$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

South Seas Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches... See full review

  • lafemme
  • Oct 17, 2014
very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to... See full review

  • oscar garcia
  • Jul 28, 2013
Resort offers family vacationing at its finest on Captiva Island
The South Seas Island Resort, on a secluded Captiva Island location on a 330-acre Wildlife Preserve, creates a memorable vacation experience by providing a broad range of accommodations for families large and small. The South Seas Island Resort combines fun and learning, activity and relaxation with interactive programs, fishing and sailing lessons, golf, tennis, a pristine beach and 13 swimming pools. It's a complete vacation resort at the edge of the Gulf Coast.

Highlights
  • Fitness center and tennis complex
  • Family Interactive Center with supervised activities for kids, tweens and teens
  • 13 pools and H2Whooa Water Park
  • Go Fish and Go Sail Programs
  • Top PGA-rated par-3 executive golf course

Rooms
At the South Seas Island Resort, accommodations range from harborside rooms to private homes with as many as six bedrooms. All accommodations feature private balconies, screed lanais or patios, 300-thread count linens, granite baths and flat-screen TVs. Amenities vary with the accommodations from small refrigerators and in-room coffee to full kitchens and laundry.


Features
On-site wedding services include coordinators who accommodate barefoot-on-the-beach or black-tie-in-the-ballroom nuptials.

Dining

The South Seas Island Resort offers five casual, family-friendly dining options as well as room service. Scoops & Slices is a retro-style diner serving Edy's ice cream and pizza. Poolside, it's the Pointe for light fare and drinks and for a more elegant meal, the Harborside Bar and Grill offers the fresh catch of the day and fine cuts of meat. 

 

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • Trolley service throughout resort

Attractions
  • Bailey Mathews Shell Museum (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Yacht marina on site
  • Steve Colgate Sailing School on site
  • 19 Tennis Courts with on-site pro on site
Business
  • 24-hour complimentary business center
  • 31,000 square feet of recently-refurbished, flexible meeting space
Policies and fees

South Seas Island Resort will add a Resort Fee of $17.00 ($18.87 including tax) per day for guests 13 years and older to your rate.  The Resort Fee is not quoted with the room rate.  The Resort Fee includes: 

  • Tennis court fees.**
  • Domestic Long Distance Phone Calls
  • Complimentary Parking
  • 10% off services at Kay Casperson Spa
  • 10% off Boat Rentals at Best Boats
  • Complimentary Boarding Pass Printing
  • Daily Trolley Service throughout the Resort
  • Pool/Beach (South Beach and Sunset Beach) amenities including poolside towels and lounge chairs, beach towels and chairs
  • Unlimited local phone calls
  • Guest room high speed internet
  • Fitness Center access
  • The Ocean Exploration Center access
  • New York Times Newspaper
  • Cable with free movie channels (includes HBO)
  • Participation in special Resort activities

**All play requires advanced reservations.  Reservations may be made at the Tennis Pro-Shop.  All players must check in at the Tennis Pro-Shop before heading out to the courts.  Instruction and equipment not included in the resort fee.  Court reservations may be booked 7 days in advance of play.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

South Seas Island Resort Rooms

Bayside Villas
Bayside Villas are located at the South end of the resort, a short walking distance to the beach, These accommodations offer a living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. A large screened balcony, overlooks the bay and a mangrove forest
Tennis Villas
Tennis Villas are located at the south end of the Resort in the Tennis complex, and are just a short walking distance to the beach. These loft style Villa features separate living room with sleeper sofa, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen.
Beach Villas
Situated at the south end of the Resort, the Beach Villas are approximately 100 yards from the sandy beaches accessible by boardwalks. Enjoy 3 pools in the complex, complete with gas grills poolside. Beach villas feature a living room, dining area, and a full kitchen. Private screened in balconies overlook the Gulf of Mexico
2 Bedroom Marina Villa
Perched on the scenic north end of the property, the 2 Bedroom Marina Villas look out over the scenic Main Marina or Bay from a large screened balcony. These Villas are a terrific option for families and larger parties. The Marina Villas offer two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, dining area, and fully equipped kitchen. This complex of Villas includes a pool and gas grills.
Harborside Rooms & Junior Suites
Located at the Resort's prestigious North Village, the center for many of the resorts activities, these accommodations feature private balconies offering water views or views of the Marina. Junior Suites feature a king bed with a sitting area complete with a double sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

