$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

South Seas Island Resort

3 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was... See full review

  • lorvin
  • Jun 19, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Harbourside Marina View Guestroom
These spacious accommodations are located at the prestigious north end of the resort, the center of many of the resorts activities, just steps from the Pointe Pool Complex, Harbourside Grille, Parrot's Arcade and Scoops and Slices. Enjoy the Pointe Pool Complex featuring two lagoon style pools, Jacuzzi, and private cabanas. Looking for an adventure? Take a short walk to the T-Dock for Jet-ski's or parasailing. From your open balcony, enjoy breathtaking views of yachts and sailboats as they enter the Yacht Harbour. These rooms feature one luxurious king or two queen beds with desk and chair. The bath offers a roman tub/shower and a dressing area with double vanity. The accommodations also offer a DVD/CD Player, LCD flat screen television, and ceiling fans. The 475-650 square foot Harbourside Guestroom accommodates up to four guests.
Rollaway beds are available at an additional charge.
Three Bdrm Beach Villa
Perfect for larger families or parties, the 3 Bedroom Beach Villas offer superior accommodations and vistas with views of the Gulf of Mexico and the sugar sand beaches. Situated at the South end of the Resort, these spacious Villas are walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the tennis courts. All on the top floor, unique features like a rod iron spiral staircase leading to a 2nd floor loft bedroom with sitting area that overlooks the living room. Also on the first floor are master and second bedroom, dining area, full kitchen and two baths. Enjoy 1500 square feet of vacation dream home style living space and an expansive beach that is just steps away. Great for longer stays, coin laundry facilities are available on the ground floor of each building. Savor the fresh air at dedicated pools that are also equipped with gas grills. The Beach Villas accommodate up to eight guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
One Bdrm Beach Villa
Treasure views of the Gulf of Mexico and the Island's 2.5 miles of sugary sand beaches from your screened balcony. Situated at the desirable south end of the Resort, the spacious Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. The perfect beach retreat offers 750+ square feet of living space and includes a separate bedroom with luxurious king or queen bed, full bathroom, living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Coin operated laundry is at ground level or each building. The Villa accommodates up to four guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Two Bdrm Beach VIlla or Cottage
Ideal for families or larger parties, the 2 Bedroom Beach Villas offer the best of Captiva Island with amazing views and superior vacation home accommodations. Sweeping views of the Gulf of Mexico and the Island's 2.5 miles of shell-strewn sand beaches are waiting from a screened balcony. Situated at the south end of the Resort, these spacious Villas are just yards from the sandy beaches that are accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 950+ square feet of home-style living space that includes two bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Luxurious, comfortable beds are includes a king or queen bedded master bedroom and two twin beds in the second bedroom. Great for longer stays, coin laundry facilities are available at the ground level of each building. Savor the fresh air at dedicated pools that are also equipped with gas grills. The Beach Villas accommodate up to six guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Harbourside Water View Gurestroom
Harbourside Water View Guestroom offers some of the most spectacular views of the resort. From the open balcony, watch dolphins and manatees as they play and enter the waterway to the Yacht Harbour and enjoy breathtaking Sunsets. Just steps away is the center of activity for the resort's prestigious north end. Enjoy sun filled days at the Pointe Pool Complex or take a short walk to the beach. Feeling more adventurous, take a cruise to Useppa or visit the T-Dock for water sports. No matter the activity, find complete relaxation back at the Harbourside Water View Guestroom. The rooms feature full bathrooms with roman tubs and dressing areas with granite double vanities, desk and chairs, DVD and CD Player, LCD flat screen television, ceiling fans and open balcony with beautiful water views. The 475-650 square foot Harbourside Water View Gurestroom have a king or 2 queen beds and accommodate up to four guests.
Rollaway beds are available at an additional charge.
Three Bdrm Bayside Villa
From the top floor, large screened balcony, take in the tranquil scenes of the Pine Island Sound and a mangrove forest. Early risers can soak up an amazing sunrise vista. Located at the south end of the resort behind the Reception Center, the Bayside Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. Offering duo floor living, there are two bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs; the living room, third bedroom and bathroom are downstairs. The 1500+ square foot Villa, decorated in shade echoing the Gulf, also features a dining area and fully equipped kitchen. A home away from home feel is provided with accessible gas grills and coin operated laundry on ground level. Villa accommodates up to eight guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
Two Bdrm Tennis Villa
Great views of the courtyard and tennis facilities abound from the screened balcony of the Two Bedroom Tennis Villa. Located at the south end of the Resort behind the Reception Center, the Tennis Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. The loft style, 1100 square foot Villa, decorated in shade of blues echoing the Gulf, includes two separate bedrooms with luxurious king in the master second story loft bedroom and 2 twin beds in the downstairs second bedroom. The Villa includes two full bathrooms, living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. Coin operated laundry available on the ground floor. Villa accommodates up to 6 guests
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations
One Bdrm Tennis Villa
From a large screened balcony, enjoy views of the courtyard and tennis facilities. Located at the south end of the resort behind the Reception Center, the Tennis Villas are a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and markets, Conference Center and the Tennis Complex. The 780 square foot Villa, decorated in shade of blues echoing the Gulf, includes one separate bedroom with luxurious king bed, a full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A home away from home feel is provided with accessible gas grills and coin operated laundry on ground level. Villa accommodates up to four guests.
Please note, rollaway beds are not available in these accommodations

