Sandpearl Resort

4 stars
500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
75 reviews
Excellent stay at Sandpearl!

Everything was on point. One of the BEST hotel stays that I have ever experienced! I could go on... See full review

  • briannad22
  • Jul 14, 2014
Short Adult Getaway

Staff helpful & friendly, very positive attitudes. Stayed in a suite on the 7th floor, actually a... See full review

  • William819
  • Jun 25, 2014
Beachfront resort offers fine dining and a full roster of activities
Gorgeous Gulf views, supersoft sands and elegant dining make the Sandpearl Resort experience one to remember. Guests unwind at The Spa at Sandpearl, or keep themselves moving with sand volleyball or parasailing. Spend an afternoon at the lagoon-style pool, where a calming waterfall and shady cabana might be all it takes to keep some guests entertained. Camp Ridley is specially designed for kids, but grown-ups can take part in resort activities, too -- astronomy, art and cooking are all part of the Sandpearl Resort experience.
Highlights

  • Steps from the beach
  • Massage and body treatments at The Spa at Sandpearl
  • Camp Ridley for guests who are 5 to 11 years old
  • Astronomy Night co-sponsored by Tampa's Museum of Science and Industry

Rooms
Guests make themselves at home at the Sandpearl Resort, where each of 253 guest rooms and suites is designed to reflect the natural beauty of Clearwater Beach. Expect gorgeous views, up-to-date decor and fresh, clean spaces in this nonsmoking hotel. Numerous options are available, from Gulf view or Gulf front guest rooms to the 1,685-square-foot sunset deluxe suite. All feature flat-panel TVs, clock radios with MP3 docking stations, Wi-Fi, a mini bar and refrigerator.
Features

Whether guests want to do nothing or keep moving from dawn to dusk, they find what they're looking for at the Sandpearl Resort. A lagoon-style pool is surrounded by towering palm trees and plenty of lounges perfect for dozing the day away. For more privacy, slip under a poolside cabana.

 

Sandpearl Resort adventure-seekers find wave runners, parasailing and volleyball right on the beach. Just two blocks from the resort, the Clearwater Marina sets guests up with sunset sailing, dinner cruises, dolphin excursions and deep sea fishing.
Dining
Caretta on the Gulf offers beachfront fine dining that has earned the restaurant a AAA four diamond rating. Menu options change seasonally but always feature juicy steaks, as well as fresh, local seafood at the ceviche, sushi and raw bar.
Transportation

  • Saint Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Tampa International Airport (17.9 mi/28.8 km)
  • Transportation services available 

Attractions

  • Clearwater Marine Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Salvador Dali Museum (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Downtown Tampa (22.2 mi/35.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (30.6 mi/48.2 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor function space
  • Two ballrooms and boardrooms with panoramic Gulf views
  • Banquet and catering service available

Policies and fees

  • Resort fee: $15 USD daily per room for full use of fitness center, local/toll free calls, daily newspaper, in-room coffee, in-room bottled water, in-room safe, wireless Internet access, shoe shine service, and business center.
  • Valet parking $16 USD per day. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandpearl Resort Rooms

Bay View Guest Room
Bay View Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Bay View Room overlooks Mandalay Avenue and the surrounding seaside neighborhood and offers a partial view of Mandalay Bay. Each guest room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows to rest your head.
Coastal View Guest Room with Balcony
Coastal View Guest Room with Balcony offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Step out onto your private furnished balcony and enjoy the view of the surrounding seaside neighborhood and northern coastline. Each guest room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows
Gulf View Guest Room
Gulf View Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Soak up the sun on your private, furnished balcony overlooking our lagoon style pool with scenic views of the southern coastline and pier. Each Gulf View Room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows.
Gulf Front Guest Room
Gulf Front Guest Room offers 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. Enjoy the good life as you view spectacular sunsets from your private furnished balcony with direct view of the Gulf of Mexico and lagoon style pool. Each Gulf Front room is appointed with luxurious linens and soft pillows.
Gulf Front Jr. Suite
Gulf Front Jr. Suite offers 1 King Bed. Each Gulf Front Junior Suites offers stunning views of the sugar white sand and clear blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy spectacular sunsets in 500 sq ft suite, featuring an open sitting area with a queen size sleeper sofa. Its deluxe bathroom offers a soaking tub and separate step in shower.
One Bedroom Resort Suite
One Bedroom Resort Suite: This suite is soon to be your home away from home. The spacious living area offers a queen size sleeper sofa, dining table for four, and a state of the art kitchen with full size, stainless steel appliances. Enjoy a little relaxation in king bedded master bedroom with a deluxe bathroom with jetted tub, separate step in shower and dual vanities. The suite also features a washer and dryer.
Two Bedroom Resort Suite
Two Bedroom Resort Suite: This suite is soon to be your home away from home. The spacious living area offers a queen size sleeper sofa, dining table for four, and a state of the art kitchen with full size, stainless steel appliances. Enjoy a little relaxation in king master bedroom with a deluxe bathroom with jetted tub, separate step in shower and dual vanities. The second bedroom offers two queen beds or one king bed. The suite also features a washer and dryer.
Gulf Front Accessible Guest Room
ADA compliant guest room with one king bed . Mobility accessible with bathtub with fold down seat and grab rails. ADA features include 18" high toliet, 48" switches,44" open vanity,27" knee space. ADA compliant rooms to be booked by guests with accessible needs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