The Pointe
Located poolside in the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe, featuring indoor and outdoor seating and delicious sandwiches, salads, burgers and vegetarian options. Open for lunch, daily 11:00am - 6:00pm
Scoops and Slices
A 1950s themed diner serving a wide selection of Edy's ice cream, gluten-free and fat-free soft serve frozen yogurt, pizza and a wall of candy that is a dream come true for your sweet-tooth. Conveniently located just outside of the Resort Pool Complex, North Pointe. Open Sunday - Thursday, 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 11:00am - 11:00pm
Doc Fords Rum Bar & Grille
One of Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach's favorite family restaurants, Doc Ford's offers mouth-watering Caribbean inspired cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Doc Ford's will be bringing all their specialties, including Yucatan Shrimp, their Lime Panko Crusted Fish Sandwich and the Martinque-Jerked Pork Chop. Try their famous Mojitos or a rum infused cocktail. Open daily, 11:00am - close
Poolside Bar
The Poolside Bar, a full service bar, weather permitting, located on the main pool deck with Pine Island Sound as the backdrop
Sunset Beach Bar
Sunset Beach Bar, located directly beside Sunny Island Watersports at Sunset Beach, is a limited service eatery serving prepared hot and cold sandwiches, hot dogs and snacks along with tropical libations. Sunset Beach and Sunset Beach Bar is the best spot on Sanibel & Captiva to see the unmatched sunsets of Southwest Florida. Located at Sunset Beach, North Pointe. Open daily 11:00am until sunset, weather permitting
Starbucks
Offering delicious fresh brewed coffee, lattes, pastries and all your other world-famous favorites. Open 7:00am - 6:00pm
Harbourside Bar & Grill
South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Island Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan and Mel
Virginia
Jul 8, 2012

Great family resort

The resort and its surroundings are just beautiful. The amenities are great for family - water slides in a pool where kids can safely play. Had no issues whatsoever with cleanliness or staff. Our family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI to FL
Business
Michigan
Nov 8, 2014

Great stay!

Absolutely beautiful location at the end of Captiva. Great service, great beach and pool areas. Perfect relaxing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lafemme
Business
Ohio
Oct 17, 2014

Gorgeous property

Very relaxing getaway on a big, beautiful property in sunny, Southwest Florida. Gorgeous beaches and pools, friendly staff and uncrowded in late September.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mucky Duck and Green Flash restaurants nearby have some of the best seafood we've eaten in Florida.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ernie Revilla
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 7, 2014

Great Pools & a Beautiful Waterviews

Yes It's a beatiful area. But it lacks in a lot of other areas. The rooms need a little updating (a little beat up) wornout rugs and dirty blue sofa chairs. Tiny pillows and the cheapest scrachiest towels. Property wide you see rust and wall cracks. Fresh paint needed on walls around and jacuzzi jets not all working. Hopefully you are not hungry past 10pm EVERYTHING closes no late night room service. No movie rentals available. They want to nickel & dime you at checkout, $5 to receive a very small package. They want you to wear an uncomfortable bracelet the whole time to use the amenities. Don't lose it they charge $50 if you do! Nothing overly impressive about the breakfast/food available on property specially considering the prices they were charging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a bike $15/pet day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobberooni
Business
Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Hotel Takes Responsibility

