$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Dude
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
May 27, 2013

Nice beach getaway

The resort was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The room was very large and well appointed. The value is excellent and we plan on going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You definitely need a rental car to experience the various dining areas outside of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick12341234
Business
Boston MASS
May 5, 2013

AWESOME PLACE !!!!

This place was awesome. I have a 3 year old and my wife and I had a great time !! The service and food was perfect !!! SCoops is unreal and a great place to have a chopped salad and a piece of pizza with a young child ! I would go back in a heart beat. I went through a great travel agency online and found I got a great deal... What a beautiful location... I give it a 5 star and would def. go back again. They also have great child activities room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and pools are a short walk to get to...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Seas Reviewer
Business
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Apr 27, 2013

Great vacation

Great vacation getaway. We've been here a few times before and keep coming back which is pretty rare, but we really like this place. Great weather, good location, and a beautiful resort with much to offer. However, the no-see-ums seemed pretty bad this time. I'm sure we'll go back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Beacher
Business
Chicago
Mar 20, 2013

Fantastic Relaxation

It was the perfect week! Cant wait to go back! We lucked out so much with the room we got. Totally expecting something different instead we had a great view of the bay and could easily watch the dolphins from our deck. Everything is real easy to get to and experience was a great one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobsmyman
Business
Maryland
Mar 16, 2013

Really nice place

This is third year in a row we have gone to South Seas. The staff was unfailingly friendly and accommodating of requests. We stayed in a 'tennis villa' probably the least luxurious of the options, but it was perfectly clean and nice. The resort itself is beautiful, not in a super-deluxe way but in a way that takes advantage of the natural beauty of the place. Nice pools, tennis courts and beaches. Costwise I don't have a lot to compare with - I've been to some fancier places in the Caribbean but South Seas is not trying to be that - it has proved very reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
milwaukee sunshine
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 12, 2013

Family celebration

Perfect place to have a birthday celebration with 3 generations in attendance. Something for everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Key Lime Bistro and the Mucky Duck had fabulous meals, outdoor space, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the warm weather
Business
Illinois
Feb 9, 2013

Wonderful winter escape

This destination offered everything I was looking for. The pool staff was exceptional. The beaches were filled with seashells. I loved visiting the ding darling nature preserve and got to see the dolphins on the boat tour. A great destination for bird lovers. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a bicycle. It's great exercise and a wonderful way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amelia's mommy
Business
Coventry, RI
Jan 23, 2013

Beautiful Location

The island is gorgeous and the hotel grounds are well kept. The pools are gorgeous. The arcade is small. My 7-year old daughter loved the island scavenger hunt. Not many good places to dine. The Harbourside is delicious yet pricey. Their breakfast buffet is awesome. The dinners there are great too. The Barbecue restaurant is awful. The pizza at scoops was nothing great. Everything is extremely expensive on the resort. The Sunset Beach is average and not a good beach for small children since there is a sharp drop off as soon as you get in the water. The shelling was great. Dolphins are everywhere and beautiful birds! No entertainment on the resort while I was there. Stay at North Pointe which has the resort pool complex with the beautiful pools and water slides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The stores on the resort are very expensive. Do your shopping before you get on Captiva.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tan traveller
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2013

Great location and quiet

Spent 5 days just after New Years. Great location Great beach. Quiet. One bedroom sea view room was nice but can't open window in bedroom because it is on entry landing. Food at resort venues was mediocre and very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great key lime at Key Lime

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Financial Advisor
Business
Boynton beach, FL
Dec 21, 2012

Stay in the nicer villas at the north point!

This resort is great but it is divided into two separate "zones" if you will. There are the "beach villas" which are in need of updating. Then there are the nice villas on the golf course which are absolutely fantastic (and obviously more money). This is where we stayed and it was gorgeous, peaceful, right near the beach...just idyllic. The golf course is gorgeous and fun so if you're a golfer bring your clubs. Finally, the food on the island is notoriously bad (not just at the resort which isn't terrible, but the entire island) so bring food to cook in the kitchens within your room. There are a few good restaurants on island but most are a major (and expensive) disappointment. One last thing - management is GREAT at this resort so if you have any problems, let them know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top