Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Awesome adorable place!

Loved it! No complaints! Perfect location. Going back. See full review

  • dmendez827
  • May 14, 2012
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan VT
Business
New York
Aug 2, 2014

small room, back breaking bed

Perfect location. Smallest room known to man. Barely enough walking room around the bed and infront of the bed. The Bed just fit in the room with a tiny dresser and know other comfort room. The bed was terrible. First night my back was sore. Second night it was very noticebly sore. Third night i woke up several times thinking sleeping on the floor would be better... but there was not enough floor space for me to even to that. Insufficient Hot water as well. First 2 mornings i had a freezing cold shower. third morning it started out warm, got cold, warm again then cold. Room quality does not reflect what i would expect for $125 a night... If i had paid 75 a night that would have reflected what you get and i wouldn't be complaining. Plus it stated that cotts were available, but without any space to put one...why would they have that as a listed amenity? First floor smells musty/moldy... luckily we were on the second floor and didn't have to deal with that also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PoonSaloon
Business
Dewey beach, Delaware
Jul 14, 2014

No Room!

This hotel was miserable! I got a confirmation email for a room, but when I arrived they did not have a room for me. I had to go to another hotel to find a place to stay. Not to mention it was a dump....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AshG
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2012

Not bad for the price and location

The room was small, but comfortable and clean. There's nothing too fancy about this place, but for the fair price it was a good fit for our needs. It's also walking distance from the beach and everything in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TeamGradSchool
Business
Waldorf, MD
Sep 4, 2012

Ok for what it was...

The location was amazing as its right off the center of the boardwalk. Parking was great because you pay a returned deposit and receive a parking pass for your stay. The room was average, but for the one night I stayed it was great for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D2 the Douglas
Business
DC Area
May 30, 2012

You Get What You Pay For

We knew we booked a dump when we reserved this room, and as long as you're ok with that, then no worries here. Only book this place if you can sacrifice location. If you want to stay in Rehobeth, then is a great great hotel; location wise. If you're trying to party in Dewey, be prepared from a 25 min walk, which takes way longer with you're stumbling home. If you're staying in Rehobeth, then you can't get much better. Also, Rehobeth has a large gay/lesbian community, fyi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If your a heterosexual male or female looking for the best partying, you want to stay in Dewey, or go to ocean city and party at Secrets. Roll Tide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstre
Business
DC
May 29, 2012

Friendly, but minimal

Be careful...even though the reservation machine online says they run your card when you check in, they actually run it when you make your reservation. Very friendly and helpful owner, amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Head
Business
Washington, DC
May 29, 2012

It is what it is

Inexpensive hotel right next to beach, got about what we expected. Basically an old house split up into hotel rooms. Room was slightly bigger than the bed + a bathroom. No problems with cleanliness or anything. Only complaint was it had window A/C unit which was good, except think the water leaking from it onto the floor/wall caused the room to build a slight smell over time. Think another review said its basically a dorm room next to the beach, and that is right. Obv location is excellent/perfect. Has nice little patio that you can have drinks on and meet other guests. Owner Dan was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simba
Business
DC
Sep 2, 2011

Cheap and Close to the Beach

It's a dive but close to the beach. I didn't get bed bugs, but wouldn't have been suprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Conch Island has live bands and big buck hunter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 25, 2011

Adequate

This hotel is sufficient if you're just looking for something cheap and close to the beach. The rooms are small but clean. There are no real perks or amenities to the place. It worked out for our needs, however, as we were simply visiting friends who were entertaining in a well-appointed rental home nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 13, 2011

Affordable and functional

Went for the beach and local attractions - not to sleep. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The price was quite good for it's proximity to the beach (2 minute walk!) and the staff was very cooperative and quite pleasant... very easy to work with. Very well suited for our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top