$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches... See full review

  • lafemme
  • Oct 17, 2014
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Fort Myers/Sanibel/Captiva
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida Intl Airport, (RSW), 38.00, MI, W; Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 169.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 157.00, MI, N; Punta Gorda, (PND), 54.00, MI, N; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 173.00, MI, N;

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisM111
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2014

Must stay at the North end if you have kids

We stayed here with our 6 year old daughter and we're pretty disappointed with the resort. Captiva is a beautiful place, but the traffic getting in and out the single road was very frustrating. We stayed in the Bayside villas and the rooms were very old and not very clean. Additionally, or was a long walk to the beach and required a tram to get to the resort pool. Once at the pool, the slides and pools are great for the kids. Perhaps if we started on the North side of the resort closer to the main pools and restaurants we would have enjoyed it more. The units looked a little newer there. Overall, we thought it was well overpriced for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick12341234
Business
Boston MASS
May 5, 2013

AWESOME PLACE !!!!

This place was awesome. I have a 3 year old and my wife and I had a great time !! The service and food was perfect !!! SCoops is unreal and a great place to have a chopped salad and a piece of pizza with a young child ! I would go back in a heart beat. I went through a great travel agency online and found I got a great deal... What a beautiful location... I give it a 5 star and would def. go back again. They also have great child activities room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and pools are a short walk to get to...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobsmyman
Business
Maryland
Mar 16, 2013

Really nice place

This is third year in a row we have gone to South Seas. The staff was unfailingly friendly and accommodating of requests. We stayed in a 'tennis villa' probably the least luxurious of the options, but it was perfectly clean and nice. The resort itself is beautiful, not in a super-deluxe way but in a way that takes advantage of the natural beauty of the place. Nice pools, tennis courts and beaches. Costwise I don't have a lot to compare with - I've been to some fancier places in the Caribbean but South Seas is not trying to be that - it has proved very reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
milwaukee sunshine
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 12, 2013

Family celebration

Perfect place to have a birthday celebration with 3 generations in attendance. Something for everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Key Lime Bistro and the Mucky Duck had fabulous meals, outdoor space, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amelia's mommy
Business
Coventry, RI
Jan 23, 2013

Beautiful Location

The island is gorgeous and the hotel grounds are well kept. The pools are gorgeous. The arcade is small. My 7-year old daughter loved the island scavenger hunt. Not many good places to dine. The Harbourside is delicious yet pricey. Their breakfast buffet is awesome. The dinners there are great too. The Barbecue restaurant is awful. The pizza at scoops was nothing great. Everything is extremely expensive on the resort. The Sunset Beach is average and not a good beach for small children since there is a sharp drop off as soon as you get in the water. The shelling was great. Dolphins are everywhere and beautiful birds! No entertainment on the resort while I was there. Stay at North Pointe which has the resort pool complex with the beautiful pools and water slides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The stores on the resort are very expensive. Do your shopping before you get on Captiva.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tan traveller
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2013

Great location and quiet

Spent 5 days just after New Years. Great location Great beach. Quiet. One bedroom sea view room was nice but can't open window in bedroom because it is on entry landing. Food at resort venues was mediocre and very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great key lime at Key Lime

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Financial Advisor
Business
Boynton beach, FL
Dec 21, 2012

Stay in the nicer villas at the north point!

This resort is great but it is divided into two separate "zones" if you will. There are the "beach villas" which are in need of updating. Then there are the nice villas on the golf course which are absolutely fantastic (and obviously more money). This is where we stayed and it was gorgeous, peaceful, right near the beach...just idyllic. The golf course is gorgeous and fun so if you're a golfer bring your clubs. Finally, the food on the island is notoriously bad (not just at the resort which isn't terrible, but the entire island) so bring food to cook in the kitchens within your room. There are a few good restaurants on island but most are a major (and expensive) disappointment. One last thing - management is GREAT at this resort so if you have any problems, let them know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shupshuck
Business
Oak Lawn, illinois
Aug 18, 2012

very nice vacation in a surreal location

South Seas is a fantastic vacation resort that could only be surpassed if it was all-inclusive. The resort has everything you could need or want and nature all around you. One of the simpler yet special treats was renting of the bikes. A must do! Water sports and beach were superb. Spotted dolphins three X's and the manatees were a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Doc Fords and some of the other Sanibel restaurants for a complete experience. Family loved Holy Smokes on resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jul 28, 2012

family vacation

I thought this was a lovely resort. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful. You may want to eat off site. There are many local restaurants that are fun and wonderful. We stayed on the bayside and I thought it was very peaceful however the resort caters to the north side. At the north side pools there are towels and places to eat and drink. We had a place to throw the towels but no towels were available to get!! I was worried the resort was going to be too overwelmingly big but it really was not. I was able to walk from the south side to the north side. There is a trolley that takes you back and forth that I did not realize they had. My only real complant was for housekeeping. The staff was lovely but they need to hire more. Our room was always done very late...around 4 p.m. At this time I was usually heading back to duck out of the sun and get a shower. The garbage in the stairwell was always overflowing and by the morning the animals had it all over. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Business
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top