$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Sheraton Sand Key Resort

4 stars
View map of 1160 Gulf Blvd., 1160 Gulf Blvd., Clearwater Beach, FL 33767

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Unger's
Business
Orlando
Sep 16, 2013

Fun get away!

The Hotel was more than we could have hoped for! We were looking for a place with a pool, beach front access, entertainment and a fitness faciltiy. We found all of that here and more! We have learned that when a Hotel shows pictures of the Fitness facility you can hope for about half of that to be true. This fitness center was top notch! Clean and brand new equipment! Excellent hours! If you love the out doors, bring your Bike's and/or your running/walking shoes! There are trails at the park next door and side walks every where! We choose this Hotel because my Husbnd was going to be gone for several hours on Saturday and I would be without a vehichle. We were hoping I would have everything I would need right there without having to leave the Resort and I did! Restraunt's, Tiki Bar, Gift Shop, Fitness Center! Best of all we were able to walk to even more Restraunt's and Shopping! One thing we really apprecaited about the Sheraton was that we did not feel that we were get nickle and dimed for everything! Several places we have stayed they charge for everything! Parking etc... By the time you go to check out you have another $100.00 worth of charges you were not expecting. That leaves you feeling badly about the place. Although ALL of the staff was extremely helpful, one employee stands out the most "NATE" who is the Bartender, he's awesome! We had dinner at the Bar both nights becasue we enjoyed his company! He was so knowledgable about the area and the Resort! He spoke highly of the Sheridan and all of his Co Wokers! We found out later that he has been with the Sheraton for 11 years! If that doesn't speak loud and clear of an establishment I don't know what does! See you soon! Doug and Lori

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Miriam
Business
Virginia
Sep 6, 2013

BAD EXPERIENCE

The hotel did not exhibit what I would consider a full service Sheraton. The hotel room had a hideous view. Although it faced the front, you could not overlook the large air conditioning units covering the entire view. Loud and very ugly. The bathroom in our hotel room was extremely small. We went to this place to celebrate my birthday and my aniversary, but they didn't have any courtesy with us. Hotel was a big disappointment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emek
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 11, 2013

Nice on the quieter side

Enjoyed the stay. Little overpriced, but clean and comfortable. Wish there was a fridge in the room and a coffee shop. Beach little far away, but quiet, sort of private.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boaterdude
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 31, 2012

Great vacation spot

This is not a new facility, but is remodeled and very clean. Staff was wonderful. From the maids to the front desk to the bartenders and pool guy, all super friendly and helpful. Great location to visit all of Clearwater, and the other beaches like St. Pete, the state parks and even Tarpon Springs. Tampa is easy to get to. Walk to great restaurant (Columbia). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbia restaurant across and down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
empressellen
Business
Tappahannock, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Great Break!

Came down for a few days for a friend's birthday. Staff could not be friendlier/more helpful. Room was fine. Enjoyed the pool. Property is gulf-front but it's quite a walk from the pool to the water. Beautiful beach, we walked it in the mornings and spent afternoons at the pool. Did not eat on the this property but many wonderful restaurants in the area. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Columbia Restaurant is just down and across the street, and we cannot recommend it highly enough!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimmers from Mo
Business
Missouri
Jul 17, 2012

Post Cruise Stay

Wonderful! We arrived just after our ship ported in Tampa. We were able to check in early. 11:00AM! Clean room with exceptional customer service. Nice beach and relaxing pool and bar. Our balcony faced the beautiful coast and we watched the most spectacular sunset! This was my second stay and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Maes is a short walk south of the hotel. Delicious breakfast! Very reasonable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hnymooner
Business
Kansas City
Jul 16, 2012

Let down.

When we got to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort the exterior was attractive, but as soon as we entered it was obvious that the hotel needs remodeling. The lobby was simple, not the quality of a four-star hotel. One thing that really brought the class down was the carpeting on the upper floors. The colors were faded and the carpet bunched up as we walked. This looked extremely bad! In our room the shower's water turned cold for about 15 seconds every time we showered. It was also upsetting that our room did not have a mini fridge. I suppose the purpose is to keep guests from buying their own food and therefore forcing them to eat in the hotel restaurants. One of the best things about a hotel stay is a continental breakfast. If you want one don't stay here! I have stayed at extremely nice hotels that provide a complimentary breakfast, so it isn't only for Holiday Inns etc. Finally, if you want a hotel to take your breath away look elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Slicker Beach Bum
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2012

Definitely a family hotel, but still great for a young couple

My girlfriend and I wanted some sun and a trip away from the stresses of NYC. The place is full of families with young children but the beach was quiet and well maintained... And you can walk to plenty of bars and restaurant that attract younger crowds. The hotel has nice grounds and a friendly staff. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lalagirl loveslife
Business
Orlando, fl
Jul 5, 2012

Average for quite a price!

First off I was expecting a tall hotel that surrounded the beach but when we arrived, I was shocked to see a small place! Not only that. Our room we booked was tiny for $200+ per night(we had booked 3 rooms). even my mother was disappointed in some what way about the crowded room. Now we went for a beach getaway and we saw the beach was right by the pool and mind I say the walk was a long walk front the pool to the beach? But the staff and hotel services was wonderful and nice which really made it all worth it, just wished it was roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Carpenter
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 11, 2012

Pool Police

The food was 2nd rate. Ate off the resort it was amazing. Had to walk to the other side of hotel to get a burger. That 's not service. "The Resort" is a Conference Centre in my eyes. Beds are hard. The guys working in the pool area kept asking people to move there chairs, due to "safety reasons". For a clear run to the beach, where is the Emergency Beach Access, through the pool area? Come on , you kidding me. I don't want someone telling me where to put my chair, when I am on vacation, and spending that kind of money. At the resort across the road, which I had drinks at, they did not ask their guest to move there chairs . Big waste of money. Very disappointed how we were treated. I will never return to Sand Key "Resort". Good luck with all those Conferences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill amazing place to eat ! In Bellair Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top