$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tan traveller
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2013

Great location and quiet

Spent 5 days just after New Years. Great location Great beach. Quiet. One bedroom sea view room was nice but can't open window in bedroom because it is on entry landing. Food at resort venues was mediocre and very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great key lime at Key Lime

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Financial Advisor
Business
Boynton beach, FL
Dec 21, 2012

Stay in the nicer villas at the north point!

This resort is great but it is divided into two separate "zones" if you will. There are the "beach villas" which are in need of updating. Then there are the nice villas on the golf course which are absolutely fantastic (and obviously more money). This is where we stayed and it was gorgeous, peaceful, right near the beach...just idyllic. The golf course is gorgeous and fun so if you're a golfer bring your clubs. Finally, the food on the island is notoriously bad (not just at the resort which isn't terrible, but the entire island) so bring food to cook in the kitchens within your room. There are a few good restaurants on island but most are a major (and expensive) disappointment. One last thing - management is GREAT at this resort so if you have any problems, let them know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CUCCHITWO
Business
TAMPA FL
Dec 17, 2012

XMAS WEEKEND

The grounds are great feel like Hawaii. Poor value resort fee on top of a high price. wish i had gone elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all 3-4 restaurants on the small main street are far better than the hotel . price and quality

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shupshuck
Business
Oak Lawn, illinois
Aug 18, 2012

very nice vacation in a surreal location

South Seas is a fantastic vacation resort that could only be surpassed if it was all-inclusive. The resort has everything you could need or want and nature all around you. One of the simpler yet special treats was renting of the bikes. A must do! Water sports and beach were superb. Spotted dolphins three X's and the manatees were a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Doc Fords and some of the other Sanibel restaurants for a complete experience. Family loved Holy Smokes on resort

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thiggins49
Business
Washington DC
Jul 10, 2012

Need to get away - Go Here !

Hotel located at the northern end of Captiva Island. Resort split into two parts with the northern one being the one we stayed in. Between the two parts are nature area and several Beach properties operated by the resort. Everything is there. Swimming pools - Boats - Golf. Dining is available as is also golf carts to rent. Captive Island a small but lively place. Several good dining spots also on it and with Sanibel island located nearby - the choices are endless and depend on how much you want to drive. We took a shelling cruise recommended by Resort > Captive Cruises. We were very happy. Found alot of shells and Bay water was a nice 89 degrees. Our 4 days - three nights were GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore restaurants outside resort on Captiva.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Business
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SummerTravel32
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Jul 1, 2012

Fantastic!

Fantastic stay! Staff were friendly and wonderful! Place was gorgeous! We will definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jun 15, 2012

Relaxing Vacation

We had a wonderful experience at South Seas Resort. Much much more than we expected. Relaxing, scenic, very clean and well kept. Never imagined such beauty on the Gulf Coast. Will most likely return again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shell Seekers
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 10, 2012

Nice Beach Getaway

We stayed in a one bedroom Tennis Villa. We loved the screened balcony. The beds although too small for two people, ( we had a room with two double beds) were soft and had comfortable linens. The kitchen was adequately stocked. Unfortunately sound from other units carries too well. We did not get the rest we were anticipating at this location. The staff was a bit indifferent - not unfriendly but not too enthused about their jobs. The room attendants came every day but attitudes were apparent with some. We did tip extra the room attendants that did an excellent job and had sunny dispositions. This was an excellent value and we enjoyed our time - especially the beach which had umbrellas and towels at our disposal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
captiva diva
Business
sarasota
Jun 7, 2012

Nice but Dated

Great location and the grounds were nice. The rooms were average at best and needed to be freshend up. The extra charge of $15 per day per adult seemed a little strange to me. Bar tenders were nice but the cost of the drinks were high for what you got. The "resort" was a little dated and tired feeling. Loved Captiva and found nice places in the villiage to eat. Would suggest exploring the local food haunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

5 or 6 island-ish casual places to eat off resort.

Back to menu Return to top