$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Sandpearl Resort

4 stars
500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
75 reviews
Excellent stay at Sandpearl!

Everything was on point. One of the BEST hotel stays that I have ever experienced! I could go on... See full review

  • briannad22
  • Jul 14, 2014
Short Adult Getaway

Staff helpful & friendly, very positive attitudes. Stayed in a suite on the 7th floor, actually a... See full review

  • William819
  • Jun 25, 2014
Beachfront resort offers fine dining and a full roster of activities
Gorgeous Gulf views, supersoft sands and elegant dining make the Sandpearl Resort experience one to remember. Guests unwind at The Spa at Sandpearl, or keep themselves moving with sand volleyball or parasailing. Spend an afternoon at the lagoon-style pool, where a calming waterfall and shady cabana might be all it takes to keep some guests entertained. Camp Ridley is specially designed for kids, but grown-ups can take part in resort activities, too -- astronomy, art and cooking are all part of the Sandpearl Resort experience.
Highlights

  • Steps from the beach
  • Massage and body treatments at The Spa at Sandpearl
  • Camp Ridley for guests who are 5 to 11 years old
  • Astronomy Night co-sponsored by Tampa's Museum of Science and Industry

Rooms
Guests make themselves at home at the Sandpearl Resort, where each of 253 guest rooms and suites is designed to reflect the natural beauty of Clearwater Beach. Expect gorgeous views, up-to-date decor and fresh, clean spaces in this nonsmoking hotel. Numerous options are available, from Gulf view or Gulf front guest rooms to the 1,685-square-foot sunset deluxe suite. All feature flat-panel TVs, clock radios with MP3 docking stations, Wi-Fi, a mini bar and refrigerator.
Features

Whether guests want to do nothing or keep moving from dawn to dusk, they find what they're looking for at the Sandpearl Resort. A lagoon-style pool is surrounded by towering palm trees and plenty of lounges perfect for dozing the day away. For more privacy, slip under a poolside cabana.

 

Sandpearl Resort adventure-seekers find wave runners, parasailing and volleyball right on the beach. Just two blocks from the resort, the Clearwater Marina sets guests up with sunset sailing, dinner cruises, dolphin excursions and deep sea fishing.
Dining
Caretta on the Gulf offers beachfront fine dining that has earned the restaurant a AAA four diamond rating. Menu options change seasonally but always feature juicy steaks, as well as fresh, local seafood at the ceviche, sushi and raw bar.
Transportation

  • Saint Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Tampa International Airport (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Transportation services available 

Attractions

  • Clearwater Marine Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Salvador Dali Museum (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Downtown Tampa (22.2 mi/35.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (30.6 mi/48.2 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor function space
  • Two ballrooms and boardrooms with panoramic Gulf views
  • Banquet and catering service available

Policies and fees

  • Resort fee: $15 USD daily per room for full use of fitness center, local/toll free calls, daily newspaper, in-room coffee, in-room bottled water, in-room safe, wireless Internet access, shoe shine service, and business center.
  • Valet parking $16 USD per day. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandpearl Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sandpearl Resort Rooms

