$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
161 reviews
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was... See full review

  • lorvin
  • Jun 19, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Fort Myers/Sanibel/Captiva
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida Intl Airport, (RSW), 49.00, MI, W; Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 170.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 161.00, MI, N;

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland, fl
Jul 30, 2011

Awesome!!

Beautiful resort. My son had a blast! Lots to do if you want, or you can just relax on the beautiful private beach, or take a dip in one of the many great pools.My son loved the waterslides!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland, fl
Jul 30, 2011

Awesome!!

Beautiful resort. My son had a blast! Lots to do if you want, or you can just relax on the beautiful private beach, or take a dip in one of the many great pools.My son loved the waterslides!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Professor Dale
Columbia, MO
Jul 27, 2011

As good as it gets

We wanted perfect weather, great food, a wonderful beach, and great accommodations and we got all of that and more. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous all the way around. The grounds were immaculate. We did a couple of tours and the guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The in-resort trolley transportation was timely and helpful. The quality of service provided by all the staff was superb. The setting cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining both on the resort and close to the resort was excellent. You certainly do not have to drive anywhere for a great meal.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Professor Dale
Columbia, MO
Jul 27, 2011

As good as it gets

We wanted perfect weather, great food, a wonderful beach, and great accommodations and we got all of that and more. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous all the way around. The grounds were immaculate. We did a couple of tours and the guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The in-resort trolley transportation was timely and helpful. The quality of service provided by all the staff was superb. The setting cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining both on the resort and close to the resort was excellent. You certainly do not have to drive anywhere for a great meal.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City area
Jul 25, 2011

Captiva South Seas

First trip to Captiva in several years...last time here resort was still called South Seas Plantation. Many updates and much nicer overall experience--will certainly go back! Sunsets are worth the trip alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City area
Jul 25, 2011

Captiva South Seas

First trip to Captiva in several years...last time here resort was still called South Seas Plantation. Many updates and much nicer overall experience--will certainly go back! Sunsets are worth the trip alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parker, CO
Jul 23, 2011

Honest review

We booked the Summer Escape package for 5 nights. I called the resort directly to compare the price [...]and the rate was I was quoted was $10.00 more than the advertised rate that they had on their website but basically the same price [...]. Don't plan on an early check-in as they do a thorough cleaning/inspection process. Room was clean but had to wait for a comparable room to become available since the pullout bed was broken. We changed rooms halfway through our stay to a two bedroom unit (grandparents decided to show up) and again had to wait for a room to become available (pullout bed broken and leak in the bathroom).There is a $15.00/ per adult/per day resort fee. If you want to rent a bike it's $15.00/day/per person or they have a plan you can buy that costs $5/day/person charged for every day of your stay. Drinks at the pool were pricey. Plenty of water sports/activities and water stuff rentals (snorkel & mask,boogie boards, etc. Having said all this, the rooms are very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and polite. The resort itself is very well kept. Nice pools, convenient shops and beautiful beaches. Make sure you get to the beach before 10 am to ensure a lounge chair and umbrella-they go quick. For anyone interested in fishing, the T-dock is a great little spot to fish from. Tons of big snook surround the dock at night and plenty of other species to catch. Eating at the resort is expensive. We drove outside the resort to eat every night. These can pricey as well but there are reasonably priced places within 3-5 miles. Overall i would rate it a 4 out of 5. Already planning another trip there and with a little knowledge now are hoping for an even better stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort dining is expensive. Plenty of off-resort places to eat to save some money. Also, off-resort bike rentals are cheaper.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parker, CO
Jul 23, 2011

Honest review

We booked the Summer Escape package for 5 nights. I called the resort directly to compare the price [...]and the rate was I was quoted was $10.00 more than the advertised rate that they had on their website but basically the same price [...]. Don't plan on an early check-in as they do a thorough cleaning/inspection process. Room was clean but had to wait for a comparable room to become available since the pullout bed was broken. We changed rooms halfway through our stay to a two bedroom unit (grandparents decided to show up) and again had to wait for a room to become available (pullout bed broken and leak in the bathroom).There is a $15.00/ per adult/per day resort fee. If you want to rent a bike it's $15.00/day/per person or they have a plan you can buy that costs $5/day/person charged for every day of your stay. Drinks at the pool were pricey. Plenty of water sports/activities and water stuff rentals (snorkel & mask,boogie boards, etc. Having said all this, the rooms are very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and polite. The resort itself is very well kept. Nice pools, convenient shops and beautiful beaches. Make sure you get to the beach before 10 am to ensure a lounge chair and umbrella-they go quick. For anyone interested in fishing, the T-dock is a great little spot to fish from. Tons of big snook surround the dock at night and plenty of other species to catch. Eating at the resort is expensive. We drove outside the resort to eat every night. These can pricey as well but there are reasonably priced places within 3-5 miles. Overall i would rate it a 4 out of 5. Already planning another trip there and with a little knowledge now are hoping for an even better stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort dining is expensive. Plenty of off-resort places to eat to save some money. Also, off-resort bike rentals are cheaper.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boca Raton Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Best Vacation Destination!

The hotel was a great experience. We are Floridians and only stay at the expensive resorts like the Ritz, but we were recommended to South Seas. First off, the beaches are so undistrubed and taken care of.. that is very rare in Florida. Within 12 hours we saw manetees, dolphins, star fish, urchins, etc. Our hotel was very affordable and right at the beach. When we arrived they told us they do not accept cash or credit cards on the island which I did not like but was a blessing. So nice to no have to carry your purse anywhere and there is so much to do! We came with our 3 year old for his birthday and he loved the water slide and wonderful pools. The employees at the island are so helpful as well. A guarenteed great place to stay and we will be returning asap. Rarely do you come home from a 2 day vacation and have your 3 year old remind you about it a month later... it is a great memorable place. Oh and the renovations on the inside are amazing!! The outside of the hotel buildings do no justice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to stay at the harbourside villas, they are a 2 minute walk to the beach, pool, and restaurants and its cheap!

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boca Raton Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Best Vacation Destination!

The hotel was a great experience. We are Floridians and only stay at the expensive resorts like the Ritz, but we were recommended to South Seas. First off, the beaches are so undistrubed and taken care of.. that is very rare in Florida. Within 12 hours we saw manetees, dolphins, star fish, urchins, etc. Our hotel was very affordable and right at the beach. When we arrived they told us they do not accept cash or credit cards on the island which I did not like but was a blessing. So nice to no have to carry your purse anywhere and there is so much to do! We came with our 3 year old for his birthday and he loved the water slide and wonderful pools. The employees at the island are so helpful as well. A guarenteed great place to stay and we will be returning asap. Rarely do you come home from a 2 day vacation and have your 3 year old remind you about it a month later... it is a great memorable place. Oh and the renovations on the inside are amazing!! The outside of the hotel buildings do no justice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to stay at the harbourside villas, they are a 2 minute walk to the beach, pool, and restaurants and its cheap!

Back to menu Return to top