Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 127
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby50
Business
New Jersey
Oct 8, 2012

Don't stay there

This hotel was a converted house with very small rooms, electric wires all over the place broken window shaes old bathrooms, no space to do anything except sleep. one chair, no place for luggage or clothes. The owner opratror does everything by himself no cleaning just towel changes No lobby, no coffee, no nothing. It is a no frill house with no Aminities, no parking only on the street if you can find a spot. The only positive thing it is .02 miles from Boardwalk, main street in town and beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Philly d
Business
San Diego
May 15, 2012

Don't do it

The WORST hotel experience ever. I couldn't even stay there. It was gross, dirty, smelly. Cable was disconnected, the was mold all over the bathroom, hairs in the bed. I could go on and on by I already wasted enough time with this hotel. It is a shame I had to give it one star, I would have preferred zero. I ended up sleeping in my car because I couldnt bring myself to spend the night. Don't go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HappyinVA
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Perfect for what it is!

This is a POSITIVE review! The Summer Place Hotel is a no frills, worn, highly used hotel. The room was clean-ish, comfortable-ish and exactly what I needed. It is a block from the beach and 2 blocks from the main drag in Rehoboth. They offer free WIFI and (with refundable deposit) a parking pass. I did not go to Rehoboth to hang out in the room, I went for the beach and the town. NOT only would I stay there again, I have told everyone about it! The questions from Orbitz asked, and my answers make it sound bad, it isn't. It was a bed/shower in downtown Rehoboth for almost half the cost of the other hotels in the area. Dan, (manager/owner) is a little surly, but answered my questions and provided me with things I needed or asked for. I would recommend it to the cost conscience traveler that wants location over a pretty room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call in your order to Nicola's and walk over to get the pizza, no wait and on your way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 26, 2011

Simply Perfect

I really do have a special place in my heard for the Summer Place. I know its nothing fancy. But the people there are so very nice and its perfect for the beach... comfy clean beds showers! I know its not fancy by any means but its really quaint and lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of great bars and restaurants! All locally owned and friendly. Fabulous gluten free food all around town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Food Fan
Business
Bowie, MD
Apr 17, 2011

Summer Hovel Hotel More like it!

I was in town to house hunt (successfully) and also attend a party. The location of the hotel couldn't be beat --- a block from the ocean and three blocks from Rehoboth Avenue. Other than that, the carpets were dirty, the place reaked of cigarette smoke, and there was little or no sound insulation. I guess you get what you pay for and the room was cheap!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Avenue is great for shopping and dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2010

It's good.

The bed was comfortable, the staff very friendly and responsive. The walls were so thin I could hear some one in the next room as if they were in mine. The towels were not soft but I liked the "green" approach of the hotel. I felt safe and the location was great. Overall it is a funky place to stay (I had to pay to park) but I liked it and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can ride your bicycle on the boardwalk before 10am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Horsham, PA
Aug 28, 2010

You've got to be kidding!

The room I was to initially have was on the 3rd floor. I can't do steps all that well especially when I have to carry my own luggage. I was immediately offered a room on the ground floor. Which was good. However, I have never stayed in such a small room. Not even when I stayed in a $34 per night hotel. The room was clean but the mattress was either very old or very cheap since it sagged in the center. The towels were so rough they felt line dryed without assistance of a fabric softener. When I needed an additional towel, since the maid never showed up to remake up the room, it was still damp so that I hung it on the back of the door to dry overnight. The security lock was only a simple slide and it was out of alignment and therefore useless. Parking was additional which was not included in the online description. The only really good thing about this hotel is its location. I think that a lot could be done with this building but I doubt the present owner will bother. I was very glad I was only staying there for 2 nights. At $85 per night if it had not been so close to the beach it would have been a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basics are only a short walk. For the extreme shopper you need to drive, but finding places is very easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beavertown,pa
Jul 28, 2010

i'm greatfull

well,i read alot of complaning,i want everyone to know i was very very happy,the owner was nice to me and my son!!i haven't been able to every take my kids anywhere on a trip,thanks to the cheep prices i got to go away with my son his frist time every at the beach!!it was a very clean room,it was small,but why do you need a big room the only thing you do shower and sleep in it!the parking is tight,but it must be the only way to do it or it would be differnt,alot of biching,if you want 5stars pay for 5 stars!!i was parked in but it wasnt owner fault the peoples number was right on the dsah and those rude people a old couple wouldn't move their car...for me!any how i give it a five stars because i got to take my son to the beach and have a great faimly trip thank you to summer place hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it was so close to the beach boardwalk and downtown stores the beaches are clean,and the town was really peacefull setting!loved it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 12, 2010

It was horrible

It was VERY dirty, the furniture in the room was too old and also dirty. My cover smelled like fish and I did not get any room service at all. On top of it,the front desk person came 30 min before check out time to see whether I was getting ready to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2010

A good deal, but that's about it

While this was certainly a good value and located within walking distance of downtown and the beach, it really only worked as someplace to sleep and that's it. The bed was crammed in the room, the dresser was old and the short drawers practically fell out when I opened them, and it also blocked access to where you could hang your clothes. The only decoration was a caricature of the manager/owner, and the TV was tiny and set on top of a mini-fridge. Granted, I was really only looking for a place to crash after hanging with my friends, it was hard to do even that, as the manager's suite was right next door (there was even an adjoining door, which was a little creepy), so I could hear his TV, when he was washing the dishes, and worst of all when his phone ring at all hours. Also I could hear people going in and out of the front door and ringing the desk bell. Overall, I wouldn't go back myself, but if all you need is a place to crash and don't want to spend a lot, then this place might work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top