$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 7, 2015

Sheraton Sand Key Resort

4 stars
1160 Gulf Blvd., 1160 Gulf Blvd., Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Awesome!

We loved this hotel and will be back. Very nice two bedroom suite. Full breakfast in the morning... See full review

  • First Starlord
  • Oct 14, 2014
Relaxing couples getaway

The staff was really great at this hotel. It was hassle free and a very relaxing experience. The... See full review

  • Kris1215
  • Apr 18, 2014
Mediterranean style on Clearwater Beach

Stroll white sand beaches and swim in the Gulf's blue waters at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. Set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views, the resort is a hotspot where guests congregate to watch the cost's famous sunsets. This Mediterranean-style resort sits on 10 acres of private beach featuring cabanas, beach chairs and Waverunners. The lush Florida landscape surrounding the hotel is perfect for shelling or spotting nesting turtles. Active travelers can try their hand at tennis on the hotel's all-weather courts.

Highlights
  • Three lighted all-weather tennis courts
  • Fully-equipped Suncoast Fitness Center with Cybex fitness technology
  • Massage therapists offer Swedish or hot stone massages (fees apply)
  • Grand Ballroom offers room for 1,200 people and an on-site wedding consultant
Rooms

Sheraton Sand Key Resort offers 375 rooms. Guests can opt for two queens or one queen bed in the smoke-free rooms. Amenities include a 37-inch flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board and in-room wireless Internet (fees apply). The hotel features fifteen specialty suites located on the top floor with 760 square feet of living space (living and dining room as one large area) and 42-inch flat-screen TV.

Features

A concierge at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort can arrange afternoon scuba diving, parasailing or jet skiing. The property features restaurants, including Rusty's Bistro, classic Caribbean food (open for breakfast at 7 a.m.) and the Island Grille, a family-friendly stop for coconut shrimp and hamburgers. Enjoy late-night bonding at the Mainstay Tavern. On-site rentals are available for parasailing, jet skiing or kayaking.

Transportation
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (30 minutes)
  • Tampa International Airport (45 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Sunken Gardens  (16.2 mi/26.1 km )
  • Tropicana Field (16.8 mi/27 km )
  • The Pier (17.6 mi/28.4 km )
  • Salvador Dali Museum (17.7 mi/28.6 km )
Business

The venue has facilities for a convention, conference or dream destination wedding with 14 meeting rooms and more than 24,000 square feet of function space.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Sand Key Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sheraton Sand Key Resort Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Poolside Café
Recharge after a day under the sun at the Poolside Café. Overlooking the resort’s picturesque pool, whirlpool, and private beach from a shaded deck, it offers an array of lunchtime favorites, snacks, and refreshments.
Mainstay Tavern
Bond over updated American cuisine, a full bar, and the big game in the Mainstay Tavern. Located in the lobby, our signature sports bar also features numerous flat screen TVs along with a pool table, laid-back atmosphere and more.
Island Grille
Soak up a side of sunshine with your meal at the Island Grille, where a family friendly menu of American favorites combines with a casual setting and expansive outdoor patio.
Rusty's Bistro
Meet for a mouthwatering meal any time of day at Rusty’s Bistro. Breakfast starts with a buffet of favorites while dinner combines classic recipes with the freshest local produce and seafood with live jazz—Thursday to Saturday.
Slo Joe's Turtle Bar
Recline beachside with friends, family, and a cool beverage from Slo Joe’s Turtle Bar. Situated poolside, it offers a variety of cold tropical drinks to keep you cool under the hot Florida sun.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Miriam
Business
Virginia
Sep 6, 2013

BAD EXPERIENCE

The hotel did not exhibit what I would consider a full service Sheraton. The hotel room had a hideous view. Although it faced the front, you could not overlook the large air conditioning units covering the entire view. Loud and very ugly. The bathroom in our hotel room was extremely small. We went to this place to celebrate my birthday and my aniversary, but they didn't have any courtesy with us. Hotel was a big disappointment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emek
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 11, 2013

Nice on the quieter side

Enjoyed the stay. Little overpriced, but clean and comfortable. Wish there was a fridge in the room and a coffee shop. Beach little far away, but quiet, sort of private.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boaterdude
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 31, 2012

Great vacation spot

This is not a new facility, but is remodeled and very clean. Staff was wonderful. From the maids to the front desk to the bartenders and pool guy, all super friendly and helpful. Great location to visit all of Clearwater, and the other beaches like St. Pete, the state parks and even Tarpon Springs. Tampa is easy to get to. Walk to great restaurant (Columbia). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbia restaurant across and down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
empressellen
Business
Tappahannock, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Great Break!

