$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
101 reviews
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was... See full review

  • lorvin
  • Jun 19, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Fort Myers/Sanibel/Captiva
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida Intl Airport, (RSW), 38.00, MI, W; Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 169.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 157.00, MI, N; Punta Gorda, (PND), 54.00, MI, N; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 173.00, MI, N;

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thiggins49
Washington DC
Jul 10, 2012

Need to get away - Go Here !

Hotel located at the northern end of Captiva Island. Resort split into two parts with the northern one being the one we stayed in. Between the two parts are nature area and several Beach properties operated by the resort. Everything is there. Swimming pools - Boats - Golf. Dining is available as is also golf carts to rent. Captive Island a small but lively place. Several good dining spots also on it and with Sanibel island located nearby - the choices are endless and depend on how much you want to drive. We took a shelling cruise recommended by Resort > Captive Cruises. We were very happy. Found alot of shells and Bay water was a nice 89 degrees. Our 4 days - three nights were GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore restaurants outside resort on Captiva.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SummerTravel32
Pittsburgh,PA
Jul 1, 2012

Fantastic!

Fantastic stay! Staff were friendly and wonderful! Place was gorgeous! We will definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jun 15, 2012

Relaxing Vacation

We had a wonderful experience at South Seas Resort. Much much more than we expected. Relaxing, scenic, very clean and well kept. Never imagined such beauty on the Gulf Coast. Will most likely return again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shell Seekers
Denver, CO
Jun 10, 2012

Nice Beach Getaway

We stayed in a one bedroom Tennis Villa. We loved the screened balcony. The beds although too small for two people, ( we had a room with two double beds) were soft and had comfortable linens. The kitchen was adequately stocked. Unfortunately sound from other units carries too well. We did not get the rest we were anticipating at this location. The staff was a bit indifferent - not unfriendly but not too enthused about their jobs. The room attendants came every day but attitudes were apparent with some. We did tip extra the room attendants that did an excellent job and had sunny dispositions. This was an excellent value and we enjoyed our time - especially the beach which had umbrellas and towels at our disposal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
captiva diva
sarasota
Jun 7, 2012

Nice but Dated

Great location and the grounds were nice. The rooms were average at best and needed to be freshend up. The extra charge of $15 per day per adult seemed a little strange to me. Bar tenders were nice but the cost of the drinks were high for what you got. The "resort" was a little dated and tired feeling. Loved Captiva and found nice places in the villiage to eat. Would suggest exploring the local food haunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

5 or 6 island-ish casual places to eat off resort.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zach Walsh
Chicago
May 25, 2012

Just fine, but nothing special

The resort grounds are very beautiful. They are very well kept and the island itself has a quaint, small-town feel. As for the rooms and service, it was just OK. There was nothing glaringly bad by any means, but there was just wasn't anything special either. The rooms have been recently updated with granite in the kitchens and bathrooms. But our one-bedroom was small. Living space was ok and balcony was nice, but the kitchen, bedroom and bathrooms were small. Despite the reservations, you could still tell the units were built quite some time ago. There is beach service that offers towels and umbrellas which was convenient. The towels were no bigger than bath towels, so I usually took 2 to make due. We stayed at the south end of the resort, which unfortunately did not offer towels at the pools. I found that to be odd, but I guess at the north, more popular end of the resort, they do offer towels. Overall, it was friendly and fine, but nothing to brag about. I would maybe go back, but only if I wanted to go back to that island and couldn't find one of the many rentals in the area available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are dining outside, bring the bug spray! Anywhere you go in Florida for that matter.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Stevens
Orlando, Florida
May 23, 2012

Great family vacation!!

We had a blast staying here! Kid friendly, beautiful beaches and a wonderful staff. Downside...food is expensive which is understandable given that it is a resort so I would suggest maybe stopping at the grocery store before reaching the island. Overall I was extremely pleased with our stay and hope to be back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If u stay at the tennis villas the BBQ place is right around the corner and dilicious!

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taveling Couple 12
Chicago, IL
May 6, 2012

Great vacation

We choose this spot for a quick weekend retreat and are so glad we did. It was comfortable and we are nice and refreshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dunc K
Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Mar 14, 2012

location, location, location

fantastic location, great beaches and sunset, room was very clean and great bed. No hot water for our first day unresponsive after hours management. Next day manager comped one days stay in an upgraded room. Everything turned out rosey No night life on property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search