$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
56 reviews
Fabulous mattress!

Not only was the staff incredibly helpful, but the mattress was hands-down the best I have slept... See full review

  • Scenicgrrl
  • Sep 13, 2014
Great value and location

Comfortable and friendly. Good location University of Miami right across the street. See full review

  • docwatson6
  • Aug 7, 2014
Coral Gables Miami Area Hotel's Location is Near University Coral Gables and nearby Miami offer an exhilarating array of Florida highlights for the guests of the Holiday Inn® Hotel Coral Gables - University of Miami. The hotel's location, only five miles from downtown Miami and seven miles from Miami International Airport (MIA), makes it easy to enjoy the best of the area. The campus of the University of Miami is a favorite of the hotel's guests. Catch a ride to nearby attractions on the Miami Metrorail at University Station just across the street. Discover a shopper's paradise at Dadeland Mall, the Shops at Sunset Place and CocoWalk in breathtaking Coconut Grove. The hotel's location, just 25 minutes from the Port of Miami, is ideal for cruise-goers. Corporate guests can work efficiently with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Getting to meetings is a breeze since we're close to downtown Coral Gables and the Dadeland - Daytran business area. Our Coral Gables hotel is also near medical centers, including Baptist Health South Florida headquarters, Doctors Hospital and South Miami Hospital. Guests appreciate the beautiful, landscaped courtyard and patio and a well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy perks like free scheduled area shuttle. There's an on-site barber shop for your convenience. Book now and enjoy a sensational stay in the Miami - Coral Gables area as our special hotel's guest.

Hotel Map

25.7128 -80.2781
Nearby airports
Ft. Lauderdale, (FLL), 31.29, MI, S; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 7.00, MI, E; Tamiami Airport, (TMB), 12.50, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BankUnited Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Toucans Restaurant
Toucan's Restaurant, specializing in local and international cuisine. Kids 12 yrs and under eat free with a paying adult. Room Service is not available from 11:00am to 5:00pm. Lounge Area available from 5:30pm to 10:30pm.
Toucans Lounge
Full service bar area with Plasma TV’s surrounded by sofas and chairs for ample setting. While having your favorite beverage you can unwind watching our flat screen TV. Restaurant and room service hours are: 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Breakfast and 5:00 p.m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wise traveler
Business
California
Feb 16, 2012

Do not stay in that hotel no matter what!

The location is good but it is not worthy to stay in a dirty hotel like this. We have bed bugs in our room. The carpet at the entire hotel smells bad. No hot water on the lavatory. On the shower, yes. The staff was nice. My daughter and I stayed for two nights and we couldn't stand the smell of the carpet. We frick-out with the bed bugs. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Calle 8 and you can find affordable Cuban meals.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WilsonS440
Lancaster, PA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

lovely hotel

My husband and I love holiday inn, but this one was even nicer than other ones. The lobby and Pool area were beautiful! The room was clean and the bed so comfy! Our only complaints are that the fitness area and the tiny tv in the room were outdated, and no free breakfast :( other than that we were very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sacramento ca
Mar 24, 2011

suprisingly good

I found it be a suprisingly nice hotel. The staff were friendly; nice lobby and resturant; and very nice pool. I chose the hotel for it's location close to the airport;Key Biscayne; beaches;university,etc. I read a lot of bad reviews, but did find them justified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 27, 2011

Great Hotel - Friendly People

We have stayed at this hotel before, and we love it. the physical appearance is somewhat old and dated, but it is always clean. the food in the restaurant is great. The real selling point is the friendliness of the staff - they are always helpful, and seem genuinely happy to help whenever you need them. It's our favorite hotel in Miami, especially with a child studying at the U. of Miami (located directly across the street)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbury, NY
Feb 25, 2011

Across University of Miami

Clean, suited our needs while visiting the University of Miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Visiting UMiami"
Detroit, Michigan
Feb 23, 2011

Our Trip to University of Miami

We traveled to Miami so my daughter could visit the University of Miami. The [...]ratings for the Holiday Inn UM were all of the map so we made reservations with some concern. We arrived late Sunday evening. The hotel's renovation was apparently completed or at least the floor we stayed at was and it was a very pleasant stay. The front desk was very helpful and the hotel restaurant which we ate breakfast at was good. The pool is decent size and nice too. At $135/night, probably a decent value compared to other hotels within walking distant from the University. Only negative I can think of is that the heating/cooling units are the window mounted version so it can be a bit noisy. If we go back, I would still look around [...]for other hotels, but this hotel would be a very strong contender.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street(s) (Dixie & Ponce de Leon which are parallel to each other) from the University and close to many restaurants within walking distance as well as a nice shopping mall. It is also close to the Metro Rail and for $5.00, you can get an all day pass. We took the rail 2 stops north to Coconut Grove and had a nice time. CG is full of nice restaurants and stores.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Lucca
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 7, 2011

HIUM - your home!

Familiar, nice, acessible! I had been there for 12 nights and miss a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

very confortable, front desk guys really cool!

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hoosier Traveller
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 21, 2010

Seen better, seen worse

Seems like it might have been nice about 15 years ago. Too many corners cut and and too many old or outdated furnishings. Location is good - right on US1 and within walking distance to University of Miami campus - but nothing impressive about the rooms or the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks from the University of Miami campus.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Psychologist who loves travelling
Puerto Rico
Dec 2, 2010

Located in the middle of nowhere.

Hotel people where very niece, but the location was terrible. Spend a lot of money in taxis, since the train station was far from the hotel.Will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Viscaya Museum. Dinne at Pascal at PONCE DE LEON AVE. at Coral Gables, a French Restaurant.

Review of Holiday Inn CORAL GABLES - UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
LONDON
Oct 7, 2010

GOOD VALUE, GOOD SERVICE

THE HOTEL WAS PERFECTLY SITUATED ON I 95 FOR WHAT I WANTED TO DO. THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND CREATED A GOOD ATMOSPHERE: RECEPTION, BAR AND RESTAURANT; A GOOD TEAM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search