$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Awesome anniversary trip

It was a romantic trip anniversary trip Beautiful beach we took a cruise to see the sunset we saw... See full review

  • odalys d.
  • Aug 10, 2015
Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches... See full review

  • lafemme
  • Oct 17, 2014
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island.
South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island is located on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve. Create a memorable vacation experience by choosing from a broad range of accommodations for families large and small.
The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
Fitness center and tennis complex, Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens, 13 pools and H2 Whooa Water Slide, Go Fish and Go Sail Programs, Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course.

Rooms At the South Seas Island Resort - All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.

NOTE: Resort fee is $17 USD ($18.87 USD including tax) per day, per guest 13 years old and above. Resort fee is not quoted with the room rate. Amenities include: tennis court fees; domestic long distance phone calls; daily trolley service throughout the resort; resort pool complex amenities include poolside towels and lounge chairs; beach (south and sunset beach) amenities include beach towels and chairs; unlimited local phone calls; guest room high-speed Internet access; fitness centre access; New York Times online edition; cable with free movie channels (includes HBO); and participation in special resort activities. All play at the tennis court requires advanced reservations. Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop at 239-472-5111 ext. 4151. All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts. Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee. Court reservations may be booked seven days prior to play.

Pet Policy: No Pets allowed. Boarding is available nearby in Fort Myers, FL.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Island Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$133
4.0 / 5 151 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$112
3.9 / 5 84 reviews
★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 76 reviews
★★★★
$135
4.4 / 5 226 reviews
★★★
$160
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$169
4.5 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$178
4.3 / 5 51 reviews

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harbourside Rooms
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Features a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taveling Couple 12
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 6, 2012

Great vacation

We choose this spot for a quick weekend retreat and are so glad we did. It was comfortable and we are nice and refreshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SummerTravel32
Couples
Pittsburgh,PA
Jul 1, 2012

Fantastic!

Fantastic stay! Staff were friendly and wonderful! Place was gorgeous! We will definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Family
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thiggins49
Couples
Washington DC
Jul 10, 2012

Need to get away - Go Here !

Hotel located at the northern end of Captiva Island. Resort split into two parts with the northern one being the one we stayed in. Between the two parts are nature area and several Beach properties operated by the resort. Everything is there. Swimming pools - Boats - Golf. Dining is available as is also golf carts to rent. Captive Island a small but lively place. Several good dining spots also on it and with Sanibel island located nearby - the choices are endless and depend on how much you want to drive. We took a shelling cruise recommended by Resort > Captive Cruises. We were very happy. Found alot of shells and Bay water was a nice 89 degrees. Our 4 days - three nights were GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore restaurants outside resort on Captiva.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the warm weather
Couples
Illinois
Feb 9, 2013

Wonderful winter escape

This destination offered everything I was looking for. The pool staff was exceptional. The beaches were filled with seashells. I loved visiting the ding darling nature preserve and got to see the dolphins on the boat tour. A great destination for bird lovers. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a bicycle. It's great exercise and a wonderful way to get around.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Beacher
Couples
Chicago
Mar 20, 2013

Fantastic Relaxation

It was the perfect week! Cant wait to go back! We lucked out so much with the room we got. Totally expecting something different instead we had a great view of the bay and could easily watch the dolphins from our deck. Everything is real easy to get to and experience was a great one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick12341234
Family
Boston MASS
May 5, 2013

AWESOME PLACE !!!!

This place was awesome. I have a 3 year old and my wife and I had a great time !! The service and food was perfect !!! SCoops is unreal and a great place to have a chopped salad and a piece of pizza with a young child ! I would go back in a heart beat. I went through a great travel agency online and found I got a great deal... What a beautiful location... I give it a 5 star and would def. go back again. They also have great child activities room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and pools are a short walk to get to...

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lorvin
Couples
new jersey
Jun 19, 2013

friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was extremely helpful and were always polite and friendly.The room was very clean and on the beach in the beach villas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oscar garcia
Couples
coral gables, florida
Jul 28, 2013

very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to return every summer. my only suggestion is to label the parking spaces for each room, for the convenience of guests, it is not easy to find a paking space near to the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the perfect place, the perfect hotel, the perfect people

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boca Raton Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Best Vacation Destination!

The hotel was a great experience. We are Floridians and only stay at the expensive resorts like the Ritz, but we were recommended to South Seas. First off, the beaches are so undistrubed and taken care of.. that is very rare in Florida. Within 12 hours we saw manetees, dolphins, star fish, urchins, etc. Our hotel was very affordable and right at the beach. When we arrived they told us they do not accept cash or credit cards on the island which I did not like but was a blessing. So nice to no have to carry your purse anywhere and there is so much to do! We came with our 3 year old for his birthday and he loved the water slide and wonderful pools. The employees at the island are so helpful as well. A guarenteed great place to stay and we will be returning asap. Rarely do you come home from a 2 day vacation and have your 3 year old remind you about it a month later... it is a great memorable place. Oh and the renovations on the inside are amazing!! The outside of the hotel buildings do no justice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to stay at the harbourside villas, they are a 2 minute walk to the beach, pool, and restaurants and its cheap!

Back to menu Return to top