$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

3 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was... See full review

  • lorvin
  • Jun 19, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Harbourside Marina View Guestroom
These spacious accommodations are located at the prestigious north end of the resort, the center of many of the resorts activities, just steps from the Pointe Pool Complex, Harbourside Grille, Parrot's Arcade and Scoops and Slices. Enjoy the Pointe Pool Complex featuring two lagoon style pools, Jacuzzi, and private cabanas. Looking for an adventure? Take a short walk to the T-Dock for Jet-ski's or parasailing. From your open balcony, enjoy breathtaking views of yachts and sailboats as they enter the Yacht Harbour. These rooms feature one luxurious king or two queen beds with desk and chair. The bath offers a roman tub/shower and a dressing area with double vanity. The accommodations also offer a DVD/CD Player, LCD flat screen television, and ceiling fans. The 475-650 square foot Harbourside Guestroom accommodates up to four guests.
Rollaway beds are available at an additional charge.
Three Bdrm Beach Villa
Perfect for larger families or parties, the 3 Bedroom Beach Villas offer superior accommodations and vistas with views of the Gulf of Mexico and the sugar sand beaches. Situated at the South end of the Resort, these spacious Villas are walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the tennis courts. All on the top floor, unique features like a rod iron spiral staircase leading to a 2nd floor loft bedroom with sitting area that overlooks the living room. Also on the first floor are master and second bedroom, dining area, full kitchen and two baths. Enjoy 1500 square feet of vacation dream home style living space and an expansive beach that is just steps away. Great for longer stays, coin laundry facilities are available on the ground floor of each building. Savor the fresh air at dedicated pools that are also equipped with gas grills. The Beach Villas accommodate up to eight guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
One Bdrm Beach Villa
Treasure views of the Gulf of Mexico and the Island's 2.5 miles of sugary sand beaches from your screened balcony. Situated at the desirable south end of the Resort, the spacious Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. The perfect beach retreat offers 750+ square feet of living space and includes a separate bedroom with luxurious king or queen bed, full bathroom, living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Coin operated laundry is at ground level or each building. The Villa accommodates up to four guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Two Bdrm Beach VIlla or Cottage
Ideal for families or larger parties, the 2 Bedroom Beach Villas offer the best of Captiva Island with amazing views and superior vacation home accommodations. Sweeping views of the Gulf of Mexico and the Island's 2.5 miles of shell-strewn sand beaches are waiting from a screened balcony. Situated at the south end of the Resort, these spacious Villas are just yards from the sandy beaches that are accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 950+ square feet of home-style living space that includes two bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Luxurious, comfortable beds are includes a king or queen bedded master bedroom and two twin beds in the second bedroom. Great for longer stays, coin laundry facilities are available at the ground level of each building. Savor the fresh air at dedicated pools that are also equipped with gas grills. The Beach Villas accommodate up to six guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Harbourside Water View Gurestroom
Harbourside Water View Guestroom offers some of the most spectacular views of the resort. From the open balcony, watch dolphins and manatees as they play and enter the waterway to the Yacht Harbour and enjoy breathtaking Sunsets. Just steps away is the center of activity for the resort's prestigious north end. Enjoy sun filled days at the Pointe Pool Complex or take a short walk to the beach. Feeling more adventurous, take a cruise to Useppa or visit the T-Dock for water sports. No matter the activity, find complete relaxation back at the Harbourside Water View Guestroom. The rooms feature full bathrooms with roman tubs and dressing areas with granite double vanities, desk and chairs, DVD and CD Player, LCD flat screen television, ceiling fans and open balcony with beautiful water views. The 475-650 square foot Harbourside Water View Gurestroom have a king or 2 queen beds and accommodate up to four guests.
Rollaway beds are available at an additional charge.
Three Bdrm Bayside Villa
From the top floor, large screened balcony, take in the tranquil scenes of the Pine Island Sound and a mangrove forest. Early risers can soak up an amazing sunrise vista. Located at the south end of the resort behind the Reception Center, the Bayside Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. Offering duo floor living, there are two bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs; the living room, third bedroom and bathroom are downstairs. The 1500+ square foot Villa, decorated in shade echoing the Gulf, also features a dining area and fully equipped kitchen. A home away from home feel is provided with accessible gas grills and coin operated laundry on ground level. Villa accommodates up to eight guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Two Bdrm Tennis Villa
Great views of the courtyard and tennis facilities abound from the screened balcony of the Two Bedroom Tennis Villa. Located at the south end of the Resort behind the Reception Center, the Tennis Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. The loft style, 1100 square foot Villa, decorated in shade of blues echoing the Gulf, includes two separate bedrooms with luxurious king in the master second story loft bedroom and 2 twin beds in the downstairs second bedroom. The Villa includes two full bathrooms, living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. Coin operated laundry available on the ground floor. Villa accommodates up to 6 guests
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
One Bdrm Tennis Villa
From a large screened balcony, enjoy views of the courtyard and tennis facilities. Located at the south end of the resort behind the Reception Center, the Tennis Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. The 780 square foot Villa, decorated in shade of blues echoing the Gulf, includes one separate bedroom with luxurious king bed, a full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A home away from home feel is provided with accessible gas grills and coin operated laundry on ground level. Villa accommodates up to four guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Captiva, Ft. Myers, FL, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
RSW - Ft. Myers Airport, TPA - Tampa Airport or FLL - Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Dining