Bay View Guest Room
Bay View Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Bay View Room overlooks Mandalay Avenue and the surrounding seaside neighborhood and offers a partial view of Mandalay Bay. Each guest room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows to rest your head.
Coastal View Guest Room with Balcony
Coastal View Guest Room with Balcony offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Step out onto your private furnished balcony and enjoy the view of the surrounding seaside neighborhood and northern coastline. Each guest room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows
Gulf View Guest Room
Gulf View Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Soak up the sun on your private, furnished balcony overlooking our lagoon style pool with scenic views of the southern coastline and pier. Each Gulf View Room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows.
Gulf Front Guest Room
Gulf Front Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Enjoy the good life as you view spectacular sunsets from your private furnished balcony with direct view of the Gulf of Mexico and lagoon style pool. Each Gulf Front room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows.
Gulf Front Jr. Suite
Gulf Front Jr. Suite offers 1 King Bed. Each Gulf Front Junior Suites offers stunning views of the sugar white sand and clear blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy spectacular sunsets in 500 sq ft suite, featuring an open sitting area with a queen size sleeper sofa. Its deluxe bathroom offers a soaking tub and separate step in shower.
One Bedroom Resort Suite
One Bedroom Resort Suite: This suite is soon to be your home away from home. The spacious living area offers a queen size sleeper sofa, dining table for four, and a state of the art kitchen with full size, stainless steel appliances. Enjoy a little relaxation in king bedded master bedroom with a deluxe bathroom with jetted tub, separate step in shower and dual vanities. The suite also features a washer and dryer.
Two Bedroom Resort Suite
Two Bedroom Resort Suite: This suite is soon to be your home away from home. The spacious living area offers a queen size sleeper sofa, dining table for four, and a state of the art kitchen with full size, stainless steel appliances. Enjoy a little relaxation in king master bedroom with a deluxe bathroom with jetted tub, separate step in shower and dual vanities. The second bedroom offers two queen beds or one king bed. The suite also features a washer and dryer.
Gulf Front Accessible Guest Room
ADA compliant guest room with one king bed . Mobility accessible with bathtub with fold down seat and grab rails. ADA features include 18" high toliet, 48" switches,44" open vanity,27" knee space. ADA compliant rooms to be booked by guests with accessible needs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Dining

Caretta on the Gulf
Sandpearl Resort's signature dining experience. Seasonally inspired cuisine with infusions of international inspirations. A Ceviche & Sushi bar, indoor and outdoor seating with sweeping gulf views sets the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings.
Tate Island Grill
Provides guests a barefoot casual beachside setting to enjoy relaxing cuisine in the warmth of the Florida sun.
The Marketplace
Guests may venture to the Marketplace for fresh pastries and Starbuck's coffee before a day on the beach, or grab a fresh salad or sandwich to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Sandpearl Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 75
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADVERJAN
Business
memphis,TN
May 24, 2011

MY MONEY IS NO GOOD HERE!

Before confirming reservations on [...]I called the Sand Pearl resort to confirm I would be able to check in to my room before 11am on my check in date . I was told that I would be able to. Two months later I took the long 15 hour drive from Memphis,TN to Clearwater,FL to find that I was not able to check in before 11 am. I was tired and needed a shower and I was forced to roam Clearwater for hours waiting on check in. I was told my cell phone would be called when my room was ready.At 130pm after 5 hours of waiting I got frustrated and returned to the hotel to figure out when my room would be available. It was available but I never got a phone call. The person behind the desk told me I was lucky that I didnt have to wait until 4pm to check in when my reservations were for 11am. This hotel treated me so rudely and as if my money was no good to them. My last day of stay at the Sand Pearl after no accomidation or apology for my inconveniance I was informed that I could pay an extra 75$ to extend my stay to 4pm. This is the reason I was told I was lucky to not have to wait until 4pm to check in. I paid an extra large fee to recieve a ocean view blacony room. I did recieve a balcony however it overviewed a parking garage and garbage cans.What was supposed to be my romantic amazing vacation turned into a stressful not so amazing ordeal that caused me to need a whole new vacation. I will never stay in this hotel again nor recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly next door at the Clear Sky is the most amazing food beverages and service. Their staff is so knowledgable about the great places to visit around the island and the great deals you can get!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota,FL
Jul 1, 2011

not that great- not a 4-star

disappointed- I could have done much better with that price we paid. They should charge no more than $150/night. The lobby looked nice- but the surrounding looked ignored. Not sure why. Not kids freindly nor safe. I would stay across the street if I could. I would not pay this money again. Too many extra charges that all add up on top of the nightly stay. They do have good publicity coordinator. They upsell it more than it is worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M and C couple
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 5, 2013

Sand pearl

For the price paid at $300 plus per nite with a resort fee and required valet parking as the only option coupled with a staff that was plentiful but not genuine, this hotel is not a four star experience. And when we had a significant problem with valet that caused us to miss a dinner reservation across town, management did nothing out of the ordinary to recover with us. If you are going to Clearwater Beach choose the Hyatt Regency. We stayed there last year and will return there next year after this disappointing stay at Sandpearl Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clearsky cafe right next door is a hidden gem with great food and impeccable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2009