27.9826 -82.8268
Area served
Clearwater Beach.
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport-18 miles-30 minute drive. St. Pete Airport-12 miles-15 minute drive. Limousine, shuttle and taxi service available.
Area description
Sandpearl Resort is located on Clearwater Beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Clearwater Beach is 25 miles west of Tampa, Florida.

Dining

Caretta on the Gulf
Sandpearl Resort's signature dining experience. Seasonally inspired cuisine with infusions of international inspirations. A Ceviche & Sushi bar, indoor and outdoor seating with sweeping gulf views sets the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings.
Tate Island Grill
Provides guests a barefoot casual beachside setting to enjoy relaxing cuisine in the warmth of the Florida sun.
The Marketplace
Guests may venture to the Marketplace for fresh pastries and Starbuck's coffee before a day on the beach, or grab a fresh salad or sandwich to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Sandpearl Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna the madre
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 24, 2013

Family Vacation gone wrong!

My mother and I traveled over 24 hours just to get to this hotel we were traveling from Pennsylvania. We had let them know months in advance that we would be early arrival which they told us that would be fine and that they would accommodate us. We arrived at the hotel around 11 and were notified we could not check in and had to wait. They took our luggage and told us they would let us know when it was available. They told us we could wait on the beach. We proceeded to the beach where we found chairs and umbrellas and were approached by someone telling us we had to pay 25$ extra if we wanted to continue to use the beach chairs & umbrella and that it was not included in our rooms package. Not only did we have to pay 25$ extra the chairs were filthy to the point of where I wouldn't even let my dog sit on one if he was there. FInally when we got to our room the kitchen that we were told was fully stocked didn't even have a coffee cup for me to drink out of. There also were no grocery stores located close by to get what we needed. So we would have to drive another 1hr just to get to a store. The beach was filthy, littered with debris, as well as the pool area. To get a cocktail in a timely fashion was out of the question. Also the tate island grill was "out to lunch" basically they acted like you were the most annoying customer they ever dealt with before you even spoke a word to them. The service was so slow and horrible I could not believe it. The only good part about our trip was our encounters with the housekeeping staff who attended to us in any way they could. The woman named Lucy who is the manager took time out of her day to drive my mother to a grocery store and help her. She was so kind and refreshing. Also the room service staff was outstanding! Anything we needed was sent up in a timely fashion with politeness and a smile. We graciously tipped all staff. Unfortunately, inconsequential things, yet personal items were taken from us by staff. The response from management was so poor, that it was reprehensible. We never asked for room service in the housekeeping department. We kept the privacy sign on our door throughout our stay. All we required was privacy and security. That did not happen. The management did not handle any issue and insisted that their employees were not thieves. What little management that bothered to communicate was so rude and protective of their staff, they had no ear for their poor service and theft of guests. They would not even give us a corporate number to report such. General Manager Eric Waltz non-existant. Scott Lorah. An obnoxious manager who defended employee theft. Boo hiss. What a horrible hotel experience for 10,000$ for a weeks stay in a two bedroom suite. Will never return to this hotel. Sandpearl hotel, learn. We as hotel guests don't owe you anything but respect which we did not receive any of. We already paid you for our right to be respected as hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beachcomber, ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! only a short walk accross the street from this horrible hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADVERJAN
Business
memphis,TN
May 24, 2011

MY MONEY IS NO GOOD HERE!

