$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches... See full review

  • lafemme
  • Oct 17, 2014
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Best Vacation Destination!

The hotel was a great experience. We are Floridians and only stay at the expensive resorts like the Ritz, but we were recommended to South Seas. First off, the beaches are so undistrubed and taken care of.. that is very rare in Florida. Within 12 hours we saw manetees, dolphins, star fish, urchins, etc. Our hotel was very affordable and right at the beach. When we arrived they told us they do not accept cash or credit cards on the island which I did not like but was a blessing. So nice to no have to carry your purse anywhere and there is so much to do! We came with our 3 year old for his birthday and he loved the water slide and wonderful pools. The employees at the island are so helpful as well. A guarenteed great place to stay and we will be returning asap. Rarely do you come home from a 2 day vacation and have your 3 year old remind you about it a month later... it is a great memorable place. Oh and the renovations on the inside are amazing!! The outside of the hotel buildings do no justice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to stay at the harbourside villas, they are a 2 minute walk to the beach, pool, and restaurants and its cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spdoll
Business
Daphne, AL
Jul 20, 2011

Great Getaway

This was a great getaway for us. We really enjoyed being close to the beach and other ammenities (pools, trolley, restaurants). We had a small issue with our room and the staff acted quickly to fix it and threw in a free breakfast. We're already planning a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went on a shelling cruise and loved it. We found beautiful shells and learned island history while on the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jul 19, 2011

Very nice!

This was a very nice resort. The Villa was very clean, spacious and very,very comfortable. The pool area in the Bay Villas had some cleanliness quirks (diapers must have dropped a few things). Hotel puts a $300 auto hold on c-card upon check in. Plenty of mobilibility and activity w/in resort for teens. The drive to this resort is a long narrow road - once you are there you are a DISTANCE from things - so you are THERE! Beach was fairly clean although they do allow smoking. Staff on beach will help you w/chairs and towels if you tip them. Lots of mosquitos! Resort eating is very pricey - and once you are there choices are very limited! All in all beautiful place, beautiful area, for the most part staff was helpful and friendly but not sure I would return specifically to this particular resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining was very pricey and because you are distance from things be prepared to drive to find things! The restaurants in immediate area are limited and pricey also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan-O
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 11, 2011

very relaxing

I stayed at the south end of thr resort which is quieter than the north end. The room was very spacious and the best part was our proximity to the beach. It was a mix of families and couples but was very laid back and quiet. The food at the resort is a bit pricey but a number of good restaurants are within 5 miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach, FL
Jun 22, 2011

Fun in the Sun

I love pelicans and it was great sitting on the balcony watching these fabulous birds gather outside of our window. At one time we had 28 pelicans. Awesome! The property was beautiful and perfect for a relaxing getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 22, 2011

wonderful, relaxing get-away

Beautiful location, wonderful room and lovely ammenities. We had one of the less expensive rooms and it was decorated beautifully. This is a relaxing resort with a good beach area.If you want to have meals off the resort there are several nice places within several miles. South Seas is a wonderful, relaxing spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain Brigitte
Business
Pompano Beach, Florida
Jun 15, 2011

Fantastic Resort

everything you need is right there - we rented a boat and went for a few hours out on our own - great helpful staff; we went kayaking every evening we were there in the calm bay, saw tons of birds and fish; we enjoyed the pool on the afternoon we arrived; everything is very children friendly; as a couple by ourselves it didn't bother us at all because the way the different family/adult areas were setup, what a nice place! Our room was identical to the pictures online but we were told that some of the rentals are not decorated by the resort but by the actual owners and therefore are different - and sometimes not as nice. We had a king size room at the harbor village with water view; it was very spacious, suite like and a huge bathroom area (I loved the mattress!). No room service for breakfast as we found out - that was about the only negative situation we encountered that didn't serve to us. Overall, there is plenty to do, but if you want to relax, it's right there too - we definitely will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

renting a pontoon for 4 hours cost $180 + gas, and it is well worth it, ours was able to seat 8 people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, WV
Jun 11, 2011

Great place to relax

My wife and I planned this vacation as a "relax, go to the beach and do nothing else" deal and we just had a wonderfull time. The place is just great with the perfect mix of great service, a perfect beach, old Florida town (right next door) flavor all within walking or biking distance. I did not encounter the negative housekeeping experience noted by another traveler. Indeed, the ladies were very accomodating and nice. A beach bar at the South Beach would have been a nice addition but I couldn't find any other fault. Another improvement could be transitioning the TV sets to HD flat screens but who watches TV anyway. The pricing was very competitive with other properties in the island and the location is just fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb, world traveller
Business
Northville, MI
Jun 10, 2011

Outstanding resort

Spacious room, close to pools, luxurious resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mad Hatter was outstanding for dinner and sunset viewing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr C Vac
Business
Southwest Florida
Jun 5, 2011

Pretty good

Great weekend get-a-way. We were disappointed that we had reserved a king bed, but upon arrival they were unable to meet our reservations. Room was very clean, grounds were well kept, beaches were beautiful. Some food and drinks were resonalbly price. Recommending eating off the resort, plenty of local restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunshine Cafe, RC Otters and Key Lime Bistro awesome food and very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top