$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CUCCHITWO
Business
TAMPA FL
Dec 17, 2012

XMAS WEEKEND

The grounds are great feel like Hawaii. Poor value resort fee on top of a high price. wish i had gone elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all 3-4 restaurants on the small main street are far better than the hotel . price and quality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shupshuck
Business
Oak Lawn, illinois
Aug 18, 2012

very nice vacation in a surreal location

South Seas is a fantastic vacation resort that could only be surpassed if it was all-inclusive. The resort has everything you could need or want and nature all around you. One of the simpler yet special treats was renting of the bikes. A must do! Water sports and beach were superb. Spotted dolphins three X's and the manatees were a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Doc Fords and some of the other Sanibel restaurants for a complete experience. Family loved Holy Smokes on resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jul 28, 2012

family vacation

I thought this was a lovely resort. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful. You may want to eat off site. There are many local restaurants that are fun and wonderful. We stayed on the bayside and I thought it was very peaceful however the resort caters to the north side. At the north side pools there are towels and places to eat and drink. We had a place to throw the towels but no towels were available to get!! I was worried the resort was going to be too overwelmingly big but it really was not. I was able to walk from the south side to the north side. There is a trolley that takes you back and forth that I did not realize they had. My only real complant was for housekeeping. The staff was lovely but they need to hire more. Our room was always done very late...around 4 p.m. At this time I was usually heading back to duck out of the sun and get a shower. The garbage in the stairwell was always overflowing and by the morning the animals had it all over. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thiggins49
Business
Washington DC
Jul 10, 2012

Need to get away - Go Here !

Hotel located at the northern end of Captiva Island. Resort split into two parts with the northern one being the one we stayed in. Between the two parts are nature area and several Beach properties operated by the resort. Everything is there. Swimming pools - Boats - Golf. Dining is available as is also golf carts to rent. Captive Island a small but lively place. Several good dining spots also on it and with Sanibel island located nearby - the choices are endless and depend on how much you want to drive. We took a shelling cruise recommended by Resort > Captive Cruises. We were very happy. Found alot of shells and Bay water was a nice 89 degrees. Our 4 days - three nights were GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore restaurants outside resort on Captiva.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Business
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SummerTravel32
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Jul 1, 2012

Fantastic!

Fantastic stay! Staff were friendly and wonderful! Place was gorgeous! We will definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jun 15, 2012

Relaxing Vacation

We had a wonderful experience at South Seas Resort. Much much more than we expected. Relaxing, scenic, very clean and well kept. Never imagined such beauty on the Gulf Coast. Will most likely return again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shell Seekers
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 10, 2012

Nice Beach Getaway

We stayed in a one bedroom Tennis Villa. We loved the screened balcony. The beds although too small for two people, ( we had a room with two double beds) were soft and had comfortable linens. The kitchen was adequately stocked. Unfortunately sound from other units carries too well. We did not get the rest we were anticipating at this location. The staff was a bit indifferent - not unfriendly but not too enthused about their jobs. The room attendants came every day but attitudes were apparent with some. We did tip extra the room attendants that did an excellent job and had sunny dispositions. This was an excellent value and we enjoyed our time - especially the beach which had umbrellas and towels at our disposal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
captiva diva
Business
sarasota
Jun 7, 2012

Nice but Dated

Great location and the grounds were nice. The rooms were average at best and needed to be freshend up. The extra charge of $15 per day per adult seemed a little strange to me. Bar tenders were nice but the cost of the drinks were high for what you got. The "resort" was a little dated and tired feeling. Loved Captiva and found nice places in the villiage to eat. Would suggest exploring the local food haunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

5 or 6 island-ish casual places to eat off resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zach Walsh
Business
Chicago
May 25, 2012

Just fine, but nothing special

The resort grounds are very beautiful. They are very well kept and the island itself has a quaint, small-town feel. As for the rooms and service, it was just OK. There was nothing glaringly bad by any means, but there was just wasn't anything special either. The rooms have been recently updated with granite in the kitchens and bathrooms. But our one-bedroom was small. Living space was ok and balcony was nice, but the kitchen, bedroom and bathrooms were small. Despite the reservations, you could still tell the units were built quite some time ago. There is beach service that offers towels and umbrellas which was convenient. The towels were no bigger than bath towels, so I usually took 2 to make due. We stayed at the south end of the resort, which unfortunately did not offer towels at the pools. I found that to be odd, but I guess at the north, more popular end of the resort, they do offer towels. Overall, it was friendly and fine, but nothing to brag about. I would maybe go back, but only if I wanted to go back to that island and couldn't find one of the many rentals in the area available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are dining outside, bring the bug spray! Anywhere you go in Florida for that matter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top