral Gables was very Under rated!!! perfect location for traveling to main tourist attractions, very clean rooms & great resturant! I will always Request this Location in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sruti
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 6, 2007

Hassle-free stay at hotel

the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a CVS within walking distance, which was convenient for random items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thomasville
Oct 12, 2008

Very accommodating staff

We got to Miami in the morning and asked to check in early. That was no problem for this staff!. We checked in and then headed out to meet my son. It had been raining earlier, and the front desk staff asked if I'd like an umbrella (just in case). I couldn't believe how nice they were. It's been a long time since I stayed in a hotel where they cared about the customer!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2007

Good Value

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables was more than I expected. The king size bed was a nice plus as were the amenities of pool,fitness center and beauty salon. The granite in the bathroom was another unexpected plus - I was expecting standard accomodations. The location was excellent-right on US 1 and therefore within an easy commute of everything: dining, shopping, nightlife, entertainment. For the money, I would definitely stay there again and have already recommended this hotel to several friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pontiac
Dec 18, 2008

Great Location

This Hotel was great, my son was at the University of Miami Hospital and this location was better than I thought. I stood on my balcony and looked right at the Hospital. The staff was great and very helpful to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top