$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
One Bedroom Condo with full kitchen
standard room One Double and one
standard room One Double and one Twin
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One Queen Bed
standard room One Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 127
Amenities:
1.5
Room cleanliness:
1.8
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.2

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelman Doug
Sinking Spring, Pa
Sep 17, 2013

close to boardwalk

Nice location on quiet street. Only a block to beach & boardwalk. Rooms are small, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach & boardwalk only a block away. Rehoboth Ave (main street with many shops, restaurants, etc)only two blocks.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ripppped Off
Eastern Shore, MD
Aug 19, 2013

NOT a Hotel ~SCARY

Two of my children had just returned from an Outward Bound Survival Camp (no electric, no toilet, no showers). I was treating them to an overnight beach vacation. When we saw our room (condo haha) 1A at Summer Place Hotel, the four of us decided to sleep in the truck. 1) Toilet falling over 2) Moldy lime left in the college sized refrigerator 3) Unidentified white stains on the futon 4) Exposed electrical wiring not to code 5) Vinyl flooring throughout was dirty 6) Bathroom ceiling caving in 7) Walls chipped and dirty 8) Bedroom lampshade had been removed, found it in the closet.. It had been on fire. 9) No one attending the front desk (which is really just a note): phone number "IN CASE OF EMERGENCY ONLY" 10) I wish I could post my pictures on this review 11) I've asked BITZ for a refund, but they can't seem to reach anyone at the "hotel" either... In the hotel's defense, they ARE in Rehobeth Beach, but the rest of the description is inaccurate. I have some better names for the establishment, "End of Year Frat House Party Inn" "NO CREDIT CHECK Bed and Breakfast" "Stains, Stains, Stains" Please don't subject yourself to this experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HydroJana
Denver, CO
Jun 10, 2013

wanted to spend time on the beach

It was a tiny room, the cable tv blinked on and off, noisey, holes in screen window, I think I paided twice the amount that the vacancey price taped to the front door. The room seemed old and used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coffee Mill coffee shop had great coffee and sanwhiches , the pastries seemed old.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Howard B
Darnestown MD
May 7, 2013

Great Location - Nothing Else

Location can't get any better, one block from the beach. Everything else could get much better. It gives a new meaning to the word spartan. Tiny room, no charm, room heater, barely can walk around the bed. Bland walls. It it rained and was stuck in my room it would be brutal. The price was cheap but hoping for a little more .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony12345
MD
Mar 28, 2013

Dirty,Bug,Rude

It's horrible experience to go to this hotel. Actually, it can't called a hotel, it is home stay with very dirty, mess, bug and very rude attitude. I don't recommend anybody to book this hotel. You'll be very disappointed if you go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beahie
Manchester, MD
Jul 4, 2012

Yuck!

The staff was not friendly, parking was ridiculous and if you wanted to park at the hotel, you could only do so with a small car since it wad actually underneath the deck of the hotel, and over the sidewalk, AND you had to pay daily for it. The room was filthy, with lots of dust built up in the corners of the ceilings, as well as the floors. The window AC leaked water onto the floor. I wold not walk on the floor without shoes, I even made the kids wear flip flops in the shower. I was even more anxious about the beds, but we did not get bed bugs or such. This place was in good proximity to the beach, but not worth it. This place is screaming for common sense TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Perry C
Center Valley, PA
Jun 20, 2012

Big Mistake

This hotel if that's what you call it should be closed by the board of health. It was so disgusting that my wife and I drove home the same night not even thinking of staying. I was ripped off and I don't want others to have the same experience. Stay away from this place and Obritz take this off your list. I don't know how this place was ever rated a three star. One star is being too generous. STAY AWAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JAS93
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 18, 2012

Great Location ...but

This place is filthy.... hair in the toilet and the shower...dirty window blinds...dirty floor...broken furniture ....this place is a dump...but close to the beach...the towels provided were stained and old looking...this place is really gross...I had to clean the entire place with bleach ..would not walk barefoot on the floor...would not sleep under the covers on the bed...bought my own sheets placed them on top of the bedding..annoying 18 year old kids..party central next door...WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BEACH IS CLOSE..AND BOARDWALK...

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lanham, md
Aug 1, 2011

Summer WASTE hotel!!

decided to take a last minute day trip and picked the summer place hotel because it was inexpensive and close to the beach. knowing we were only going to sleep there for one night and spend most of our time at the beach we figured even if it wasnt great we would be ok. We were wrong! as soon as we walked in the front door it smelled awful. the room was disgusting. i was afraid to let my daughter touch anything. nothing was plugged in. we had to plug in and turn on the air unit and tv, and the cable box just hung from the bottom of the tv it looked like it could crash down at any time. also the rooms were able to join but only locked by a cheap slide lock. we didnt feel safe at all. we decided we couldnt stay there but of course there were signs everywhere saying "no refunds" because im sure once people step foot in there they want to leave. when i went back to the front desk, the man wouldnt even look at me when i told him how gross it was. dont stay here! we ended up losing the 100 we spent on the room and payed another 200 for a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Awesome location, clean, cheap

Awesome location! One block to boardwalk and beach. Three blocks to Rehoboth Ave. Room was small but had everything we needed, AC, refrigerator, bathroom and beds. Very basic, but we went to go to the beach and spend time on the beach, so room worked out very well. Nice porch on second floor to sit and enjoy drinks at night. Not the Hilton, but not $400 a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dos Locos food and service was awesome! Highly recommend the crab mountain!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search