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

26.5283 -82.1887
Area served
Captiva, Ft. Myers, FL, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
RSW - Ft. Myers Airport, TPA - Tampa Airport or FLL - Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Dining

The Ship's Store
Located in the north end of the resort near Harbourside Marina, The Ships Store features marine provisions, grocery selections, South Seas logo'd resort apparel and a fresh sandwich shop. Seating is available on the deck and promenade and is open to all resort and marina guests. The menu concept is mini-gourmet carry-out with a complete variety of delicatessen offerings.
Captiva Provision Company
Our gourmet store and deli offers over-fresh breakfast panini's, lunch sandwiches prepared to order and daily dinner specials. The shelves are stocked with the finest Imported gourmet offerings, candies, pastries and chocolates. The Captiva Provision Company also offers a wide variety of unique prepared salads, soups, entrees and gift baskets. Order online at www.southseas.com/cpc_order before your arrival for prompt delivery and setup for an unforgettable South Seas Island welcome.
Scoops & Slices
Located next to the Pointe, Scoops & Slices takes fun food to the next level, creating an enjoyable experience for the entire family. With floor to ceiling sweets, table and counter service as well as take-out.
Starbuck's
Located at the south end of the resort, Starbuck's is the world's largest chain of coffee houses. In addition to brewed and espresso beverages, our Starbucks also serves tea, bottled beverages and delicious pastries.
The Pointe
Located at the north end of the resort, The Pointe has an island look and Caribbean Grille menu for the entire family to enjoy. Featuring breakfast from 8:00am to 11:00am and a light lunch from 11:30am to 6:00pm. Enjoy encredible sweeping views of the Pine Island Sound while overlooking our signture pool and cabana complex. Experience our breathtaking sunsets while enjoying your favorite umbrella drink, including our signature Watermelon Mojito. It's the place to be seen on Captiva Island.
Harbourside Bar and Grille
Located on the north end of the resort overlooking the picturesqe Yacht Harbour is open for dinner daily and serves cocktails. The Grill menu is filled with tempting seafood, steak and chops choices, our signature watermelon and golden beet salad and a variety of delectable desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Thiggins49
Washington DC
Jul 10, 2012

Need to get away - Go Here !

Hotel located at the northern end of Captiva Island. Resort split into two parts with the northern one being the one we stayed in. Between the two parts are nature area and several Beach properties operated by the resort. Everything is there. Swimming pools - Boats - Golf. Dining is available as is also golf carts to rent. Captive Island a small but lively place. Several good dining spots also on it and with Sanibel island located nearby - the choices are endless and depend on how much you want to drive. We took a shelling cruise recommended by Resort > Captive Cruises. We were very happy. Found alot of shells and Bay water was a nice 89 degrees. Our 4 days - three nights were GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore restaurants outside resort on Captiva.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
creyes
Bay City, MIchigan
Mar 4, 2014