The Ship's Store
Located in the north end of the resort near Harbourside Marina, The Ships Store features marine provisions, grocery selections, South Seas logo'd resort apparel and a fresh sandwich shop. Seating is available on the deck and promenade and is open to all resort and marina guests. The menu concept is mini-gourmet carry-out with a complete variety of delicatessen offerings.
Captiva Provision Company
Our gourmet store and deli offers over-fresh breakfast panini's, lunch sandwiches prepared to order and daily dinner specials. The shelves are stocked with the finest Imported gourmet offerings, candies, pastries and chocolates. The Captiva Provision Company also offers a wide variety of unique prepared salads, soups, entrees and gift baskets. Order online at www.southseas.com/cpc_order before your arrival for prompt delivery and setup for an unforgettable South Seas Island welcome.
Scoops & Slices
Located next to the Pointe, Scoops & Slices takes fun food to the next level, creating an enjoyable experience for the entire family. With floor to ceiling sweets, table and counter service as well as take-out.
Starbuck's
Located at the south end of the resort, Starbuck's is the world's largest chain of coffee houses. In addition to brewed and espresso beverages, our Starbucks also serves tea, bottled beverages and delicious pastries.
The Pointe
Located at the north end of the resort, The Pointe has an island look and Caribbean Grille menu for the entire family to enjoy. Featuring breakfast from 8:00am to 11:00am and a light lunch from 11:30am to 6:00pm. Enjoy encredible sweeping views of the Pine Island Sound while overlooking our signture pool and cabana complex. Experience our breathtaking sunsets while enjoying your favorite umbrella drink, including our signature Watermelon Mojito. It's the place to be seen on Captiva Island.
Harbourside Bar and Grille
Located on the north end of the resort overlooking the picturesqe Yacht Harbour is open for dinner daily and serves cocktails. The Grill menu is filled with tempting seafood, steak and chops choices, our signature watermelon and golden beet salad and a variety of delectable desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Indy_slacker
Indianapolis,Indiana
Dec 2, 2009

Indy couple travels south

South Seas has a very clean beach. a wonderful T-Dock to watch the sun rise. many water crafts to rent and bicycles to ride. Wild life is abundent both in the air and water. My wife and I watch a couple of manatees play in the yatch harbour one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captiva Island is full of quaint lil eateries and shops. My wife and I enjoyed driving around and finding new places to eat. I recommend LAZY FLAMINGO, ISLAND COW, and the LIGHT HOUSE RESTAURANT ( light house is actually just before the causeway to the island on the right ) great place for lunch and dinner - we ate there both.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Sep 10, 2009

Relaxing Getaway

Loved the fact that floats are allowed in the Pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Stevensville, MD
Sep 8, 2009

Great location on Captiva

The room was wonderful. Loved the screened lanai. The signage to the beach was pretty lame. We found it, but also had to help numerous others do the same. The beach staff was great once we found it. Cost of drinks at the tiki hut at the north end beach was outrageous. They need to take a lesson from Aruba beach bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

From the south end units Muckie Duck is a long walk and an awesome place to have a drink, dinner and watch the sunset...and quite reasonable in price. The Cantina Captiva is a short walk from the south end units and is great Mexican. Staff is friendly.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Mr. and Mrs. B.
Northern Virginia
Sep 3, 2009

Great getaway spot

Great location to get away from it all. We were there at the end of the summer and although the resort was beautiful and the rooms were well cared-for, the restaurant appeared to be overwhelmed and under-staffed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captiva restaurants were very good, reasonable prices, and excellent food.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Roanoke, Va.
Aug 26, 2009

captiva

This resort has so much to offer! We went parasailing, took a cruise, went to the beach and saw so much wildlife!! I called the rest of the family right away and started planning our next family vacation. The guys could golf, the kids could play, the ladies could go to the spa, and, when we were ready for adult time, there were programs for the kids to go and have fun! I cannot wait for our next trip there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

There is no room service for anything but pizza. So if you're wanting to stay in, get take-out.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
MA
Aug 15, 2009

Comfortable, near beach, good service

Lovely apartment- great accommodation. Nice Trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2009

Nice, quiet relaxing short getaway

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at South Seas. The location was perfect, the resort was gorgeous. The Lagoon pool was by far the best part of our trip. To sit by the pool and the look out into the bay was awesome. The only negatives were that we were supposed to get 20% of food and beverages and the front desk lady did not give us the sticker to notate that happening and then when I went back and questioned the front desk, they seemed put out to go and make an adjustment. Oh and there was no vending machine in my bayside villas. They gave 2 bottles of water at the beginning of the trip but that was it - they never brought back anymore water. If you didn't go to the store and get some water, you were out of luck unless you wanted to walk to the Front Desk lobby. Overall though - my wife and I enjoyed everything that it had to offer and would stay there again in a minute - in fact, we wish we were still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Mucky Duck and the Bubble Room while there - two great "island" treats that you won't regret.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Orlando Fl.
Jul 1, 2009

Wonderful vacation

The location was wonderful, the 3 pools were great, there was a lot to do, or, do nothing. There are places to eat on sight, but the town is close by, and there are a variety of places to go...The Mad Hatter had the best food, but they are pricy. the only down fall for us, was that the only breakfast option was the $17.00 buffet. I would have liked there to be other options. We can not wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Super Couple Sweethearts
Fort Myers, Florida
Jun 18, 2009

Great Last Minute Getaway

We hit the beach, played tennis (little pricey) and enjoyed the area. It was a last minute trip and although not cheap, a good deal for the money. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy more of the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Liudelis
Miami, FL
Jun 18, 2009

Fantastic Honeymoon Getaway

We had an awesome time we loved the resort can't wait to go again and take the kids. It's a very family oriented resort with plenty to do for the kids. They provide a number of water sport activities which we took advantage of. The beaches and pools are beautiful and the views are spectacular. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top