$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Sheraton Sand Key Resort

4 stars
1160 Gulf Blvd, Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
91 reviews
Relaxing couples getaway

The staff was really great at this hotel. It was hassle free and a very relaxing experience. The... See full review

  • Kris1215
  • Apr 18, 2014
Fun get away!

The Hotel was more than we could have hoped for! We were looking for a place with a pool, beach... See full review

  • The Unger's
  • Sep 16, 2013
Mediterranean style on Clearwater Beach

Stroll white sand beaches and swim in the Gulf's blue waters at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. Set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views, the resort is a hotspot where guests congregate to watch the cost's famous sunsets. This Mediterranean-style resort sits on 10 acres of private beach featuring cabanas, beach chairs and Waverunners. The lush Florida landscape surrounding the hotel is perfect for shelling or spotting nesting turtles. Active travelers can try their hand at tennis on the hotel's all-weather courts.

Highlights
  • Three lighted all-weather tennis courts
  • Fully-equipped Suncoast Fitness Center with Cybex fitness technology
  • Massage therapists offer Swedish or hot stone massages (fees apply)
  • Grand Ballroom offers room for 1,200 people and an on-site wedding consultant
Rooms

Sheraton Sand Key Resort offers 375 rooms. Guests can opt for two queens or one queen bed in the smoke-free rooms. Amenities include a 37-inch flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board and in-room wireless Internet (fees apply). The hotel features fifteen specialty suites located on the top floor with 760 square feet of living space (living and dining room as one large area) and 42-inch flat-screen TV.

Features

A concierge at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort can arrange afternoon scuba diving, parasailing or jet skiing. The property features restaurants, including Rusty's Bistro, classic Caribbean food (open for breakfast at 7 a.m.) and the Island Grille, a family-friendly stop for coconut shrimp and hamburgers. Enjoy late-night bonding at the Mainstay Tavern. On-site rentals are available for parasailing, jet skiing or kayaking.

Transportation
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (30 minutes)
  • Tampa International Airport (45 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Sunken Gardens  (16.2 mi/26.1 km )
  • Tropicana Field (16.8 mi/27 km )
  • The Pier (17.6 mi/28.4 km )
  • Salvador Dali Museum (17.7 mi/28.6 km )
Business

The venue has facilities for a convention, conference or dream destination wedding with 14 meeting rooms and more than 24,000 square feet of function space.

Hotel Map

27.9532 -82.8292
Area served
Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, Largo, New Port Richey, Pinellas Park, Seminole, St. Petersburg, Tampa, Tarpon Springs
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 18.05, MI;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Sand Key Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sheraton Sand Key Resort Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Heated pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Feb 28, 2011

Wonderful location!

Hotel was booked out what might explain that I didn't experience the usually high end service I get as a Starwood Platinum Card holder. Good family hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
somerset, wi.
Jan 3, 2011

nice beach, below average hotel!!!!

We loved the beach, walked out the hotel and their you were, Awesome. The parking was free and always room. The major downfall was the hotel. The hallways had wallpaper from the 80's. Totally outdated, no refridgerator, no microwave, bathroom was soooooo small! After major begging for a oceanview room, and explaining we were there only for the beach, a oceanview room just mysteriously popped up! The beds were comfortable but saw them without the sheets,nasty yellow and gross!!!!!!! The gym was $7 a day, not included in the hotel price. The dining room was beautiful and delicious! Staff slow and unattentive, especially breakfast staff. Our waiter said he was going out for a smoke break to another waitress! I died! The hotub was nice, the overaged unfriendly towel men were not kind. Came to hottub and said we were 1 over the limit! I think the entire staff from desk to waitstaff to restaurant really needs to be asked if they want to be in customer servie, because none of them except the bell hops went above and beyond. With the economy the way it is, i think your hotel needs a overhaul from staff to makeover! p.s. once agian, the beach is amazing!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Dec 29, 2010