Bad Deal

My husband and I booked a 4 night getaway and we stayed in the beach villas. I was disappointed with the view and walk to the beach. I was also disappointed with the location of the bedroom-in the back of the condo with no windows so you could not hear the ocean. The room was very old and needed to be updated especially for the price we were paying. The biggest problem however, was not anything I just mentioned. I awoke the 3rd night of our stay to find BED BUGS in my bed!!!! I was completely freaked out! The staff was very accommodating and moved us to another room, comped us 2 nights, dry cleaned our clothes, gave us a voucher for dinner. They did everything they could but it does not change the fact that we had BED BUGS and it completely ruined our vacation. I am still dealing with the trauma of the experience even at home!!! My advice-check the bed bug registry before booking a vacation and do not stay in these villas. I did notice several villas getting "new carpet" which I thought the resort was doing some updating but I think now they had an infestation! Thank God we did not have our 4 kids with us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
ChrisM111
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2014

Must stay at the North end if you have kids

We stayed here with our 6 year old daughter and we're pretty disappointed with the resort. Captiva is a beautiful place, but the traffic getting in and out the single road was very frustrating. We stayed in the Bayside villas and the rooms were very old and not very clean. Additionally, or was a long walk to the beach and required a tram to get to the resort pool. Once at the pool, the slides and pools are great for the kids. Perhaps if we started on the North side of the resort closer to the main pools and restaurants we would have enjoyed it more. The units looked a little newer there. Overall, we thought it was well overpriced for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
espo56
annapolis MD
Nov 10, 2013

only two nights this time

my wife and I extended a trip, and stayed two days here. What a great place! private, lots to do, end of Captiva Island. we rented bikes and rode into Sanibel, did the pool, walked on the beach (beach was just reclaimed, so very few shells), did the restaurants and just relaxed. we stayed at a hotel room, so amenities were not as nice as we have heard about the apts. still, quite roomy, great view of the bay and staff was great! we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

rent the bikes. easy to get around, even if you stay on Captiva. They have baskets, they give you a lock, etc.!

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
oscar garcia
coral gables, florida
Jul 28, 2013

very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to return every summer. my only suggestion is to label the parking spaces for each room, for the convenience of guests, it is not easy to find a paking space near to the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the perfect place, the perfect hotel, the perfect people

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
lorvin
new jersey
Jun 19, 2013

friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was extremely helpful and were always polite and friendly.The room was very clean and on the beach in the beach villas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Traveling Dude
Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
May 27, 2013

Nice beach getaway

The resort was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The room was very large and well appointed. The value is excellent and we plan on going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You definitely need a rental car to experience the various dining areas outside of the resort.

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Nick12341234
Boston MASS
May 5, 2013

AWESOME PLACE !!!!

This place was awesome. I have a 3 year old and my wife and I had a great time !! The service and food was perfect !!! SCoops is unreal and a great place to have a chopped salad and a piece of pizza with a young child ! I would go back in a heart beat. I went through a great travel agency online and found I got a great deal... What a beautiful location... I give it a 5 star and would def. go back again. They also have great child activities room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and pools are a short walk to get to...

Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
South Seas Reviewer
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Apr 27, 2013

Great vacation

Great vacation getaway. We've been here a few times before and keep coming back which is pretty rare, but we really like this place. Great weather, good location, and a beautiful resort with much to offer. However, the no-see-ums seemed pretty bad this time. I'm sure we'll go back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
Chicago Beacher
Chicago
Mar 20, 2013

Fantastic Relaxation

It was the perfect week! Cant wait to go back! We lucked out so much with the room we got. Totally expecting something different instead we had a great view of the bay and could easily watch the dolphins from our deck. Everything is real easy to get to and experience was a great one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
Bobsmyman
Maryland
Mar 16, 2013

Really nice place

This is third year in a row we have gone to South Seas. The staff was unfailingly friendly and accommodating of requests. We stayed in a 'tennis villa' probably the least luxurious of the options, but it was perfectly clean and nice. The resort itself is beautiful, not in a super-deluxe way but in a way that takes advantage of the natural beauty of the place. Nice pools, tennis courts and beaches. Costwise I don't have a lot to compare with - I've been to some fancier places in the Caribbean but South Seas is not trying to be that - it has proved very reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top