Our arrival started out a disaster, as they would not allow us to use the same credit card for the resort fee as was used for the room charge, then no one on the staff could tell us where the room was, causing us to wander around for half an hour, then the room key did not work, requiring a ten minute drive back to the main office for another key, while my spouse waited in one hundred degree heat. However, the manager called and apologized, then took a substantial amount off the bill. On the plus side, the restaurant was excellent, with great food and service, and a nice surprise for my birthday. Also, our room overlooked a patio where a steel drum/flute/trumpet/guitar player played familiar songs after dinner until 10:00pm. Due to threat of a thunderstorm, only a very few guests gathered on the patio, so we got almost a private serenade. Very nice finish to the weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoePye
Business
Atglen, PA
May 22, 2014

Perfect Rest

Loved everything about Captiva ..so very beautiful. South Seas Resort so perfectly kept. Two small criticisms...not much you can do I'm sure but my husband and I found bedroom too dark. I know that the way it is situated off ouside hall doesn't allow for much light but maybe some type of flourescent tucked behind a valance in the top part of the window would at least give the illusion of light if one wants it. One other tiny thing..sheets are very stiff?? When one turns it sounds like newspaper...my husband kept jokingly saying..are you in the sports section?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Golf carts are the best way to get around for two...so incredibly enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
creyes
Business
Bay City, MIchigan
Mar 4, 2014

Bad Deal

My husband and I booked a 4 night getaway and we stayed in the beach villas. I was disappointed with the view and walk to the beach. I was also disappointed with the location of the bedroom-in the back of the condo with no windows so you could not hear the ocean. The room was very old and needed to be updated especially for the price we were paying. The biggest problem however, was not anything I just mentioned. I awoke the 3rd night of our stay to find BED BUGS in my bed!!!! I was completely freaked out! The staff was very accommodating and moved us to another room, comped us 2 nights, dry cleaned our clothes, gave us a voucher for dinner. They did everything they could but it does not change the fact that we had BED BUGS and it completely ruined our vacation. I am still dealing with the trauma of the experience even at home!!! My advice-check the bed bug registry before booking a vacation and do not stay in these villas. I did notice several villas getting "new carpet" which I thought the resort was doing some updating but I think now they had an infestation! Thank God we did not have our 4 kids with us!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisM111
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2014

Must stay at the North end if you have kids

We stayed here with our 6 year old daughter and we're pretty disappointed with the resort. Captiva is a beautiful place, but the traffic getting in and out the single road was very frustrating. We stayed in the Bayside villas and the rooms were very old and not very clean. Additionally, or was a long walk to the beach and required a tram to get to the resort pool. Once at the pool, the slides and pools are great for the kids. Perhaps if we started on the North side of the resort closer to the main pools and restaurants we would have enjoyed it more. The units looked a little newer there. Overall, we thought it was well overpriced for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
espo56
Business
annapolis MD
Nov 10, 2013

only two nights this time

my wife and I extended a trip, and stayed two days here. What a great place! private, lots to do, end of Captiva Island. we rented bikes and rode into Sanibel, did the pool, walked on the beach (beach was just reclaimed, so very few shells), did the restaurants and just relaxed. we stayed at a hotel room, so amenities were not as nice as we have heard about the apts. still, quite roomy, great view of the bay and staff was great! we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

rent the bikes. easy to get around, even if you stay on Captiva. They have baskets, they give you a lock, etc.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oscar garcia
Business
coral gables, florida
Jul 28, 2013

very nice experience !!!!!

my first summer holiday in this hotel, fantastic experience, everything is perfect, I hope to return every summer. my only suggestion is to label the parking spaces for each room, for the convenience of guests, it is not easy to find a paking space near to the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the perfect place, the perfect hotel, the perfect people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lorvin
Business
new jersey
Jun 19, 2013

friendly staff

Mu husband and I stayed at the South Seas Island Resort. It was an excellent Hotel!!! the Staff Was extremely helpful and were always polite and friendly.The room was very clean and on the beach in the beach villas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top