Extremely Disappointed In Facilities

[...]When we came back from dinner the first night, the door to my mother's hotel room would not open. It was jammed somehow, and she could not get in. We had to call maintenance to get us into the room. It seems that the safety latch hinge was not securely screwed into the door, had come loose, and caught so that the door could not open. Maintenance had to ram it with his shoulder, and break the hinge to get in the room. Maintenance had to be called again because after the repair, the door would not shut and close without force.The next afternoon, the hinge caught again, and maintenance, again, had to come repair the door, because she could not get in the room. Again, maintenance had to force his way in, because the door had jammed, and would not open.At that same time, I had called guest services to request a roll-away bed. I was told one would be sent right up. After the door was repaired, I realized that no cot had arrived. Two hours had passed since I had called for a roll-away bed. After a second call to guest services about the missing roll-away, it finally arrived. Guest services didn't realize it had never been delivered.The third night, when we turned up the heat in my mother's room, a burning smell filled the room. The smell was so bad that it was obvious in the hallway, and in the adjoining room. I expected to see smoke pouring out of the heater because the smell was so bad. Maintenance was called, and upon his inspection said the unit had "froze up," and would not shut off, and had burnt the heating coil. The entire heating/cooling unit had to be removed from the wall, and another unit wheeled in and inserted into the wall. The smell lingered, and not having heat, plus having to go to the other room during the repairs was really inconvenient.On the fourth night of our stay, the heating unit in my room went out. Same thing - horrible burning smell. Again, maintenance had to come to the room, and assess the situation. The entire unit required replacement. Once again, we had to move to the other room, wait for the unit to be replaced, and deal with a horrible smell.During our vacation, my daughter needed cold medicine. A box of cold meds at the hotel was $13.00. Antidiarrheal medicine at the hotel was also $13.00. My daughter, my mother, and I all have dietary restrictions. My daughter and my mother both have to watch their sodium intake. I have gluten-intolerance, and become very ill if I eat anything that contains flour or gluten. Nowadays, these types of dietary restrictions are quite common. A few years ago, I had a terrible time finding gluten-free items, but today, restaurants offer full menus of gluten-free foods. And, there are a lot of people, of all ages, in the U.S. who have to watch their sodium intake.So, when I knew we were staying at a restaurant, who employed highly-acclaimed chefs, I just knew I was going to enjoy eating on this vacation. I was sadly mistaken. I could not find anything on the menu that I could eat for dinner that was identified as gluten-free. I personally spoke with one of the chefs at the hotel, and he thought there were only 2 or 3 dinner items that were gluten-free. No one, not even the chef, could tell me if there was gluten in the scrambed eggs offered on the breakfast buffet which was part of the room price. A restaurant server could tell me that the eggs were a liquid mixture, and not purely scrambled eggs. I was extremely frustrated as I reserved these rooms with the understanding that the breakfast buffet was included with the price of the room. If I wanted to make sure I didn't have gluten in my eggs, I was going to have to special order freshly made eggs, and pay for them. I refused to spend more money when I had already paid for breakfast.I found nothing at the hotel that was identified low sodium, or healthy, or provided any information as to the ingredients of the items on the menu.All in all, I was really disappointed, as is prob...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Florida Aquarium in Tampa, FL, was also a disappoinment. We had heard such great things, but didn't see what the praise is all about. All the demonstrations are not visible to children, and require either watching a closed-captioned TV monitor, or putting your kids on your shoulders with binoculars. Nothing is clearly marked, so if a staff suggests that you go see the penguin demonstration, and points toward a door, good luck finding your way. There are no signs anywhere that point to any demonstrations, or what kind of marine life is located in what areas. Sorry, but for me, calling an area "wetlands" doesn't clarify what kind of marine life is showcased there.

Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Oct 19, 2010

Great experience, just what was needed.

The whole trip was great. The lone issue was the bed in hotel. It was lumpy and created back aches. Overall Hotel experience was very good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Aug 30, 2010

Another great stay @ Sheraton Sand Keys

Another great stay for us @ the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. Staff is attentive to your needs and the beach is stunning. The gulf @ its finest! Make sure you take advantage of the "shower room" when you check out. If you check out and have them hold your bags, you can enjoy the beach and pool for the day. But before leaving the hotel offers a fully stocked hotel room for you to shower and change in. Complete with shampoo, soap, towels, etc. This gives you an "extra" day at no charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angiemom
Tampa, FL
Aug 16, 2010

We had a wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. There were three resturaunts on site which made meal easy and fun. Staff was particularly friendly and the hotel rooms were tidy and well appointed. It was a little noisy there as the walls are a little thin and that would be my only complaint. The outdoor area around the pool was huge with lots of places to sit in the shade and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel is a little overpriced and there aren't any fridges in the rooms and there arent any grocery stores close. Pack a few snacks and lunch-type food that you can take out for a picnic on the beach that doesnt need refrigeration so you dont have to eat all of the meals in the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Union City, New Jersey
Aug 2, 2010

Fantastic family getaway.

We enjoyed our stay tremendously. My husband was surprised being in Florida there were no Spanish TV channels (Univision or Telemundo) he likes to watch his NOVELA (spanish soap opera) at nite. Everyone in the hotel was very polite and friendly. We would definitely return perhaps in the cooler months so we could do more sightseeing. It was extremely hot to be outside for too long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed all meals at the hotel, but if you are looking for Spanish cuisine I would recommend Columbia Restaurant across the street the food was delicious.

Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Jul 6, 2010

Nice for a quick weekend getaway

We really liked the location-the staff was very polite and helpful. It rained the entire vacation and they thoughtfully put out puzzles and indoor games for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place for breakfast across the street in the stip mall called Maggie Mae's. It was diner-like and had great prices.

Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 5, 2010

Sheraton Sand Key

It rained the entire July 4th W/E. This hotel like most others in the area did not offer any reservations which someone could cancel. It is a very nice beach property, with excellent staff and service. The walls are thin and sound could be an issue. Our neighbors, were very loud with little kids but they were not up late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, NY
Jun 30, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway

We will be returning to this hotel & will bring the kids on the next trip. Room service was great and the food delivered was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was very close. The sand was almost at the back door. The beach seemed private. Only hotel guest in the water. You can see lots of people in the distance but they stayed there which left plenty of good spots near the water for everyone.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search