$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 2, 2011

Nice getaway

Kind of cheesy but relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 10, 2011

Florida Weekend

The description on the Web site did not come close to the actual resort, which was absolutely fantastic. The resort has enough activities for every family. The resort, amenities and the beach are spectacular. The wildlife plentiful and interesting to see. There are area restaurants that are within walking distance. This is a clear destination if you are planning on going to Captive Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights
Mar 27, 2011

Great vacation...

Great place. Feels like an island somewhere outside of the US. Very peaceful. Clean. Only complaint: the daily resort fee... Seems excessive above the daily room fee. You still need to pay for all activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We did not learn until the last day, that bikes were $5/day per person from check in to check out. We were told that they were $15/person/day.For a family of 5 that would have been prohibitive.Bikes for the week would have been great for our family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Realtor Deb
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2011

"Relaxing Vacation at South Seas Resort"

We stayed in a bay front villa. It was lovely! The bed was very comfortable, the bath was updated and we had a kitchen. The sunroom overlooked the bay! It really was a fabulous view! The pool and amenities were great, as well! We plan to go back next year! Really liked Thom at the Marina Bar, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a golf cart and get a "bird's eye" view of the area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bowling green, ohio
Feb 10, 2011

large resort

a nice relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 6, 2011

Winter Escape

Captiva Island is absolutely beautiful. The South Seas Resort has everything you need to enjoy a winter get-away - a nine hole par three golf course, plenty of tennis courts, beaches with lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels along with a snack bar at one of the beaches, pools, spa, restaurants, provision stores for milk, nibbles, and other items to stock your kitchen (pricey but convenient). Our villa was nicely appointed and had a great view of Pine Bay. The only downside of our room was that it was across from the elevator. Thankfully this did not present the problem we'd feared but it may during a busier season. The lush landscape of the island is a haven for flora and fauna, inclusing watching dolphins, birds, fish. The nearby Refuge Center is worth visiting as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're inclined to eat or drink at the famed Captiva Mucky Duck you should walk from the beach (the one near the resorts main entrance). It's a pleasant walk and saves you the headache of parking. I also recommend stopping on the way to the island at either a Publix in Ft. Myers or Robert's or Bailey's on Sanibel for your groceries. While the stores on the resort are convenient they are VERY expensive, e.g. a small box of Special K (a slightly smaller box that what you can buy in the grocery was $7.00).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key Largo
Jan 4, 2011

This hotel will lie to you!

If these snakes offer you 'resort credits' you will never receive them. If you try to confirm that you have them at check-in you'd better tape record it, but in my experience, they'll just stonewall you anyway. I confirmed my credits at check-in (a struggle for the deskman to admit that I booked the hotel with them, but he finally did) only to be flatly denied any credits at checkout). This company's corporate culture is ingrained to ream its guests--"call the accounting office," "amanda will return your call." This is not acceptable and [...]should not be booking this hotel any more and American Express should not be allowing its customers to lose their money here. SSIR is a stench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Captiva Island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete & Sue
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 29, 2010

Great room, fantastic views.

We enjoyed the views and the enviroment of the community. There was some miscommunication around the tennis courts and this could have and should have been resolved immediately instead of us having to follow-up twice. The service was good and the food at the Seafood Buffet was surprisingly tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before you cross the bridge onto Sanibel/Captiva Island stop off and pick up some staple foods there are no grocery chains on the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, wi
Nov 6, 2010

Excellent service

We stayed here for a wedding and it was excellent. Defintley would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
suffern newyork
Nov 3, 2010

beautifil resort

beautiful resort with lovely accommadations and attentive staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

rode bicycles every morning to starbucks 2 miles away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top