Sandpearl So-So

A good place, but with the view of the dumpster stations and of the adjoining dumpy hotels and a marginal view of the gulf. Not good enough for the money, could have gone elsewhere and had better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definately go to Frenchy's Rockaway Grill and have their renowned crab soup!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandywing
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great beach hotel

Very nice hotel. I've stayed here a few times, it's probably the nicest property on the Beach. Only two complaints: They could improve on their beds as they are a bit too firm. The service in the Carreta restaurant was slow. I think the staff was short handed. At least this was the case for breakfast/lunch. Also their uniform tops were looking a bit dingy with some visible stains. I noticed this on more than one of the wait staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask to park offsite if you don't mind a short walk. You'll save $20/day on the valet only parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner12
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great but pricey

We had a great time here. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was friendly and attentive. It's the best location in Clearwater for a beach vacation. Good day trips to Caledesi Island and Dunedin. The not so good: pricey. The rooms are a bit overpriced for what this is and then they tag you with $20 per day for valet parking--and of course a tip every time you take your car in or out. No washers so we sent out a normal load of laundry and dry cleaning: $200! If money is no object, this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Columbia restaurant for authentic Cuban fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Mark
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2012

Happy 20th Anniversary

my wife and I love Clearwater Beach and have been visiting for years. We enjoy the Sandpearl location, spa, access to beach, food and entertainment. For the most part, the staff is very good...but sometimes there is an attitude we don't appreciate. That said, we will return and look forward to a future stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchys has the best Grouper sandwiches on the beach! And Cooters has a great bar, awesome chicken wings and it's owned by a passionate Pittsburgh Steelers fan! Go Black and Gold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish Wants Adult Time
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 8, 2013

Great place. Crowded during the holidays.

My husband and I went back to the Sandpearl for the 4th of July after a nice trip in March. It was still a nice experience, but I would not recommend going during the holidays especially if you do not have children. Half a dozen five year olds in the hot tubs for hours without parental supervision gets to be a drag after a while. I just don’t think it’s a good idea to let little brains boil in hot water like that for long periods of time. Children seemed to have a great time. But, it was difficult for us to find a seat by the pool or the beach. Most of the chairs were “taken” with towels, but no one was actually sitting in the chairs for long periods of time. The staff tried to keep up, but they obviously couldn’t tell who was where and for how long. And, the bathroom by the pool was getting pretty gross after a while. We would have loved to get service by the pool, but they seem too busy trying to clean up after the messes left by the hordes of children. The pool staying open until 10:00pm was a nice touch. But, again, the hot tub was filled with kids even that late at night. The restaurants are nice and overall it’s a beautiful resort. But, they seem to cater more to families and kids rather than paying adults. We might go back, but we’ll stick to off peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cincy Beach Bum
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Aug 26, 2013

Perfect weekend trip!

The hotel is beautiful - nicely decorated, clean, and bright. The beach makes this place. It's phenomenal - quiet, clean, and adequately staffed (the gentelman who set out the chairs and cabanas each morning was so friendly#. We even swam near a few dolphins about 15 yards from the shore! The location of the hotel is also ideal. You can walk to the local restaurants #we loved both Forlini's (Italian# and Frenchy's #bar food)), a CVS, and a few souvenir shops. You really don't even need a car...which brings me to my only real complaint. The extra fees. The hotel only has valet parking, which costs an additional $20 per day. The hotel also charges a $25 resort fee for each day of your stay. This seems a bit silly to me. They should just fold that cost into the room rate. Overall, it was a great vacation. We'll definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Forlini's was amazing! Also, we loved Frenchy's on the beach. Fun atmosphere with live music and decent (bar) food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiMi2009
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 23, 2014

A Gem on a beautiful beach

Just came back from a week in Clearwater at the Sand Pearland lucked out with a warm sunny visit. This hotel is very nice, a child friendly pool set on a white sandy beach perfect for walking. One night they played a large screen movie "Wreck it Ralph" for children at the pool. We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and the hotel has provided a perfect setting in their two restaurants for viewing it. They have a nice gas fire pit on beach for roasting marshmallows! The restaurants are pricey but good food and they have a very nice wine list and with good drinks. My one complaint would be the bed pillows. Need to get better quality pillows, a good nights rest depends on it! Otherwise had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top