$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

2 stars
27988 US 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
20 reviews
Stay @ Howard Johnson, Clearwater

I was there for the Christmas holidays, and it the stay was excellent, the room was clean and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 28, 2009
good place to stay

I liked the small refrigerator, the microwave, and the coffee maker. Great for snacks & morning... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 11, 2008
Have a fun-filled family vacation at this Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL near Tampa Airport with shuttle service. Stand face to face with aquatic life at The Florida Aquarium, or soak up the sun at Caladesi Island and Honeymoon Island Beach just three miles away. Find excitement at Tampa Bay Downs with slots and thoroughbred horse racing, or attend an event at Ruth Eckerd Hal two miles away. Find discounts at Countryside Mall just a half mile away, or visit the Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and connect to complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Relax at the outdoor pool, hot tub and sundeck. Enjoy the guest laundry facilities and complimentary parking. Book an event in the meeting space for up to 30 guests. Feel at home in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

28.0264 -82.738
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MidnightBeachcomber
Business
Palm harbor, FL.
Jul 22, 2014

Not bad for a night

Works if you need a place for the night and have business in the area. Staff was very helpful, Have no complaints. A good, solid, no frills experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristobalmza83
Business
Mendoza Argentina
Oct 28, 2013

Good Night

It was Ok for a Night. The room was Ok. It has a jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oldfrogg
Business
The Villages, FL
Apr 5, 2013

Great for a concert at Eckert Hall

Easy to get to from any hwy. Very clean. Staff very friendly. Shower head was terrible. Notified staff. Would stay again if in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LP mom
Business
Boston MA
Feb 23, 2013

Working vacation

the staff was good, breakfast was fine each day, no cream for the coffee, only milk or french vanilla cream, the pool & hot tub had leaves and dirt in them. the bathroom sink drained very SLOWLY and heard the trucks going down 19 all night. It was ok for the value, but I would probably try a different place next time I am in the area. When we asked for a bill at the end of the stay, was told that our booking email was our bill, I thought that was weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ski Rep
Business
Boone, NC
Dec 9, 2012

Business

Hotel was clean and conveniently located to the activities I needed to accomplish. Hotel staff was very nice and quite accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dogtoberfest
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Nov 13, 2012

Great deal, perfect location

I was pleasantly surpriced by the comfort and cleanliness of what I thought was a "road motel". Location is awesome to visit Dunedin, Clearwater, Tarpon Springs, etc. I will come back for sure and recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinning at Dunedin was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTMO
Business
St.Louis, MO
Mar 27, 2012

An okay place to sleep.

It was clean but older. Bathroom needed updating. Not an ounce of protein with the breakfast. Easy access to highway 19.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerryAnn
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Location was great for my family reunion

Staff was friendly, room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Staff was great in printing out my boarding pass, they even went on line for me 24 hours prior to my departure to get me a seat- nicely done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. U
Business
Bradenton, FL, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Our 47th Anniversary

We don't have a lot of money to go away so decided to take a little trip to Tarpon Springs for the Great Greek Food. We chose Howard Johnson's to stay because the day we got married we went to a Howard Johnson's. Upon arrival I have never felt more "uninvited" in my life. I was not even greeted with a hello or welcome. I told the hostess that we were spending our 47th wedding anniversary there and she said "last name" I gave it. "Sign here" so I did and was given 2 keys and told where the room was. My husband went to get coffee the next morning in the dining room and the same person was standing outside smoking so he asked her where to get coffee and she pointed to inside. Not one word to him. Upon checkout there was no one at the front desk to check us out so I left the keys on the desk and left. I"m sure Mr. Johnson would turn over in his grave as this is ot how we have alwasys been treated at a Howard Johnson's. Needless to say we will NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brantley, AL
Jun 1, 2010

The hotel

The top mattress keep sliding off the box springs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top