Came down for a few days for a friend's birthday. Staff could not be friendlier/more helpful. Room was fine. Enjoyed the pool. Property is gulf-front but it's quite a walk from the pool to the water. Beautiful beach, we walked it in the mornings and spent afternoons at the pool. Did not eat on the this property but many wonderful restaurants in the area. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Columbia Restaurant is just down and across the street, and we cannot recommend it highly enough!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimmers from Mo
Business
Missouri
Jul 17, 2012

Post Cruise Stay

Wonderful! We arrived just after our ship ported in Tampa. We were able to check in early. 11:00AM! Clean room with exceptional customer service. Nice beach and relaxing pool and bar. Our balcony faced the beautiful coast and we watched the most spectacular sunset! This was my second stay and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Maes is a short walk south of the hotel. Delicious breakfast! Very reasonable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hnymooner
Business
Kansas City
Jul 16, 2012

Let down.

When we got to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort the exterior was attractive, but as soon as we entered it was obvious that the hotel needs remodeling. The lobby was simple, not the quality of a four-star hotel. One thing that really brought the class down was the carpeting on the upper floors. The colors were faded and the carpet bunched up as we walked. This looked extremely bad! In our room the shower's water turned cold for about 15 seconds every time we showered. It was also upsetting that our room did not have a mini fridge. I suppose the purpose is to keep guests from buying their own food and therefore forcing them to eat in the hotel restaurants. One of the best things about a hotel stay is a continental breakfast. If you want one don't stay here! I have stayed at extremely nice hotels that provide a complimentary breakfast, so it isn't only for Holiday Inns etc. Finally, if you want a hotel to take your breath away look elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Slicker Beach Bum
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2012

Definitely a family hotel, but still great for a young couple

My girlfriend and I wanted some sun and a trip away from the stresses of NYC. The place is full of families with young children but the beach was quiet and well maintained... And you can walk to plenty of bars and restaurant that attract younger crowds. The hotel has nice grounds and a friendly staff. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lalagirl loveslife
Business
Orlando, fl
Jul 5, 2012

Average for quite a price!

First off I was expecting a tall hotel that surrounded the beach but when we arrived, I was shocked to see a small place! Not only that. Our room we booked was tiny for $200+ per night(we had booked 3 rooms). even my mother was disappointed in some what way about the crowded room. Now we went for a beach getaway and we saw the beach was right by the pool and mind I say the walk was a long walk front the pool to the beach? But the staff and hotel services was wonderful and nice which really made it all worth it, just wished it was roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Carpenter
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 11, 2012

Pool Police

The food was 2nd rate. Ate off the resort it was amazing. Had to walk to the other side of hotel to get a burger. That 's not service. "The Resort" is a Conference Centre in my eyes. Beds are hard. The guys working in the pool area kept asking people to move there chairs, due to "safety reasons". For a clear run to the beach, where is the Emergency Beach Access, through the pool area? Come on , you kidding me. I don't want someone telling me where to put my chair, when I am on vacation, and spending that kind of money. At the resort across the road, which I had drinks at, they did not ask their guest to move there chairs . Big waste of money. Very disappointed how we were treated. I will never return to Sand Key "Resort". Good luck with all those Conferences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill amazing place to eat ! In Bellair Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avid Vacationer
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Last Minute Trip

For a last minute trip (we booked the day before travel), this hotel was not bad. This hotel is at the "nicer" less college kids area of Clearwater Beach. If you are looking for a quite couples getaway, this is not it. The walls are thin and there are plenty of kids running up and down the hallways. The beach is a far walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top