$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
103 reviews
Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches... See full review

  • lafemme
  • Oct 17, 2014
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Fort Myers/Sanibel/Captiva
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida Intl Airport, (RSW), 38.00, MI, W; Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 169.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 157.00, MI, N; Punta Gorda, (PND), 54.00, MI, N; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 173.00, MI, N;

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
creyes
Business
Bay City, MIchigan
Mar 4, 2014

Bad Deal

My husband and I booked a 4 night getaway and we stayed in the beach villas. I was disappointed with the view and walk to the beach. I was also disappointed with the location of the bedroom-in the back of the condo with no windows so you could not hear the ocean. The room was very old and needed to be updated especially for the price we were paying. The biggest problem however, was not anything I just mentioned. I awoke the 3rd night of our stay to find BED BUGS in my bed!!!! I was completely freaked out! The staff was very accommodating and moved us to another room, comped us 2 nights, dry cleaned our clothes, gave us a voucher for dinner. They did everything they could but it does not change the fact that we had BED BUGS and it completely ruined our vacation. I am still dealing with the trauma of the experience even at home!!! My advice-check the bed bug registry before booking a vacation and do not stay in these villas. I did notice several villas getting "new carpet" which I thought the resort was doing some updating but I think now they had an infestation! Thank God we did not have our 4 kids with us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key Largo
Jan 4, 2011

This hotel will lie to you!

If these snakes offer you 'resort credits' you will never receive them. If you try to confirm that you have them at check-in you'd better tape record it, but in my experience, they'll just stonewall you anyway. I confirmed my credits at check-in (a struggle for the deskman to admit that I booked the hotel with them, but he finally did) only to be flatly denied any credits at checkout). This company's corporate culture is ingrained to ream its guests--"call the accounting office," "amanda will return your call." This is not acceptable and [...]should not be booking this hotel any more and American Express should not be allowing its customers to lose their money here. SSIR is a stench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Captiva Island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricS
Business
North Carolina, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Not that special

We were very pleased with the staff. They were extremely friendly. The landscaping is beautiful, and the location on Captiva is wonderful. The room, however, left a great deal to be desired. The lighting was nearly useless. The TV was lousy. The furnishings average at best. On an off week for what we paid we were reasonably satisfied. If you are looking at more than $200 a night, keep looking. They can not seem to decide if they are a time share, retirement community, or a resort. As result they did not seem to do anything particularly well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mucky Duck!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisM111
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2014

Must stay at the North end if you have kids

We stayed here with our 6 year old daughter and we're pretty disappointed with the resort. Captiva is a beautiful place, but the traffic getting in and out the single road was very frustrating. We stayed in the Bayside villas and the rooms were very old and not very clean. Additionally, or was a long walk to the beach and required a tram to get to the resort pool. Once at the pool, the slides and pools are great for the kids. Perhaps if we started on the North side of the resort closer to the main pools and restaurants we would have enjoyed it more. The units looked a little newer there. Overall, we thought it was well overpriced for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fenway
Business
Connecticut, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Rainy cool weather dampened the visit.

Staff was congenial and efficient at the resort. Our room featured as overlooking the tennis courts but we could not see anything with the large trees that blocked our view. The suite was comfortable but outdated. We had no cell phone coverage on the property due to the wireless disconnect at checkin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zach Walsh
Business
Chicago
May 25, 2012

Just fine, but nothing special

The resort grounds are very beautiful. They are very well kept and the island itself has a quaint, small-town feel. As for the rooms and service, it was just OK. There was nothing glaringly bad by any means, but there was just wasn't anything special either. The rooms have been recently updated with granite in the kitchens and bathrooms. But our one-bedroom was small. Living space was ok and balcony was nice, but the kitchen, bedroom and bathrooms were small. Despite the reservations, you could still tell the units were built quite some time ago. There is beach service that offers towels and umbrellas which was convenient. The towels were no bigger than bath towels, so I usually took 2 to make due. We stayed at the south end of the resort, which unfortunately did not offer towels at the pools. I found that to be odd, but I guess at the north, more popular end of the resort, they do offer towels. Overall, it was friendly and fine, but nothing to brag about. I would maybe go back, but only if I wanted to go back to that island and couldn't find one of the many rentals in the area available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are dining outside, bring the bug spray! Anywhere you go in Florida for that matter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
captiva diva
Business
sarasota
Jun 7, 2012

Nice but Dated

Great location and the grounds were nice. The rooms were average at best and needed to be freshend up. The extra charge of $15 per day per adult seemed a little strange to me. Bar tenders were nice but the cost of the drinks were high for what you got. The "resort" was a little dated and tired feeling. Loved Captiva and found nice places in the villiage to eat. Would suggest exploring the local food haunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

5 or 6 island-ish casual places to eat off resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CUCCHITWO
Business
TAMPA FL
Dec 17, 2012

XMAS WEEKEND

The grounds are great feel like Hawaii. Poor value resort fee on top of a high price. wish i had gone elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all 3-4 restaurants on the small main street are far better than the hotel . price and quality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's alright
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 22, 2010

Tardiness

For couples without children be prepared for kids all over the place. We arrived at 12 PM and had to wait until 5 PM to get in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr C Vac
Business
Southwest Florida
Jun 5, 2011

Pretty good

Great weekend get-a-way. We were disappointed that we had reserved a king bed, but upon arrival they were unable to meet our reservations. Room was very clean, grounds were well kept, beaches were beautiful. Some food and drinks were resonalbly price. Recommending eating off the resort, plenty of local restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunshine Cafe, RC Otters and Key Lime Bistro awesome food and very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top