Before confirming reservations on [...]I called the Sand Pearl resort to confirm I would be able to check in to my room before 11am on my check in date . I was told that I would be able to. Two months later I took the long 15 hour drive from Memphis,TN to Clearwater,FL to find that I was not able to check in before 11 am. I was tired and needed a shower and I was forced to roam Clearwater for hours waiting on check in. I was told my cell phone would be called when my room was ready.At 130pm after 5 hours of waiting I got frustrated and returned to the hotel to figure out when my room would be available. It was available but I never got a phone call. The person behind the desk told me I was lucky that I didnt have to wait until 4pm to check in when my reservations were for 11am. This hotel treated me so rudely and as if my money was no good to them. My last day of stay at the Sand Pearl after no accomidation or apology for my inconveniance I was informed that I could pay an extra 75$ to extend my stay to 4pm. This is the reason I was told I was lucky to not have to wait until 4pm to check in. I paid an extra large fee to recieve a ocean view blacony room. I did recieve a balcony however it overviewed a parking garage and garbage cans.What was supposed to be my romantic amazing vacation turned into a stressful not so amazing ordeal that caused me to need a whole new vacation. I will never stay in this hotel again nor recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly next door at the Clear Sky is the most amazing food beverages and service. Their staff is so knowledgable about the great places to visit around the island and the great deals you can get!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota,FL
Jul 1, 2011

not that great- not a 4-star

disappointed- I could have done much better with that price we paid. They should charge no more than $150/night. The lobby looked nice- but the surrounding looked ignored. Not sure why. Not kids freindly nor safe. I would stay across the street if I could. I would not pay this money again. Too many extra charges that all add up on top of the nightly stay. They do have good publicity coordinator. They upsell it more than it is worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.A.R.
Business
Leesburg, FL
Aug 20, 2012

Beds Are Like Sleeping On Rocks!

My wife and I decided to stay here due to good reviews. When we got up to our room there was a cigarette and beer bottle caps under the bed. Also the bed was so uncomfortable I was up all night both nights we were there. They did add another mattress pad as they called it. It was more like another sheet. The beach is awesome and the pool is great. Don't stay here unless you are ready to spend some serious cash though. Overall I do like Sand Pearl. They just need better beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandpearl
Business
tampa fl.
Dec 16, 2012

extra fees

I thought that the rate quoted and the quality of the resort were great, what I didn't realize that they charged a $25. fee for coffee and water, and $20. per night per vehicle fee. because we had two vehicles our extra fees for parking and coffee were $65. per day. Had I realized this I would not have stayed at the Sandpearl. I feel that this is a very deceptive practice and that because the $25. is not an option should be added to the room fee (but then they would seem to expensive wouldn't they) as a business I would not want to be part of such a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M and C couple
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 5, 2013

Sand pearl

For the price paid at $300 plus per nite with a resort fee and required valet parking as the only option coupled with a staff that was plentiful but not genuine, this hotel is not a four star experience. And when we had a significant problem with valet that caused us to miss a dinner reservation across town, management did nothing out of the ordinary to recover with us. If you are going to Clearwater Beach choose the Hyatt Regency. We stayed there last year and will return there next year after this disappointing stay at Sandpearl Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clearsky cafe right next door is a hidden gem with great food and impeccable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2009

Sandpearl So-So

A good place, but with the view of the dumpster stations and of the adjoining dumpy hotels and a marginal view of the gulf. Not good enough for the money, could have gone elsewhere and had better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definately go to Frenchy's Rockaway Grill and have their renowned crab soup!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiMi2009
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 23, 2014

A Gem on a beautiful beach

Just came back from a week in Clearwater at the Sand Pearland lucked out with a warm sunny visit. This hotel is very nice, a child friendly pool set on a white sandy beach perfect for walking. One night they played a large screen movie "Wreck it Ralph" for children at the pool. We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and the hotel has provided a perfect setting in their two restaurants for viewing it. They have a nice gas fire pit on beach for roasting marshmallows! The restaurants are pricey but good food and they have a very nice wine list and with good drinks. My one complaint would be the bed pillows. Need to get better quality pillows, a good nights rest depends on it! Otherwise had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandywing
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great beach hotel

Very nice hotel. I've stayed here a few times, it's probably the nicest property on the Beach. Only two complaints: They could improve on their beds as they are a bit too firm. The service in the Carreta restaurant was slow. I think the staff was short handed. At least this was the case for breakfast/lunch. Also their uniform tops were looking a bit dingy with some visible stains. I noticed this on more than one of the wait staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask to park offsite if you don't mind a short walk. You'll save $20/day on the valet only parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner12
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great but pricey

We had a great time here. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was friendly and attentive. It's the best location in Clearwater for a beach vacation. Good day trips to Caledesi Island and Dunedin. The not so good: pricey. The rooms are a bit overpriced for what this is and then they tag you with $20 per day for valet parking--and of course a tip every time you take your car in or out. No washers so we sent out a normal load of laundry and dry cleaning: $200! If money is no object, this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Columbia restaurant for authentic Cuban fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top