$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricS
Business
North Carolina, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Not that special

We were very pleased with the staff. They were extremely friendly. The landscaping is beautiful, and the location on Captiva is wonderful. The room, however, left a great deal to be desired. The lighting was nearly useless. The TV was lousy. The furnishings average at best. On an off week for what we paid we were reasonably satisfied. If you are looking at more than $200 a night, keep looking. They can not seem to decide if they are a time share, retirement community, or a resort. As result they did not seem to do anything particularly well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mucky Duck!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey K9
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great getaway

This resort is located at the end of Captiva.. Absolutely great grounds and very nice resort staff. From check in to check out, the staff was extremely helpful and nice. We stayed at the Harbourside villas. These were located near the pool/beach and marina.. Great location. The rooms were clean and very well laid out.. Any other villa you have to drive or take the trolly to the pool area.. The restaurants were pricey and we only ate a quick lunch on the resort.. I would absolutely go back to this resort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat off of the resort, you will save money......bring your own adult beverages as well.. resort drinks were higher than a cruise ship....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlkellar
Business
Valencia, PA 16059, USA
Aug 23, 2011

South Sea Island Resort Captiva Awesome

Very very nice would go back many times. A little higher priced than expected, butthe food was awesome. Many great resturants in then surrouding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring breakfasr,lunch and snack fods with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of tweens
Business
Britol, CT, USA
Aug 21, 2011

A wonderful family time..

We had a relaxing and enjoyable week. Something that is hard todo w/ children who are tweens. There was enought to do to keep them busy and happy and enough down time to keep us all relaxed. Beware of expense of food at the resort.Make sure to stop at Publix before entering the resort for the best deals in terms of food. The staff was wonderful and made us feel welcome and pampered. The I Spy kids program was a hit with my kids.It served as a great way to get to know the entire resort. Bikes and trolley great way to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to get provisions for the week a Publix outside of resort to avoid very high priced food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly
Business
Iowa
Aug 12, 2011

Just the relaxation we needed!

My husband and I went for a quick vacation without the kids. It was just want we needed! The room was great because it had it's own kitchen. We liked how close we were to the beach; just a quick walk. There were always chairs, umbrellas, and towels available. The pool was nice also. There were many different activities available. We will definitely return and bring the kiddos next time so that they can enjoy shelling at the beach. Thanks for helping us to relax!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Aug 8, 2011

wounderfull resort for the price

The hotel was great, very clean the 1 bedroom villa on the bay was beautiful, great view close to the beach and pool or you could take a short ride to any thing you wanted to do on the resort. very nice resort. too many children thought it was more for couples, not so very noisy kids hard to relax at times. would love to go back to Captiva but want to stay some where that migt not have so many children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, fl
Jul 30, 2011

Awesome!!

Beautiful resort. My son had a blast! Lots to do if you want, or you can just relax on the beautiful private beach, or take a dip in one of the many great pools.My son loved the waterslides!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Professor Dale
Business
Columbia, MO
Jul 27, 2011

As good as it gets

We wanted perfect weather, great food, a wonderful beach, and great accommodations and we got all of that and more. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous all the way around. The grounds were immaculate. We did a couple of tours and the guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The in-resort trolley transportation was timely and helpful. The quality of service provided by all the staff was superb. The setting cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining both on the resort and close to the resort was excellent. You certainly do not have to drive anywhere for a great meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City area
Jul 25, 2011

Captiva South Seas

First trip to Captiva in several years...last time here resort was still called South Seas Plantation. Many updates and much nicer overall experience--will certainly go back! Sunsets are worth the trip alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker, CO
Jul 23, 2011

Honest review

We booked the Summer Escape package for 5 nights. I called the resort directly to compare the price [...]and the rate was I was quoted was $10.00 more than the advertised rate that they had on their website but basically the same price [...]. Don't plan on an early check-in as they do a thorough cleaning/inspection process. Room was clean but had to wait for a comparable room to become available since the pullout bed was broken. We changed rooms halfway through our stay to a two bedroom unit (grandparents decided to show up) and again had to wait for a room to become available (pullout bed broken and leak in the bathroom).There is a $15.00/ per adult/per day resort fee. If you want to rent a bike it's $15.00/day/per person or they have a plan you can buy that costs $5/day/person charged for every day of your stay. Drinks at the pool were pricey. Plenty of water sports/activities and water stuff rentals (snorkel & mask,boogie boards, etc. Having said all this, the rooms are very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and polite. The resort itself is very well kept. Nice pools, convenient shops and beautiful beaches. Make sure you get to the beach before 10 am to ensure a lounge chair and umbrella-they go quick. For anyone interested in fishing, the T-dock is a great little spot to fish from. Tons of big snook surround the dock at night and plenty of other species to catch. Eating at the resort is expensive. We drove outside the resort to eat every night. These can pricey as well but there are reasonably priced places within 3-5 miles. Overall i would rate it a 4 out of 5. Already planning another trip there and with a little knowledge now are hoping for an even better stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort dining is expensive. Plenty of off-resort places to eat to save some money. Also, off-resort bike rentals are cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top